We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful and Enchanting B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bayou Noir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Bayou Noir
Ranked #2 of 8 Houma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful and Enchanting B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is perhaps the most magical b&b I've ever stayed at filled with warmth and hospitality. It's a place you can quickly settle into and make yourself at home. The lush grounds are filled with tropicals, fruit trees and flowering vines and some of the biggest oaks I've every seen. I found myself wanting to sit on the screen in porch or in one of the many tucked away seating areas on the property any chance I could. it's not that the house or things are perfect, it's that they're the perfect combination of being lived in, historic and comfortable while you still have all the amenities you need and want while traveling (like a flat screen tv in your room, breakfast, excellent beds). Speaking of, I'm a bed snob and the beds are so comfortable, pillow top with perfect firmness, enough linens and a high count sheets - all downright luxurious. This place is a perfect combination of sophisticated, romantic and family friendly. The judge and his wife are lovely, down to earth and gracious. I can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
49
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely bed and breakfast. The bed was plush. We were in the suite upstairs in the garden house. The gentleman who lives there (caretaker) was wonderful talking to since he had alot in common with my son who loves to trap and tan raccoons. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Grand Bayou Noir is one of the most beautiful bed and breakfast we've stayed in. The suite was very clean with antique furniture. The yard is beautiful with a variety of lush tropical plants, fruit trees, and lovely oak trees. Judge Tim was very gracious and friendly, made a great breakfast.
We highly recommend Grand Bayou Noir, it is gorgeous and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days with my family and absolutely loved it. A truly authentic experience with all the old charm and hospitality that you could hope for. It's set back just a stone throw from the bayou with gorgeous oak trees covering the sprawling grounds. The proprietors were warm welcoming and made incredible local breakfasts. The boudin and grits were amazing. It's may not be for the Four Seasons/ spa crowd, but it was the most romantic, lovely old place I've ever had the pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We came for a family reunion. Using all three rooms, we were able to make the place our own, and the proprietors made us feel completely welcome. The home is a true home, as natural and uncommercial as you could hope for. The setting among the live oaks is classic, and the breakfasts are to die for.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Where else can you pull up to and even before you get to your room be offered freshly boiled crawfish and a cold beer? Timmy aka The Judge was a wonderful host - and the room that we had "The Gardenier" was one of the most beautiful rooms I've ever stayed in (and I started off my trip at the Ritz Carlton in NOLA) - so I have something to compare it to....and the breakfast, I felt like I was at a five star restaurant - absolutely delicious and beautifully presented

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

While road tripping through Louisiana for my son's 13th birthday we stumbled across this beautiful bed & breakfast. It was stunning!! They had just hosted a wedding and a reunion and the decorations were still hanging and it seemed almost as if walking through a dream. The Eco system in place made it a visual explosion of a down to earth and homely experience. The rooms were incredibly put together, cozy and comfortable and it really showed off Louisiana's perfection. Friendly and hospitable owners, they made our trip just that much better with stories of exotic travels and their journey to where they are. :) thanks guys!! We will never forget, and remember, if I EVER get married, that's where it's gonna happen!! :) xoxo

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinCalebCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houma hotels
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Houma
Courtyard Houma
#7 of 19 in Houma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Houma Southeast
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Houma
Hampton Inn Houma
#6 of 19 in Houma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Houma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bayou Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bayou Noir

Property: Grand Bayou Noir
Address: 1143 Bayou Black Dr, Houma, LA 70360-7508
Location: United States > Louisiana > Houma
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Houma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast and wedding venue ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing