We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in a new hotel in Houma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Houma
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best value in a new hotel in Houma”
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The shockingly high hotel prices in Houma must come from Louisiana's overheated offshore oil economy, and they did not come down after the BP offshore well disaster. With that being said, the Microtel on Martin Luther King Blvd in Houma is the best value in a rather new hotel there. This hotel is very popular with workmen who seem to be associated with the oil industry, and they must be very tired when they arrive in the evening because it is blessedly quiet in the halls all night long. In four years of staying here I have never been disturbed by noise. Unfortunately your car is at risk in the parking lot if any of the extremely large pickup trucks and service vehicles accidentally back into your car or hit it with the long pipes or cranes that are sometimes attached. Try to park where no one will be backing out in the direction of your car. The coffee is good here, and the hotel is clean except for the stair wells.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guest080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    81
    24
    10
    11
See reviews for
87
38
27
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Our stay of 5 nights was very pleasant. The staff did everything to make sure we were comfortable. The breakfast was very good & fresh ea. day and the atmosphere was very homey because the outdoors and lobby were decorated for fall, bringing a pleasant welcome upon arriving. We will stay there again when we visit family in Houma.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This hotel is absolutely awesome. The rooms are good size and plenty of sleeping arrangements can be made so everyone is comfortable. The staff is wonderful. They cater to your every need and are truly there to make your stay a pleasurable one. Pool was great, though take some citronella candles with you if you swim at night.

Hope to see ya'll next year.....Louisiana and Houma are our new favorite place to be.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SherryTall89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, CO
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2009

The service is what stood out the most for me - outstanding! I also loved the new, clean feel and smell of this hotel. The rooms are small, which is the point of the Microtel chain, but I was impressed with the management of space in the rooms - it was comfortable. Our room was clean, we had our own wall thermostat for the room, and even the pillows were great. The walls seem thin when walking down the hallway, but we didn't experience any disturbances from other guests while in our room. My biggest complaint was the daily knock on the door for housekeeping at 8:30 am - much too early to begin housekeeping, in my opinion. Otherwise, great hotel and I plan on staying here from now on when visiting my parents in Houma.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorree22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, LA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2007

New establishment in Houma, clean, and worker "Joyce" was very friendly. Accommodations reminded me of a small box car on Amtrak - not very much room. I requested that I be placed in a quiet area of the hotel and I have to say it was very quiet. Nice place to stay if none of the other area hotels have vacancies.

  • Liked — Staff personnel very friendly.
  • Disliked — Accommodations of queen room rather small and limited parking.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine4RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoumaGuy, Owner at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
For many of our guests who are seeking a great value, our single rooms meet all their needs for a great price. Our double rooms are more spacious and are also a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houma hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Houma
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Houma
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houma
Candlewood Suites Houma
#16 of 19 in Houma
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Houma
Hampton Inn Houma
#5 of 19 in Houma
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma
Address: 1801 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Houma, LA 70360-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Houma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Houma
#6 Business Hotel in Houma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Houma
Houma Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing