We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful with what you expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Kenner
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Be careful with what you expect”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Kenner Hotel on Sat Dec 30th and it was the worst stay at a hotel that we have ever had.
We booked our room directly with the hotel and paid for a KING bed, NON smoking with complimentary breakfast and newspaper.
What we received was a room with two double beds, SMOKING and had to pay for our breakfast due to a change in “policy“ and no newspapers in sight.
We didn’t receive anything that we reserved except a simple roof over our head. I asked to be moved to another room – or at least to a NON SMOKING and was told that they were booked solid for the night. The room we got was the most disgusting room I’ve ever stayed in and would have absolutely left had it not been 12:15am by the time we got there. It smelled like someone had just smoked a full pack of cigarettes in our room - it was vile and made it hard to fall asleep. It was December and we had to open the windows to help air the place out. It didn’t help much.
I am dumbfounded how any hotel can take a reservation for what we booked and not fulfill it in any way.
I sent a review directly to the hotel to give them a chance to make good on the bad reservation and have not received any response. Great business model!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to cigarettes do not book here - they do not take thier non-smoking guidelines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank shelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    174
    124
    67
    51
See reviews for
196
130
39
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

First, I had difficulty finding the Hotel Kenner as it is a little ways off of the street. There is no sign at the street and the hotel is not visible after dark. As I appoached the property, the only signage visible was an old, partially covered sign for "Hilton Garden Inn" on the end of the building. There is one unlit marker right in front of the hotel that is obscured by the bushes.

There was a large conference taking place at the adjoining conference center, yet the hotel had only one desk clerk to take care of the MANY attendees. It took quite a while to get checked in.

The carpet in the room was very worn and the decor is tired. However, the room was clean. The bed was comfortable. There was no light bulb in the desk lamp. There was only one small bar of cheap, smelly bar of soap in the bathroom. I ended up running to the drug store to get bath soap to use during my stay.

I was advised upon check-in that breakfast was available in the lobby each morning for $5.99. I mistakenly thought that there might be a little more offered than the usual free breakfast offered at many hotels. I was wrong! It was the exact same stuff.

It is nice that the hotel is so close to the Pontchartrain Center, however, the staff and management need to pay attention to details to make this hotel stand out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Let me apologize that our customer service during your stay at our hotel was lacking. I will definitely pass on your comments to the appropriate department heads for their review and to utilize as a training tool for team members.
We do hope you will give us another chance if you are ever in our area again. If you do come to our area again and would like a reservation please contact me personally I would love to be able to help you.
Warmest Regards,
Amy Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Kenner over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend and were very comfortable at this hotel. The complimentary breakfast was standard, not great...but our room was clean, and the staff was helpful and attentive. It was quiet and didn't seem very busy over this long weekend so we used the lobby each night for watching football games and visiting with family & friends. Fathin (working at front desk several of the nights) was helpful and kind to us. It is on the lake and we went for a nice run along the levee each morning. This hotel is convenient to our family living in Kenner and we will definitely return next time we visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nolagrl306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will come back for another visit soon.

Warmest Regards,
Amy Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

i stay at hotels all the time all over the country and this one is one of the worst. First I couldn't pull up to the front door because their shuttle van is taking up the whole drive way. Next, they have fliers at the front desk telling you they gave house keeping the day off tomorrow for Thanks-giving...so, reuse your towels...Don't wipe your behind today I guess!!! The room had a musky smell. The mattress was old and bumpy. The carpet was stained and dirty. I checked out within a few minutes of checking in and went to Double Tree!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cahsjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Kenner, arrived Saturday evening and left Monday at check out. The hotel is clean and rooms nice, beds had very good linen and staff both in the day and evening hours were good. Although this hotel is located very near to the airport, no noise from in/out going planes-- excellent!! Construction was going on at the hotel that closed off some areas including the exercise/ weight room and pool- this came as a surprise because it was not mentioned when we called to ask about the reservation. Hotel had a morning breakfast included in out price with a very good variety of foods, both hot, cold and fruits. There is a restaurant on the premisis but this is limited and somewhat high in cost- we ate out for all other meals. The hotel also has a very small bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rancho cucomonga belize
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

my daughter and i spent the week of november8 thru november 13 2012 at the hotel kenner.from the moment we arrived til the moment we departed,everything was perfect.the desk staff was very helpful in recommending attractions and services.the cleaning staff were superb,our room was cleaned every morning.the breakfast each morning was wonderful and the social each evening was just as nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenaldersONGODDAMNIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Finding the shuttle pick-up point is a little difficult at MSY. The experienced traveler in our group (my Wife) knew how to find it. Check-in was painless. The room was clean. Disposed of a couple little non-registered guest that were crawling around on the floor in the bathroom. The bed was fine, the room needed the TV listing for channels. Breakfast was fine. It was a fine inexpensive room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomanddebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will come back for another visit soon.

Warmest Regards,
Amy Stettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenner hotels
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel New Orleans Airport
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Airport
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel New Orleans Airport
4.1 mi away
Hilton New Orleans Airport
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus New Orleans Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport
Address: 4535 Williams Blvd, Kenner, LA 70065-1449 (Formerly Hotel Kenner )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Kenner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Kenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport is adjacent to the Pontchartrain Convention Center, next to Treasure Chest Casino, and approximately five miles from Louis Armstrong International Airport. A few amenities include a made to order hot breakfast, complimentary airport shuttle service, a state of the art fitness center, outdoor heated pool,with a whirlpool. The lobby lounge and restaurant offer nightly specials and in room dining along with a 24 hour lobby Pantry for sundry and other food items. The Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport also offers valet laundry service, on-site laundry facilities, and complimentary airport transportation. Complimentary bus parking available. All rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, Keurig coffeemakers, complimentary Wi-Fi, voicemail, irons/ironing boards,and hairdryers.The hotel overlooks Lake Pontchartrain and is about two miles from Esplanade Shopping Center and Rivertown museums and 12 miles from the French Quarter and downtown New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Airport Hotel Kenner
Hilton Garden Inn Kenner
Hilton Kenner
Kenner Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing