We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bayou Noir
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma(Houma)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MainStay Suites(Houma)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Howard Johnson Houma(Houma)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Houma(Houma)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Inn(Houma)(Great Value!)
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Houma(Houma)
$94
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
88
12
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis wifefresh fruitcold beerlive oaksupstairs suitesouthern hospitalitybeautiful housenew orleansreceived a warm welcomecomfortable accommodationstour of the propertysouthern gentlemanyummy breakfastamazing gardenchicken coophot tub on the balconyvegetable garden
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 102 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the B&B for a family reunion (we rented all the rooms, for six adults and 3 children) and found it excellent. The upstairs suite is roomy and flexible (grandkids slept in the room next to ours). The rooms in the main house are traditional decor and wonderfully appointed, with all the modern amenities as well. Having the screened-in porch available where we could all gather, have lunch or drinks, and just visit (and play the old juke box!) was a great asset. Grounds, accommodations, breakfasts, hospitality are all top notch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for four consecutive nights. We chose Houma because of its location. We chose Grand Bayou Noir because of the great TA ratings.

Tim, the judge, is very nice and knows this area and can offer lots of recommendations of things to see and do. Tim is a very good cook and his breakfasts are wonderful, including the fantastic bacon, which he imports, and the delicious pancakes. Each of his breakfasts starts off with a huge bowl of fresh fruit. Tim's father built this house in 1934. Tim turned this into a B&B, which now has three rooms for guests. The house is set on 3.5 acres. Many weddings take place here, and Tim not only performs the weddings but is also the cook.

There is no place to walk to from here. The town of Houma is commercialized and has very hot and humid weather. There were lots of mosquitoes when we were here.

This is a great place to use as a hub to take day trips. One day we drove all the way down to Grand Isle and drove around many of the beautiful bayous. One day we drove to New Orleans and spent the day there. One day we drove to Baton Rouge and explored part of the city.

From their website:

If you are looking for a place to relax and experience the peace and tranquility of an era long past, look no further than Grand Bayou Noir. Located in the heart of Cajun Country, yet only fifty minutes from New Orleans, Grand Bayou Noir is a truly grand old home. The property fronts on serene Big Bayou Black, and the home is surrounded by four acres of beautiful old oak trees. Whether you are longing for a romantic escape or just hoping for a peaceful get away, Grand Bayou Noir is the perfect place to stay. Grand Bayou Noir has all oak floors and ceiling fans in every room. The home boasts both formal living and dining rooms with a fireplace and piano.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spent three wonderful nights in Tim's historic mansion in Houma Louisiana. We stayed in the upstairs suite with a great porch and hot tub overlooking Tim's amazing gardens. Each morning, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast that Tim prepared fresh from his kitchen. Often, the bananas that he grows in his yard were served in the dish. Delicious! Tim is a great host. He is as kind as his house is wonderful! I would return to to the Grand Bayou Noir in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The hot tub suite is charming!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is perhaps the most magical b&b I've ever stayed at filled with warmth and hospitality. It's a place you can quickly settle into and make yourself at home. The lush grounds are filled with tropicals, fruit trees and flowering vines and some of the biggest oaks I've every seen. I found myself wanting to sit on the screen in porch or in one of the many tucked away seating areas on the property any chance I could. it's not that the house or things are perfect, it's that they're the perfect combination of being lived in, historic and comfortable while you still have all the amenities you need and want while traveling (like a flat screen tv in your room, breakfast, excellent beds). Speaking of, I'm a bed snob and the beds are so comfortable, pillow top with perfect firmness, enough linens and a high count sheets - all downright luxurious. This place is a perfect combination of sophisticated, romantic and family friendly. The judge and his wife are lovely, down to earth and gracious. I can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely bed and breakfast. The bed was plush. We were in the suite upstairs in the garden house. The gentleman who lives there (caretaker) was wonderful talking to since he had alot in common with my son who loves to trap and tan raccoons. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews