We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport shuttle bust”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Kenner
Salem, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Airport shuttle bust”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got this room for a good price on Priceline, and the room itself was better than I expected after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were picked up by the shuttle at the airport the day we checked in, after a reasonable wait time. We put our names on the list for the 5am shuttle the next morning. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant that evening, with decent food and prices. All things seemed to be gonig well. Until we got up at 4am, preparing to catch the 5am shuttle. The shuttle only runs once an hour at the top of the hour. Once we arrived in the lobby we were told the shuttle was full and there was nothing that could be done about it - our only option was to call a taxi. There were 5 or 6 of us total in that situation. The staffperson in reception was unhelpful and rude. I'm not sure how the other folks ended up getting to the airport, but we ended up paying $20 for a cab - splitting the fare with another stranded guest. No longer such a good deal! I understand that this property is becoming a Hilton Garden Inn again -- hopefully Hilton can improve the service. Not much of an airport hotel if you can't get to the airport using the shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cbatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Let me apologize that our customer service during your stay at our hotel was lacking. I will definitely pass on your comments to the appropriate department heads for their review and to utilize as a training tool for team members.
We do hope you will give us another chance if you are ever in our area again. If you do come to our area again and would like a reservation please contact me personally I would love to be able to help you.
Warmest Regards,
Amy Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    174
    124
    67
    51
See reviews for
196
130
39
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

After an exhausted day of travel and work, I was finally able to check in after midnight. The white-haired older man working reception that night was finalizing my room, i.e taking credit card for incidentals, etc. After running my credit card, he proceeded to HAND WRITE my entire credit card number on the sheet that was to be filed away. I asked him where exactly this information would be kept, and if it would be discarded. He sneeringly looked at me as if I had just accused him of trying to steal my credit card info, and followed with "they get put in the back." I said I was not comfortable with my credit card info just being available in storage for anyone to handle, and that typically I shred anything that has ENTIRE personal information on it, vs the hotels that save it electronically with only the last 4 digits visible, should the documents be lost in the trash. He replied, "your credit info is on everything anyway!" and then drew one line angrily through the number saying "THERE!"--of course, still visible. I told him that was not acceptable for me, still maintaining composure, and then he slammed the paper on the counter and said, "well then just TAKE it!"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank street20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Let me apologize that our customer service during your stay at our hotel was lacking. I will definitely pass on your comments to the appropriate department heads for their review and to utilize as a training tool for team members.
We do hope you will give us another chance if you are ever in our area again. If you do come to our area again and would like a reservation please contact me personally I would love to be able to help you.
Warmest Regards,
Amy Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I mainly picked this hotel for a free airport shuttle and breakfast because I was heading to a cruise the next day and my friend was arriving separately. You have to call the hotel to have them send the shuttle, which took about 25 minutes. Service was not impressive-- several individuals acted like they were doing you a favor by stopping what they were doing to talk to you.

In spite of the fact that the reservation was booked in late November and clearly promised a free breakfast buffet, we were told we'd have to pay for it because they changed their policy as of January 1 so no free breakfast. I've never heard of a hotel refusing to honor such a commitment on a previously-booked reservation, and came across as incredibly amateurish and hard up for cash. We said forget it and just waited a few hours to eat on the ship. Considering only 2 people in the lobby were actually eating, I suspect we weren't the only ones who did something like that.

On the bright side, the room was spacious and comfortable, and they did call a cab for us at the requested time. Still, considering the number of lower-priced alternatives near the airport, I would never bother with this place again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a hallway, seemed slightly more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iambumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Let me apologize that our customer service during your stay at our hotel was lacking. I will definitely pass on your comments to the appropriate department heads for their review and to utilize as a training tool for team members.
We do hope you will give us another chance if you are ever in our area again. If you do come to our area again and would like a reservation please contact me personally I would love to be able to help you.
Warmest Regards,
Amy Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were disappointed to learn breakfast wasn't included in price of room. Otherwise we were comfortable. There's a Starbuck's in the lobby but it is expensive... We chose this hotel because hotels in the French Quarter were out of our price range. It's only an hour away from MS Gulf Coast, stay there, eat a free breakfast and make the short drive.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruiserfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Let me apologize that our customer service during your stay at our hotel was lacking. I will definitely pass on your comments to the appropriate department heads for their review and to utilize as a training tool for team members.
We do hope you will give us another chance if you are ever in our area again. If you do come to our area again and would like a reservation please contact me personally I would love to be able to help you.
Warmest Regards,
Amy Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

There are so many things wrong here I don't know where to start. When we checked in we were told we would be getting one bed and received two instead. No big deal, but that was just the start. One of the beds had a broken leg and was obviously at a huge angle. Both beds were so saggy and lumpy that you couldn't sleep anywhere but directly in the middle, and even that was still worse than sleeping on the floor. The entire hotel smells like mildew because they are obviously recovering from flood damage. We received a phantom call from the front desk telling us our shuttle, that we never booked, was ready at 630 am. The shower head was broken and sprayed all over the place.

I really can't begin to explain how bad the beds were. I take pride in being able to sleep almost anywhere. This was literally the most uncomfortable I have ever been at a hotel. I have slept better at a motel 6.

There are still Hilton garden inn signs everywhere. They obviously gave up on this place. No one should have kept trying. Horrible sums it up.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyerguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Let me apologize that our customer service during your stay at our hotel was lacking. I will definitely pass on your comments to the appropriate department heads for their review and to utilize as a training tool for team members.
We do hope you will give us another chance if you are ever in our area again. If you do come to our area again and would like a reservation please contact me personally I would love to be able to help you.
Warmest Regards,
Amy Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just okay if you need a room, but don't expect friendly service. Not close to anything!!! Had to pay for breakfast and they weren't even refilling items during the last hour of the breakfast time. Needed another night, but moved hotels at my daughter's request.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SandraConcordNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Let me apologize that our customer service during your stay at our hotel was lacking. I will definitely pass on your comments to the appropriate department heads for their review and to utilize as a training tool for team members.
We do hope you will give us another chance if you are ever in our area again. If you do come to our area again and would like a reservation please contact me personally I would love to be able to help you.
Warmest Regards,
Amy Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOLA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Booked our room in November for a February stay. I was specifically told that a complimentary breakfast would be included during our stay (hey, I asked because I knew this was the previous policy and I look for hotels that offer breakfast). When we arrived we were told that their new policy was to charge for breakfast and that they were not going to honor the original terms under which I agreed to book the room. So called new policy was enacted right before our stay. I will never stay here again and will not recommend this hotel to any of my professional contacts. Good business practice is to honor your statements made during the course of a transaction. Over eggs and pancakes that probably cost them at best $2.00 a person - the managerial staff decide to impose their "new policy" on my pre-policy booking. Not a smart customer service move. My hotel room was $129 a night. I could have gone up the street less than 3 miles away, paid around $90 bucks and received a free breakfast. This is Kenner, Louisiana. What difference does 3 miles make? End result, I will not recommend this place to any of my colleagues. Minus bad business practices and a bathroom that had hair strands all over the tub and shower upon check in, paint chips in the heater and paint on the floor - the place would have been a decent place to stay. The first floor is lacking a ice machine so you have to lug your cooler up to the 2nd floor if you're staying on the first. Also, request a room far away from the "ice vending" room on the 1st floor. The radio is blaring and you can hear the music from your room. Lastly, make sure you complain about the side doors if they don't shut. The door by our room wouldn't shut close during our stay which poses an incredibly dangerous threat to the safety of guests, especially those with rooms on the first floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nola_Dre1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Let me apologize that our customer service during your stay at our hotel was lacking. I will definitely pass on your comments to the appropriate department heads for their review and to utilize as a training tool for team members.
We do hope you will give us another chance if you are ever in our area again. If you do come to our area again and would like a reservation please contact me personally I would love to be able to help you.
Warmest Regards,
Amy Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenner hotels
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel New Orleans Airport
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Airport
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel New Orleans Airport
4.1 mi away
Hilton New Orleans Airport
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus New Orleans Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport
Address: 4535 Williams Blvd, Kenner, LA 70065-1449 (Formerly Hotel Kenner )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Kenner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Kenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport is adjacent to the Pontchartrain Convention Center, next to Treasure Chest Casino, and approximately five miles from Louis Armstrong International Airport. A few amenities include a made to order hot breakfast, complimentary airport shuttle service, a state of the art fitness center, outdoor heated pool,with a whirlpool. The lobby lounge and restaurant offer nightly specials and in room dining along with a 24 hour lobby Pantry for sundry and other food items. The Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport also offers valet laundry service, on-site laundry facilities, and complimentary airport transportation. Complimentary bus parking available. All rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, Keurig coffeemakers, complimentary Wi-Fi, voicemail, irons/ironing boards,and hairdryers.The hotel overlooks Lake Pontchartrain and is about two miles from Esplanade Shopping Center and Rivertown museums and 12 miles from the French Quarter and downtown New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport Hotel Kenner
Hilton Garden Inn Kenner
Hilton Kenner
Kenner Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing