We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fat Cat Eco Backpackers
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked this for a few nights as the hostel booking website hinted the place was quirky and offered a hostel in a rural setting, which it was. But by no means is this place a hostel. It is a shack full of hippies, though they were friendly on arrival and offered tea. We booked a double room on a hostel website, to be told on arrival we were in a caravan. Needless to say we left swiftly and booked a hostel in Auckland central, as the caravan was a tip, no heating or running water. How this place can be called a hostel beats me. A hostel this is not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelman377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 30 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Fat Cat is more then just a hostel, it´s a home with big community feeling. They have airport pick up service wich was awesome, It´s close to the beautiful nature park and famous Piha beach. You can join the vegan/vegetarian meals for just $3-6. At night everyone gatters around the fire to sing, play guitar and drink a beer. When I left I got a hug. What more can i say? It was just wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22ahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A beautiful international community combined with an organica ambience make for a stay you will not forget. If you are in Auckland and unsure of where to stay, go out of your way to stay here, you will not regret it. I received an educational experience, learning about organic gardening and a sustainable as well as meeting interesting people from all over the world. Conversation and experiences that will stick with me for a lifetime. Highly recommend it.
Also, the location is great, located just outside of the Waitakere ranges regional park, and with reasonably close surfing at Piha.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calvinwalterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Wonderful little backpackers hostel on the edge of Auckland. Very community focused, like a big little family! Everyone is introduced to each other and a big shared dinner if available at the end of the day - the food is great and a lot picked straight from the organic garden. Great permaculture and organic techniques - fire bath! Chickens, herb and vegetable garden - they give you a big tour of the farm when you arrive and explain everything, so you get to participate in sustainable living just be staying there. They run workshops and activities for free, we participated in the yoga and natural facials, there was tango dancing too the week we were there! The hosts and people living there take the time to meet you, in the evening there seems to always be a fire and lots of guitar playing. Very different to any other backpackers hostel we've been to - absolutely wonderful, a highlight of our trip!!

Room Tip: rooms are dorm rooms, simple but nice. Tent space is garden is lovely, also some couple choose to sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mylex45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Vittorio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
150 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quest Henderson
Quest Henderson
#1 of 1 in Henderson
76 reviews
8.8 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#40 of 132 in Auckland Central
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kiwi Heritage Home Stay
Kiwi Heritage Home Stay
#15 of 62 in Auckland Central
30 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#2 of 132 in Auckland Central
387 reviews
2.2 mi away
New Haven Motel
New Haven Motel
#29 of 65 in Auckland Central
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Cat Eco Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Cat Eco Backpackers

Address: 2A Sherrybrooke Place, Sunnyvale, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sunnyvale
Price Range: $28 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off the beaten path, Fat Cat Travellers Community! Solar shower, vegetable gardens, outdoor fire and patio area, communal meals, fire bath! Dorm rooms with garden view. 30 minutes train ride from the city centre, a great place for relaxing, unwinding and meeting travellers! Eco-friendly. Backpacker-friendly!Welcome to our little Eden! Fat Cat Travellers Community is a 100% Organic city farm. Off the beaten track. Eco-friendly. Backpacker-friendly! We run our community accommodation the way that a hostel should be run – like a home. We have an old farm house surrounded by lush gardens and vegetable patches that we have converted into a self-sufficient Eco paradise. We live by the mantra: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle. Consequently, we have used salvaged materials to construct some wonderful facilities that you are welcome to use during your stay: • Outdoor solar shower • Garden fire bath • Tree swing • Outside sauna tepee • Vegetable gardens Our place is part WWOOFing farm and part backpackers; a vibrant, varied and friendly community built around our home and gardens.Our Location. We are tucked out of the way of the hustle and bustle of the city centre – truly a great place for relaxing and unwinding! We are a 600m walk to the train station where you can catch a 30min ride straight to the city centre. Trains run several times per hour and are inexpensive. We are located 25 minutes away from the popular surf beach of Piha (closer than any other Auckland hostel!) and only 10 minutes away from the spectacular and incredible Waitakere Ranges National Park where you can trek for a day or even a whole week! If you would like to come and join in our wonderful community and share your time with other wonderful travelers then we happily welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Fat Cat Eco Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing