We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really our cup of tea”

Bayou Delight Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 200 Restaurants in Houma
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not really our cup of tea”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The review is based on my taste, so others might disagree, but this place which seemed to cater most for locals, wasn't really living up to our expectations. As this was our first dinner in Louisiana, we went for the seafood platter. However everything was overfried and dry, so you couldn't seperate one object from another. I'm sure this is ok for someone, but not for us.

Also we heard that there would be live music, but for some reason this was cancelled this day, I guess because of Easter.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    46
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fresh catch & huge portions”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very good service, reasonable prices, large portions. Had to wait a bit for the fried chicken, but it was hot when it came out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank VintageCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family style casual”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This restaurant caters to the family with a broad range of menu items, cajun atmosphere with light music Friday-Saturdays.
Looking for Gumbo to sauce piquant its here. good for an outing with a group or just a family outing. walk in or call for reservation if you are doing a group thing. A good place for a Sunday lunch also. Crab cakes last night they were good along with stuffed potato. white beans and catfish also a delight. we enjoyed the outing we had 14 people and all were satisfied with different menu items.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brother n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cajun Food”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Gumbo - good but not as good as at Dave's Cajun Kitchen. Fried fish platter excellent although too much would be heart attack generating. Staff very helpful. This is the place to catch the Swamp Tour which starts at approx. 1pm and well worth the trip..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FoucaultFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

After reading a review about the stuffed crab I decided to go check the Bayou Delight Restaurant out. Its a very no descript building on the bayou and the interior was warm with countless pictures of famous alligator people . The stuffed crab was oily and the cook micro waved I didn't see much in the way of peppers, onions or celery which I would consider almost in any cajun dish. The crab was stuck to the interior edges of the shell and dried out. I would have expected more considering it was practically the most expensive item on the menu, about $19.00. The bread pudding was hot and did taste nice and served with a bubbling hot sauce also compliments of the microwave. Not that I am anti microwave it was fine with the already moist bread pudding but it ruined the crab. I am sure they do well, its cozy but Emeril Lagasse isn't in the kitchen.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fastfishracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayou Delight Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing