We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Kirin Sushi

Kirin Sushi
Ranked #20 of 160 Restaurants in Hammond
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Friendly waitress. Sushi rolls were good. Really enjoyed the East Thomas roll. Sashimi was pricey---didn't order any because of that. Roll prices were comparable with our favorite sushi place back home. Would have liked to have a small side salad with ginger dressing, but didn't see one available. Clear soup was good.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 67 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2015

Mostly an adult crowd when I was there, which was after six. The sushi was OK, but nothing spectacular.

Date of visit: March 2015
Thank mrysmth100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2015

Kirins is local for me and great for all occasions. it has almost become my "go to" place for meetings, gatherings and reunions. You have a choice of the the bar, the Habachi Grill, the Sushi bar or the Cocktail bar upstairs. There is something for everyone. The owners are usually mingling with guests and are very easy to talk to. I enjoy the atmosphere and the service. Staff are friendly for the most part. On occasion you may experience a snooty staff member, but certainly do not let that ruin a good time. The food is exceptional for the local area and I enjoy sampling new sushi recipes. Bar staff is always willing to try something new. Can't say much for the Cocktail Bar and cocktail hour as I have never stayed in the one place long enough to appreciate it. If you love to mingle, this is a good place to be. Oh and for the traditional foodie, they do have a traditional seating area where you can be served.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iMunyque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015

We were a party of five on a Monday evening. We waited a few minutes for the waitress - the wait was longer than most, but it wasn't excessive. Once we finally ordered, we waited even longer. We ordered appetizers, soup, and sushi. The waitress brought the soup, so we asked about the appetizers. From the look on her face, we knew she had forgotten them. After another wait, our sushi arrived with the appetizers just behind. Not good. We sent the appetizers back because we had waited all that time without food. We finished a rather mediocre meal and asked for the check. We were not pleased that the waitress had added gratuity for our party of five. Needless to say, we won't return.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hawk985345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2015

This restaurant is great for lunch as well as dinner and cocktails! never had a bad meal from here. I have enjoyed it all, The Habachi grill, the sushi bar, the cocktail hour and the regular bar.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank iMunyque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kirin Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing