We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Filthy Rundown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Iowa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Iowa
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We reserved for 3 nights but decided to stay only one due to the condition of the hotel. It looked great, clean, and updated out front however, the elevator was nasty with mud all over the floor from the time we checked in to after we checked out the next day at noon. Our room smelled of mildew, the towels smelled of mildew, the carpet was dirty, the sheets had someone's hair on them, the grout was cracking between the tiles, under the bathroom sink there was white residue on the floor and the AC was not thermostat controlled. We froze that night as it was freeze or steam, could NOT get that dial in the right spot, but the bed was very comfortable even with the sheets that did not fit the bed at all! Breakfast the next morning was a joke, as if they figured their breakfast offerings to one sausage per guest I am guessing as there was one patty left when we got there and they did not offer any more. No fresh fruit even offered, the OJ was mostly water, the biscuits dry and hard as concrete. LQ is my hotel chain of choice and we have stayed at many- this is the first bad review I have had to make. Will NOT be going back there. Spend the money and stay at the one in Lake Charles, we love this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salsamaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 171 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

After a long day of driving in the rain we were tired and exhausted by the time we found this hotel. The staff was super friendly,our king size room was spotless, the bed was extra comfortable and our room had two chairs, a sofa and a work station for a business traveler. The bathroom was also spotless. We will be traveling to M. D. Anderson for medical treatment for the next year, this will be our half-way mark and we will continue to stay here every trip. We were 100% satisfied. I agree with one review....be careful to find the right entrance to the hotel, it can be a little tricky!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank g410berry1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

2nd time we stayed here. Rooms are ok, however ours was not that clean. Room smelled of smoke. We had 4 people and 3 bath towel, even though we had reserved in advance for 4 people. I was told all rooms had 3 towels and they were full and we were offered hand towels for the 4th person. The pool area had chairs that had rusted off legs and were wobbly. The spa was not working and dirty. The breakfast had hot items, that's the best I can say, they had cold biscuits that you could warm in the microwave if the staff weren't using the microwave to heat a plate full of sausage patties. There is no place good to eat in the area if you come for dinner fast food is the best option. I would not recommend.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxyyzzaabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Initially bummed we were going to stay here, the only place in town, but it was very very surprising! Clean rooms, up to date, friendly staff, breakfast, business room, etc. I would stay here again. No worries about crashing here for a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyrfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Price was right, close to casinos, easy access from I-10, friendly staff and it was very clean. I will return to this La Quinta when I go to the casino. I loved the pillow top mattress. The breakfast was fresh and hot.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveMexicoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Humble, Texas, USA
11
Reviewed June 25, 2012

easy acess to freeway to casino, clean rooms, good food,nice& polite employees. this location is close to several casinos & other vacation attractions.would reccomend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cleveland, Texas, USA
12
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Execellent. Great price, room, service, cleanliness,food. Will stay here everytime I am in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa
23.4 mi away
Best Western Inn At Coushatta
13.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
6.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
#8 of 37 in Lake Charles
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jennings
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Iowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Iowa

Address: 204 W Frontage Rd, Iowa, LA 70647-4031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Iowa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Iowa
Price Range: $88 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Iowa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Iowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing