We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go on a rainy day”

Annie Miller's Son's Swamp and Marsh Tours
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Houma
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't go on a rainy day”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Called in the afternoon and we were able to get booked on the evening tour. The weather was raining on and off all day. We waited for 45 minutes before he finally decided to take us out. He made us drive from the original meeting place to a community park where he brought the boat. The boat was nice and spacious. We loaded up and headed out. As soon as we were moving Jimmy started explaining about the area, what we were seeing and where we were going. He is very knowledgable of the area and the aligators. We heard him say several times " I usually go slower but..." or "I usually spend more time here but..." Because of the weather he rushed through the tour. We only saw 3 aligators and we were back in in only 45 minutes but still got charged full price. Very dissappointed bucause I had heard a lot of good things about the tour and could tell the he was an expert on the area. If the weather is good go for the tour. If not find something else to do.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank p1tax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    15
    2
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best two hours in Louisiana”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We took the 10:00am tour in July and found the heat and humidity to be of no real inconvenience. Just wear a hat and put on your sunblock, and you'll be fine. The boat is open, no canopy for shade, but the guide is careful to not let you swelter in the sun and moves along smartly to help you cool off.

Jimmy Miller, our guide and Annie's son, has a depth of knowledge of the bayous, marshes and swamps, their flora and fauna, that is inexhaustible and vastly entertaining. He delivers it with a sense of humor and an obvious love for the area and its culture that more guides should show. Ask him anything - he's immensely patient and clearly enjoys sharing his store of swamp lore with his guests. And he has named the biggest and best gators and they come when he calls. You'll run out of space on your digital camera before you run out of things to video.

The area for the tour is part bayou, part swamp waterway, and part marshland. It's mostly located within the Mandalay National Wildlife Refuge, and although it isn't completely untouched by human hands (they issue hunting permits for the alligators) you can still get the feel of a water wilderness. The flowers, birds and alligators are spectacular, and the use of a boat lets you get up close and personal with them. It's a wonderful experience for you and your kids, and is only $15 per person. Don't forget a nice tip for the guide. He does this three times a day, all week long.

The tour starts from a restaurant named Bayou Delight, and the Annie Miller sign across the road needs some repair, so watch closely for it. The restaurant is just ok for lunch, but does have cold beer and a fairly complete Louisiana menu.

Don't miss this tour. You'll remember it and Jimmy for a long time. Someone else called it a "moving classroom", and my wife and I agree.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank HCtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, mi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great swmap tour”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We booked the tour at the end of the day with my family which was a good idea because gators start to have activities in the evening. The tour was great : the tour guide did not look at his watch and we spent almost 3 hours in the swamp ! A lot of animals, trees and obviously some amazing gators ! The last one (Robert) was pretty big and we were very impressed when the guide fed him close to the boat.
I definitively recommend this tour.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grenoblemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, TX
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Learned a lot and had a nice time”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We learned quite a bit about swampers and the things they do. Friendly guide. Saw gators, bald eagles, many birds and learned a lot about the swamp/marsh/bayou.

This is not a "go fast" air boat ride, this is a moving classroom.

Kids now watch Swamp People on tv and love it when they show Houma since we've been there and in that same part of the swamp!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank saholleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I have went on this tour 4 times now and love it each time. It cost 15 per person with small children free. The tour guide is Annie's son and he is very friendly and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this tour if you are travelling to New Orleans.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pdau75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie Miller's Son's Swamp and Marsh Tours also viewed

 

Been to Annie Miller's Son's Swamp and Marsh Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing