We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Down-Home Comfort, Service and Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Houma
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Down-Home Comfort, Service and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My 11-day stay was more like being in a bed-and-breakfast than a national chain. The room was large and well-equipped for business and relaxing. Staff was friendly and always eager to help. (The general manager had some great local restaurant suggestions.) Housekeeping was consistently thorough. (Extra towels on request.) The property grounds were spacious, well-landscaped and suitable for strolling.

Altogether, it was a real home-away-from-home lodging experience and a super value!

A few minor quibbles: Despite weather in the eighties, the pool wasn't open (and won't be until Memorial Day). Minor room maintenance (involving plumbing) was never fixed properly.

On the whole, though, the room was great, the stay uneventful, the people bayou-friendly. What a value!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank DalTx214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear DalTx214

I'm glad the staff and I were creating a lasting hospitable experience during your stay. We take great pride and reading our guest reviews as we use it as a guide for self improvement.

Sorry to hear that there're issues that were not resolved during your extended stay properly, but rest assure that I will work more closely with maintenance to correctively fix reported items directly or have an professional come out to repair it on our behalf.

Thank you for being our guest and we hope to host your future stay if your ever back in the Houma area.

Sincerely,
Sean L. Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    31
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
46
29
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is my hotel of choice when traveling to the wife's hometown. Nothing too fancy, but a clean hotel at a reasonable rate. The staff is consistently friendly and flexible. Breakfast bar is adequate, but nothing fancy.

Room Tip: Remember La Quinta is a pet friendly chain so you may want to ask for a room on a pet free floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobrobert72076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Bobrobert72076,

Thank you for sending in a response regarding your frequent stays at our property, we truly apreciate you taking the time to enlighten us on some continuous improvement we must make moving forward.

It's great to receive feedback from our valued guest and we look forward to your return to Houma soon!

Sincerely,
Sean Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a great value!!! Large Room with King Bed, separate sitting area, in-room fridge and microwave, conveniently located, complimentary breakfast, nice workout room and pool, all for under $80/night. Why spend $120 or $140 to stay at the Hampton or Holiday Inn? In Houma, LA, you can't beat the La Quinta.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind words regarding your recent stay at our location. We try our best to do whatever it takes to make every guest stay enjoyable and memorable as possible. Our team takes great pride in your words and look forward to continuing to deliver great service and accommodations to all our future guest.

Takes again for your strong recommending words of praise to our property and team it's greatly appreciated.

Respectfully Yours
Sean Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Upon arrival I saw the Tripadvisor logo on the entrance. It was dated 2011. Check in was unexceptional, yet adequately efficient. My reservation was made on line, and other than acknowledging the rates, nothing to fill out. Just gave them a credit card and drivers license, and that was it. The room was clean well appointed and roomy. The place gave the impression of being very new. There were a few very minor maintenance issues that I might have brought up, but they were nothing that detracted to my stay. Generally speaking it was quiet and comfortable.

They have a really decent free breakfast. The smell of the waffle maker was a pleasant start of each morning.. I will agree with one earlier reviewer that the juices left a lot to be desired.

The staff I encountered were pleasant and professional. Prices were very fair given that it is Mardi Gras week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pastrebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Pastrebob,

I appreciate your honest feedback in regards to your stay in February and since have upgraded the juice dispenser and coffee dispenser for a better taste and selection for our guest.

I'm glad to know that our express check-in and check-out was a seamless transition for you, if your every in the area please revisit to see the improvements. Thanks again for taking the time out to let us know how your stay was, hope to see you 2014 Mardi Gras.

Sincerely,
Sean Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel and room were clean and in good repair. A few disappointments: breakfast included rancid cheese for the eggs, extremely watered down juices (lacking any juice flavor at all), a toaster that didn't work and didn't toast. The fitness room hour begin at 9 am, which is very late for most fitness buffs, and the treadmill and bike were both not working. When I requested help to start the treadmill, the desk person asked maintenance and they told her it was broken, but meanwhile, they never marked the machines and seemed to have no desire to either fix the problem or warn other potential users not to waste their time trying to make them work. I wanted to sit outside in the sunshine but the only outside bench was occupied by employees of the hotel on smoke break. The pool was locked and closed despite warm weather.

Room Tip: Good hotel if you plan breakfast elsewhere and don't depend on the fitness center to be availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Steve P,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our property, wish I had the opportunity of speaking with you during your visit to address and correct the concern prior to your departure.

We have since had the fitness center equipment service, re-trained the staff of the safety reset on the treadmill, upgraded our breakfast with a full-time breakfast host to ensure adequate ample food is readily available.

It's our sincere hope that you revisit soon to witness the transformation with our breakfast and fitness center.

Sincerely,
Sean Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I want to say thanks to Mrs. Belinda at the Laquinta in Houma, la. She made my stay wonderful. I was checking because of a burst water pipe in my apartment and was so grateful to be around smilling and friendly person as we were both tired and exhausted from all the craziness. Excellent employee and an obvious asset to your hotel. Thanks Mrs. Belinda and and Thanks Laquinta Inn !!!
Shon A. Aull

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was so comforting to be at this LaQuinta in Houma during a deluge of rain and severe weather. The staff was so helpful and helped to keep us safe and tended to every need. It was very refreshing. I needed driving directions, and the staff was able to give me the fastest and easiest way to travel in Houma. Directions and ideas for great Cajun food was given with joy! And, the breakfast was so-o-o good. Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houma hotels
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Houma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Houma
1.9 mi away
Ramada Houma
Ramada Houma
#13 of 20 in Houma
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Houma
Holiday Inn Houma
#11 of 20 in Houma
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma
Address: 189 Synergy Center Blvd, Houma, LA 70360-1765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Houma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Houma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets stay free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma Hotel Houma
La Quinta Inn And Suites Houma
La Quinta Houma
Houma La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing