We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, accomodating service”
Review of Trey Yuen

Trey Yuen
Ranked #90 of 138 Restaurants in Hammond
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food, accomodating service”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We came with a group of 10 5th graders and parents for lunch during a science fair being held nearby. Food was good, service was good, price was good. They gave us a back room which was nice. Food wasn't over the top or so great that I would pick this restaurant over others in the future. I was expecting better food from what others had described. But it was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    10
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We recently visited Trey Yeun and were delighted with the quality of our food. After reading a couple negative reviews from last year, I can't help but wonder what the problems were. We have been there many times and have never been disappointed. Being a creature of habit, I've always ordered the shrimp in lobster sauce. This time I switched to the mandarin chicken and was amazed at what I've been missing. It was the best I've ever had and the portion so large I could only eat half of my dinner with the remainder making my next day lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New orleans
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside of the building fool you.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This restaurant has been in Hammond forever but the food is not what it use to be.

The interior of the dining room is old and needs a coat of paint. The service was slow to the point I had to leave the table to find a waiter. We dined on a Thursday night where the lunch menu is the main feature. The egg rolls are filled with cabbage only (like what is served at the all you can eat chinese buffet). They serve on small plates that is half covered with fried rice and the rest is the entree. Three orders of the Double Happiness were brought to our table. The complaint with this dish is the lack of meat and shrimp in it.

We will not be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Trey Yuen is our favorite "order from the menu" Chinese restaurant. They have been in Hammond and Mandeville for years and are always busy. Every Monday they serve meals from the lunch menu for dinner at the lunch prices. Guaranteed you won't leave hungry! The helpings are humongous and delicious.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Trey Yuen was disappointing with Chewy Chewy Chicken”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Being new to this area, I was curious to Trey Yuen. The size of the restaurant impressed me from the outside. I liked it even more inside with its serene interiors and that they did not have a buffet. I was glad that here was a restaurant willing to break the mold of buffet style Chinese restaurant one finds all over the country. The lunch menu was a simple laminated yellow pamphlet, but I did not let myself be discouraged by that. The waiter encouraged me to get the Choo Choo Chicken. So I got that along with the wonton soup. The soup was good. But the Choo Choo Chicken was fried chicken nuggets topped with a sweet and spicy (more sweet than spicy) sauce and fried rice. Now, if I want to have fried chicken nuggets, I would go to McDonald's and not Tery Yuen. And to make matters worse, the chicken nuggets were chewy. I was seriously disappointed in the food despite going in with high expectations of having authentic Chinese food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rahul_d_chatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trey Yuen also viewed

 

Been to Trey Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing