We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crochet House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crochet House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Crochet House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 8 Houma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights and loved every minute of it. Simply wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make our stay impeccable - from great food, to live cajun music during breakfast, to insider tips to Houma and the surrounding areas - all in all, it couldn't have gotten much better. Thanks for the great memories Leland and Sally!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    30
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
107
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Natchitoches, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Mrs. Sally and Mr. Leland are some of the most welcoming people I have ever stayed with. They make you feel like a part of the family when you are with them, and I always found myself staying longer at the breakfast table than I had planned just to keep talking with them. The little extras they leave in the rooms are also really special and homey.

The part will make you desperate to go back is the incredible breakfasts they provide. I still get cravings for their sweet potato pancakes--don't knock it until you taste them, they are heavenly--and they never insisted that breakfast was only served if you were up early (on several mornings they saved a plate for me when I slept in, and they never made me feel like I was inconveniencing them.) Everything morning, the food was amazing and varied, so you shouldn't have trouble finding something you'll love.

Definitely give this lovely little corner of Houma hospitality a shot. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Looks are deceiving , our room was a lovely cottage with plenty of space and a very comfy bed .. Everything u need is provided. Leland does an amazing breakfast only complaint is that i ate too much, great hosts make you feel at home. Recommend as a stop over near New Orleans

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stl178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrickville, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed three nights. Which is one night too many as here is not much to do in Houma especially at night. This place is excellent to stay at. The neighborhood is a bit off putting as it all looks a bit boring. But this place is large, has a pool and a big back yard. Great breakfasts which keep you going all day.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Crochet House doesn't look like much from the street, but don't let that fool you. When we arrived, we were graciously greeted by Leland and shown to the "cottage," an efficiency with a small kitchenette. The room was exceptionally clean, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom well stocked. The B & B is frequented by international travelers. Our breakfast conversation with a couple from Germany, a family from New Jersey, and Leland was as delightful as the homemade beignets. (If you ask Leland nicely, he might share his secret recipe!) On our next visit, we will stay at Crochet House longer and use Houma as a base for exploration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evilleroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We want to thank Leland and Sally for the fantastic visit. Not only was the room teriffic, the food was unbelievably great. They both made us feel so welcome, giving us advice on travel plans while there, getting live music for Saturday breakfast time and sharing their family history, customs and recipes. It was so awesome. It made me want to come home and delve into the Cajun history. I had just read a bit about the flight out of Canada and the early settling of Acadians in Louisiana. They shared alot of traditions with us. The food was extraordinary but the visiting was the best!!

Room Tip: Would love to come back , explore the area more and enjoy the pool, which looked really inviting if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KareenTurner72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Crochet House! Leland and Sally welcomed us like family! We had a great time chatting with them and really enjoyed hearing about their culture and history. The breakfast they prepared for us was delicious - the best part for me being the fresh beignet.The room was very clean, very well equiped and so very comfortable. They also have a beautiful yard with hamocs, a pool and lots of flowers, just lovely. They were very well informed of the area and even called to confirm a reservation for us at a local swamp tour. I now wish I would have planned more days in Houma... but if we ever get a chance to go back, we will definitevely be stopping at the Crochet House!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houma
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma
1.5 mi away
Plantation Inn
Plantation Inn
#14 of 20 in Houma
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Houma
Howard Johnson Houma
#17 of 20 in Houma
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Houma
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Houma
Quality Hotel Houma
#10 of 20 in Houma
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crochet House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crochet House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crochet House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 301 Midland Drive, Houma, LA 70360
Location: United States > Louisiana > Houma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Houma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing