We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"A great place to stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bayou Noir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Bayou Noir
Save
You added Grand Bayou Noir to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 8 Houma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helotes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A great place to stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Grand Bayou Noir is one of the most beautiful bed and breakfast we've stayed in. The suite was very clean with antique furniture. The yard is beautiful with a variety of lush tropical plants, fruit trees, and lovely oak trees. Judge Tim was very gracious and friendly, made a great breakfast.
We highly recommend Grand Bayou Noir, it is gorgeous and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
46
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days with my family and absolutely loved it. A truly authentic experience with all the old charm and hospitality that you could hope for. It's set back just a stone throw from the bayou with gorgeous oak trees covering the sprawling grounds. The proprietors were warm welcoming and made incredible local breakfasts. The boudin and grits were amazing. It's may not be for the Four Seasons/ spa crowd, but it was the most romantic, lovely old place I've ever had the pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We came for a family reunion. Using all three rooms, we were able to make the place our own, and the proprietors made us feel completely welcome. The home is a true home, as natural and uncommercial as you could hope for. The setting among the live oaks is classic, and the breakfasts are to die for.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Where else can you pull up to and even before you get to your room be offered freshly boiled crawfish and a cold beer? Timmy aka The Judge was a wonderful host - and the room that we had "The Gardenier" was one of the most beautiful rooms I've ever stayed in (and I started off my trip at the Ritz Carlton in NOLA) - so I have something to compare it to....and the breakfast, I felt like I was at a five star restaurant - absolutely delicious and beautifully presented

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

While road tripping through Louisiana for my son's 13th birthday we stumbled across this beautiful bed & breakfast. It was stunning!! They had just hosted a wedding and a reunion and the decorations were still hanging and it seemed almost as if walking through a dream. The Eco system in place made it a visual explosion of a down to earth and homely experience. The rooms were incredibly put together, cozy and comfortable and it really showed off Louisiana's perfection. Friendly and hospitable owners, they made our trip just that much better with stories of exotic travels and their journey to where they are. :) thanks guys!! We will never forget, and remember, if I EVER get married, that's where it's gonna happen!! :) xoxo

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinCalebCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Ranch, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I were traveling with my parents. We all had a great experience at the Grand Bayou Noir. First thing Tim invited to hang out on the back patio to enjoy some adult beverages and some good conversation. Got to like that Coca Cola cooler! Breakfast was very good as well. We were lucky to have the last bit of fresh squeezed orange juice for the season. The rest of the breakfast was just as excellent. We highly recommend this B&B, the house, grounds and service were exceptional!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deestu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanterre
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We are two French couples who stayed at Grand Bayou Noir B&B one night in March. It was just a wonderfull stay. Spacious rooms with typical Louisiana furnitures, very nice host. On the morning we got an amazing breakfast with fresh fruits from the garden, crawfish omelette,....
Thanks for the warm welcome we received.
We strongly recommand Grand Bayou Noir B&B.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GillesB274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houma
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
4.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Houma
2.0 mi away
Plantation Inn
Plantation Inn
#14 of 20 in Houma
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houma
16.3 mi away
Carmel Inn and Suites
Carmel Inn and Suites
#1 of 5 in Thibodaux
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Houma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bayou Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bayou Noir

Property: Grand Bayou Noir
Address: 1143 Bayou Black Dr, Houma, LA 70360-7508
Location: United States > Louisiana > Houma
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Houma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast and wedding venue ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing