We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Dave's Cajun Kitchen
Ranked #91 of 198 Restaurants in Houma
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My grandmother loves this place. I always get the shrimp po-boy. There's nothing special about it. I liked the salad I got here one time. The staff is friendly. The restaurant has charm to it. It's kind of small.

Helpful?
Thank Sydney477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
609 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Not worth stopping for.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We made a visit to Houma to see the Venice on the Bayou as the AAA book let us know. It has many bridges that are basically going over a ditch and there is only one visible river rolling along. We followed the recommendation from the book and the result was impressive as were the bridges.

It was a warm day and Dave's was cooled down, it fact we need to move twice to find a spot where cold air was not direclty blowing on us.

It was a lunch stop so my wife order a bowl of etoffee and I ordered one of the daily specials (catfish). The soup was thick, salty and unimpressive. The catfish was fried hard with tastless mash potatoes and boiled peas. Because I was hungry, I was able to eat the fish, a little of the potatoes and a spoonful or two of peas.

Not a good advertisement for Cajun cuisine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“First visit to a Cajun restaurant”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A very positive experience. The food was very good and the waitress was very attentive and friendly, with just the right touch of Cajun conviviality.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cajun in a down-home style”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Definitely not fine dining! Cavernous room with plastic covered tabletops but the Cajun cooking was great!

Try the pick 3 - catfish was superb, fried oysters and stuffed crab were very tasty - not greasy or overly breaded. Chicken sausage gumbo was just what we had hoped it would be!

If you want authentic Cajun and don't care about ambiance, this is the place. Watch carefully when driving as you will miss it the first time past, and with Houma's one way street system flanking the Bayous, it's easy to get lost!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoPoodlelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Local Eatery with Energy”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Not totally our cup of tea, but take a breath and choose wisely and enjoy Houma & it's food. Waitress must have been related as she she looked and acted miserable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeans163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dave's Cajun Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing