We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Great Atmosphere”
Review of Rivershack Tavern

Rivershack Tavern
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Liberal, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food and Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

y thoughts on the place...great dive bar with awesome food. Thursday Special was See-Food Dinner with Fried Shrimp, Fried Oysters, Fried Catfish & Gator Sausage for 10.75 ($6.00 savings from regular menu). We started with an order of Cheese Fries, then the two of us split this ginormous platter. We upgraded to sweet potato fries and added another side salad. Was plenty to eat. Portions are very large, seafood melted in your mouth, sweet potato fries were not greasy - they also melted in your mouth! Sampler platter was a perfect way for the two of us to try new foods-this was my first time having alligator and oysters.

Two of us ate for $22.02 plus tip...WOW! Lizzie W. was our server tonight; she was extremely helpful and very cheerful. We would definitely come back the next time we're in New Orleans and would plan to stay for music!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    9
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stop by for a beer or a few. Eat, the food is excellent.

I've been there at lunch time and supper time and have never been disappointed. We normally sit outside at the tables (in a rather unattractive parking lot), as we are outside folk. This is great for beer. One can always walk across River Road and climb the levee to see the river, but that's too much exercise...have another beer and then go inside to eat, you will not be disappointed.

When Crawfish are in season they offer several crawfish boils...always great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyT0urists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best boiled crawfish!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Rivershack Tavern has become our favorite go to place for boiled crawfish. It is seasoned and cooked to perfection. Other menu items have all been good, but we always end up wishing we had just ordered more crawfish. It is served two days a week for a limited time period (till they run out) so we go early. The atmosphere is very relaxed and service is great. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karli036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLYMPIA
Level Contributor
392 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“A funky little bar with great food”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was the first restaurant that had been featured on Diners, Drive-in, and Dives that we had the opportunity to try and we weren't disappointed. The building lives up to it's name... it is a bit of a shack hidden behind the levy next to the river. But once inside, one finds a funky little bar that has a collection of signs, pictures and paraphernalia that will keep you entertained for quite some time. The stools at the bar are unique as the legs of the chairs are replicas of people's legs.
The food is typical southern comfort food that is absolutely delicious. My wife had catfish with white beans and pork and rice. I had the Shrimp Po-boy. For us, we couldn't have found a greater introduction to Southern cooking. Everything tasted so good. Guy had not steered us wrong.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 98502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food & fun atmosphere”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Everything on the menu looks appetizing and I have never had a meal from the Rivershack that I could complain about. Daily specials run out fast as locals know to get there early or put their orders in early. Seafood is fresh and can be expensive so check on prices if ordering by telephone for take-out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Constance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivershack Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Rivershack Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing