We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Main Drawback Is Noise!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn New Orleans Airport
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Kenner
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on the front and back end of a trip to Hattiesburg, Mississippi flying in-and-out of New Orleans using Choice Rewards Points. On the plus side, the room we had (same one each time) was spacious and clean with a very comfortable king size bed, a nice 32 in. flat screen tv, and a fridge and microwave. The free shuttle to-and-from the airport running every hour on the hour from 5:00AM to 11:00PM was appreciated. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We did have a problem, however, with receiving a wake-up call at 4:00AM instead of the 6:00AM we had requested. This we were told was due to a problem with their automated system which was corrected by the time we had returned for our second night's stay. This is why I always set the radio clock in the room as a back-up. The biggest problem we experienced during our stay was the constant traffic noise as the hotel is located immediately next door to the freeway and two very busy streets out front of the hotel. The included breakfast offers a myriad of choices including biscuits and gravy with sausage and, if desired, fresh made omelette. A delightful discovery we made while there was a restaurant right across the street called Michelle's which offered great food, great service, and an eclectic menu. I highly recommend a visit to Michelle's for anyone staying at this facility. I did read the review on this site regarding stolen articles/money from a room. That, along with the note inside the door of our room, and, I presume each room, which says to be sure and use the extra latch along with the deadbolt while in the room for safety precautions does make one a little apprehensive. This is one reason we always take any money, i.e. purses, wallets, etc., with us when leaving the room unless there is a safe provided. Even with this apprehensiveness and the noise factor, we'd stay here again if in the area if it was a short stay flying in-and-out of the New Orleans Airport.

Room Tip: Maybe try to see what room might be the quietest from all the traffic noise. On our second night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank durf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel 3nights for about 4hrs each night. Nothing fancy but it was great to have breakfast in the morning. Microwave and frig was great to have. The hallway had a not so pleasant smell and because we got back so late, parking was in a lot behind the building.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tayshan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed for a couple of nights but it was a great experience. I didn't want to rent a car in New Orleans or pay taxi fares. The airport shuttle was great they took us to and from the airport with no problem. They took us back to the airport to catch the bus into the city The staff was very nice and accommodating. The breakfast was really good. I loved the sausages and you had many choices including: blueberry waffles, biscuits, muffins, cereal, eggs, toast, and omelets. I was impressed! They even had cookies in the lobby to enjoy. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Clean and updated rooms at a great price. Free Airport Shuttle and Park and Fly package was a added value. Staff was excellent and breakfast above the norm. We will be back in December!
Special thanks to LaToya and Glen, very professional.

Room Tip: The suites are oversized and ideal for overnight stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have traveled the country and have never had an experience such as this one. Your personal belongings will be stolen and the owner will not care!!! Our group stayed 4 nights and in two of the rooms, money was stolen. When the first report was made, Mike, the OWNER, said that he had an honest staff. Is that something to say to a patron who $155 was stolen from? The money was not just lying around, the thief went into her wallet which was inside a purse to take the money.. The second report was made and their room had a do not disturb sign on the door, which means no one should have entered. $35 dollars was stolen from a wallet in their room.The OWNER proceeded to tell me about some members of our group who left their door open..What does this have to do with a room that should have never been entered? I don't personally blame the GM for the thefts, but I am appalled with his lack of sympathy for our situation. He finally said all he could do was get us to file a police report.. Later, we came back to file a police report. We asked to see the owner and the desk clerk said he was walking the halls of the hotel. We then proceeded to tell her that we needed to file a police report. She picked up the phone and dialed the police. She never told us the police was on the way. When the police arrived, we began to tell him of our incidents of thefts. Guess who runs past us and out of the hotel? THE OWNER!!!!! We asked the front desk clerk to get the owner so he could be a part of this conversation. She said he went to get on the shuttle. We asked her to get him before he left. He came in and said that he did not need to be a part of this conversation because a complaint had been filed with the corporate office. I was again appalled at an owner who runs out and when called back, he still doesn't want to be of assistance. Well he reluctantly stayed to hear our stories. After hearing our stories a second time, he still never apologized. While we were creating our police report, an employee from house keeping came to speak to the front desk clerk. She was spitting obscenities about how she was gonna slap someone in his mouth. She was yelling so loud, the police officer told her to leave. Once again, the owner was standing right there and his response was that he didn't hear it. Low and behold, here comes another person in our group asking for a manager because his food which was packed neatly on top of his luggage was missing. Well his drinks were suddenly found and his unopened bag was suddenly opened but other items were still missing. Some of our group members were standing outside and saw a maintenance man go to his car and retrieve the drinks. No discount, No credit of 1 night, no gesture of wanting to help ease our pain from the owner. Ken, a former GM at the Sleep Inn was there and offered us Choice privileges points. Ken is an awesome man and I will support him wherever he goes, but the Sleep Inn is in the hands of a man who DOES NOT CARE!!! KEN WAS THE ONLY LIGHT IN THAT DARK PLACE. So because of this, our organization will not stay here when we return for another tournament and everyone we know will hear of our events at the Sleep Inn in Kenner and our dealings with the OWNER who is only concerned about making money, not his patrons. Again, don't stay here. His business will attract people like his thief workers and people without compassion like him..

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
9  Thank monique c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a pleasant experience at the hotel....clean rooms and attentive service...breakfast was above average. I wish they would have had a pool, but in the grand scheme of things it was perfect for my family.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade...especially mid week!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenP P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn New Orleans Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We strive to give all of our guests great value and appreciate your valuable business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was picking up relatives coming in on a late flight, and didn't want to drive the 90 minutes home at that hour. The Sleep Inn is right off the freeway, so we got out easily in the morning. The hotel is slightly overpriced for what you get, but inexpensive for the area. The room was small by today's standards (not surprising to read that it was formerly a Motel 6), but was clean and everything worked. It included 2 quite comfortable double beds, a closet, desk/dresser combo, flat screen tv, microwave and mini-fridge. The bathroom was shower only, and, again, fairly small, but serviceable. Breakfast includes made-to-order omelets, make-your-own waffles, sausage, biscuits and gravy (the biscuits were nasty! Greasy and hard), and the usual cereals and bread products and juices. There's a Wendy's right next door, for a quick bite; the drive-up window is open until 1 a.m. The tiny parking lot in front holds half-a-dozen cars; more parking is available across the street behind the hotel in what looks to be a public lot. It backs onto the police parking lot, so security is not an issue, but hauling luggage may be. We didn't notice any noise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_QBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenner hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Inn New Orleans Airport
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Airport
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel New Orleans Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus New Orleans Airport Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel New Orleans Airport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites New Orleans Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn New Orleans Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn New Orleans Airport

Address: 2830 Loyola Dr, Kenner, LA 70062-5067 (Formerly Sleep Inn New Orleans Airport)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Kenner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Kenner
Price Range: $74 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn New Orleans Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn New Orleans Airport offers both comfort & convenience. This pet-friendly, family-friendly hotel offers a coin laundry, free continental breakfast, coffee & tea in the lobby. All guest rooms include free WiFi, hair dryer, in-room coffee, flat-screen TV, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. One well behaved family pet is welcome. Business travelers will welcome additional conveniences like access to copy and fax services. Red Roof Inn New Orleans Airport is located less than 4 miles from the Airport, and offers Free Shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn New Orleans Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn New Orleans Airport Hotel Kenner
Motel 6 Kenner
Motel Six Kenner
Kenner Motel 6
Kenner Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing