We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant Portions of Excellent Seafood”

Harbor Seafood & Oyster Bar
Ranked #1 of 226 Restaurants in Kenner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Las Vegas, New Mexico, United States
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Giant Portions of Excellent Seafood”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This little diner-style place packs 'em in all day long. There is often a short line seated outside, waiting for a table. You can also sit on the old stainless-and-red-padded stools at the bar and eat, which is what my wife and I did. At three in the afternoon, it was still jammed, though the fact that it was Friday in Catholic country may have contributed to the rush.

I had a huge meal of catfish, cornbread, cole slaw and beans, and my wife enjoyed a shrimp ettoufee. Neither one of us could finish our meals, which was sad, but they were so good it was hard to stop eating.

You can also buy super-fresh seafood at their next-door retail counter as you leave. Definitely a find in an otherwise industrial part of the city.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    185
    49
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lansing, mi
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shrimp swimming gleefully in butter”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice upscale restaurant. We started with oysters that were spectacular. Everyone at our table had the house special shrimp, a messy (bib required) decadent delight. Service was outstanding. They had some reasonably priced wines that topped off the meal perfectly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank benandandysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wowser of A Seafood/Cajun Restaurant/Bar”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

You could tell as soon as you stepped into this place that you had picked a good one! We ate there twice, once for dinner and once for weekday lunch. Excellent seafood and Cajun fare. Also, good selection of standard hamburger and kiddie meals. Staff were friendly and sufficiently fast considering how busy the place seems to be. Nice and diverse mix of folks who genuinely seemed to enjoy their visit and the meals. Had really good gumbo and the waitress even gave us friendly instructions on how to get the most out of our crawfish. Make sure you park in the back though. Front parking is extremely tiny.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VegasHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Locally approved”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We were steered to this little gem thru a guy who stated it had the best, freshest & reasonable seafood. We stopped here on our way back into New Orleans from the swamp & plantation tours. Huge platters of boiled crayfish went by us, while I was trying to make my decision. My husband had the jambalaya & I had deep fried bacon wrapped oysters, both very good. Not a fancy place, but a lot of locals...the waitress & bartender called a lot of people by name. We would definitely go back & tell our friends about it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank foreverbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lucky Surprise”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were looking for crawfish and oysters after a drive from the Grand Isle. We plugged our preferences into the GPS and the Harbor Seafood and Oyster Bar came up. Gps wasn't quite on target but we found the restaurant in a nondecript strip mall.

There was only one table left and we were taken to it. The waitress quickly gave us the menu. It was awesome, total cajun complete with snapping turtle soup. The turtle soup was probably the best soup I ever had, spiced to perfection. We were sorry we only ordered a cup. Then came the oysters for $7.00 a dozen. The crawfish came with corn, red potatoes and mushrooms. We had eaten at a lot of New Orleans cruisine but this ranks as the best food for the price. No one else compared to the price, taste and quantity of the food

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Seafood & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Harbor Seafood & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing