We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crawfish Haven / Mrs. Rose's Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$45
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
19
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrawfish boilauthentic cajunshort drivecatfishnext morningnew orleanslafayettelouisianaaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 22 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2016

My wife and I wanted to learn more about the Cajun culture and crawfish farming. Did we ever come to the right place!! Barry is a native and has lived it all! He patiently explained the history and environment (with a Cajun twist), went out of his way to show us the right places to eat, and spent several hours with us harvesting crawfish. Barry is an accomplished chef, and the evening's crawfish boil was the highlight of our stay.

We wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone, including squeemish city dwellers!

Barry is a perfect host and the environment is truly Cajon. A memorable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GPK1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfish H, Social Media Manager at Crawfish Haven / Mrs. Rose's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

We loved the review you posted on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. You certainly chose the right place to learn about the Cajun culture and crawfish farming. Barry has a wealth of knowledge about both and loves to share what he knows with others. He especially wants to always make sure his guests have a great time. He loves when he can cook for them - he enjoys cooking the food as much as they enjoy eating it. Thank you for choosing Crawfish Haven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016

We had my sons 2nd Birthday Party at Crawfish Haven. It was a perfect place to have a party. There was plenty of room for the kids to play and enjoy themselves as well as plenty of room to cook and boil crawfish. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, regardless of whether or not they are looking to have a party or if they are looking to relax and spend the night at the Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 719adore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfish H, Social Media Coordinator at Crawfish Haven / Mrs. Rose's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was great having all of you there for a birthday party. Since the house is situated on 2 acres, there was plenty of place for the kids to run and play. We love the photo they took by the Crawfish Haven/Mrs. Rose's Bed and Breakfast sign. We hope to see all of you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2016

Took the extended family (5 adults and 4 kids ranging from 20 mos. to 9 yrs. old) for a four night trip over the Mardi Gras holidays. Everyone had a wonderful time. Even the small children enjoyed catching and playing with the crawfish. Eating the crawfish that night was great as they always are. We had a bonfire one night with everyone sitting around eating, drinking, and watching the fire and stars while listening to the abundant wildlife such as geese and wood ducks. When you go, by all means, take part in the crawfish excursion by boat. The kids loved it and it cannot be experienced anywhere except south Louisiana. House is very comfortable with modern amenities such as central air and heat as well as satellite TV. Excellent breakfasts and nearby places to visit.

Room Tip: Website does a good job of describing the room options.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ihuntsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfish H, Social Media Coordinator at Crawfish Haven / Mrs. Rose's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay at Crawfish Haven and for your wonderful review. When you were there, you and your family experienced all that Crawfish Haven has to offer, and more. Thank you for telling about it because the best reviews are word-of-mouth. By doing this, you have told all our readers what they can expect when the visit us. It was wonderful having your family stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2015

My friends and I had a most enjoyable time at Mrs. Rose's/Crawfish Haven In Kaplan last month. It was a serene, quiet get-away out in the country. Barry cooked a delicious crawfish omelet for breakfast and took us to the crawfish pond for our morning adventure. It was very interesting checking the crawfish traps and hearing the tales of what being a crawfish farmer is all about! I can't wait to go back with family to experience this delightful escape from everyday life. Thank you Barry for having us! Your place is a treasure.

Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
Thank StockadeOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfish H, Owner at Crawfish Haven / Mrs. Rose's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2015

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a delight having you and your friends stay at Mrs. Rose’s B&B. We enjoyed taking you on your first crawfish excursion and were happy to share our knowledge of the crawfish industry. We hope you will return with family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I had a 2 week back road journey of Louisiana 'Cajun Country' and found this B and B! Owner Barry Toups is like an old friend, lots of stories and great recommendations. This is a new venture for Barry and he is still fine tuning the B&B, and is doing a great job! Comfortable and quiet, plus we had the place to ourselves! We did the crawfish excursion, and had a boil in the backyard, great food, and learned how to eat crawfish correctly! Enjoyed it so much got up next morning and went out crawfishing again! Nice time...would be pleased to stay again.

Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfish H, Owner at Crawfish Haven / Mrs. Rose's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2015

Thank you for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to have guests from another part of the country visit and enjoy all that Louisiana has to offer. We were happy to teach you about crawfish farming and how to enjoy them. We are glad you also enjoyed our bed and breakfast. If you ever come this way again, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Thank you,
Barry Toups

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews