We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hammond
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Hammond
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Traveling through”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stopped in for the night while traveling home from Texas. This holiday inn was by far the nicest that we've had the pleasure of visiting. We always stay at holiday inns or holiday in express. Very pleased. Restaurant was awesome, front desk wonderful. Rooms clean, up to date.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so very much for that kind review. Our guests' mean the world to us and we do our best to reflect that in our performance, attitude, and service. It says volumes about a person's character when they take the time to complete a positive review when they could simply just be satisfied that their needs and comfort were met. We appreciate it when all of our guests take that extra step so much so that to just say,"Thank you" hardly seems enough.

We hope to see you again real soon!

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    29
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
40
28
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pocola, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stopped here on our way home from Florida, hotel is very nice and clean.
They don't have a free breakfast but do have a nice looking restaurant available.
Platinum priority member so we stay at a lot of HI and this is a good one with great southern hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffani243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank You very much for your kind review. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations at every opportunity, so when someone takes the time to write such a nice review...we really appreaciate it.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Gretchen, you should at least offer a continental breakfast if you aren't going to include breakfast with the room. 11 bucks for breakfast is ridiculous, your not in Paris. Snooty staff who don't realize they have work because of people like me. Will skip this town next time I come through.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crispy770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We had at one time thought about including the full hot breakfast buffet to the room rate across the board, but were advised against it. We do have some rates that are sold online that include breakfast...just not all.

We put a full hot breakfast and a continental breakfast out for that price, as well as having a substantial menu in which to make a selection from.

As for the "snooty employee", I apologize and that behavior is never tolerated. If you would like to contact me directly, I would be more than happy to get further details and address that situation.

Warm regards,
Gretchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Reasonably priced, clean, quiet rooms and great location. A really nice property. You're a half mile from I12 (East/West) and 2 miles from I55 (North/South). Huge mall across the street and 8 minutes from SLU and the restaurant/entertainment area of Hammond. This is the place to stay. This is the only place I'd stay. The other hotels in town and lower end budget hotels and nowhere near as nice.I'd put this on the same level as the newest version or recently upgraded Courtyard.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Field T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for that kind review. It is humbling as well as gratifying as a hotelier to receive such warm and detailed praise. Our team strives to provide exceptional service as well as product and we are glad to have achieved our goals during your stay.

Our location is prime and we are glad you not only recognized that fact, but went so far as to detail it by locations in the area for other travelors. That was an extremely helpful and considerate thing to do.

If I can ever be of assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest regards,

Gretchen M. Twickler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The check in was fast and the staff member was very friendly. He tried to find an additional discount for my stay and was more than helpful. The room was spacious. I heard some upstairs noises as other guests walked above me, but it wasn't enough to keep me awake. Great value for the quality. The restaurant downstairs was also nice; super service from staff (hostess seemed a little timid, though). I look forward to being a regular when I'm in Hammond.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcy4221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of our Hotel. We strive to provide exceptional service as well as product. We are glad when our guests' stay reflects those efforts enough for them to put it in writing.

We look forward to serving your lodging needs again in the future. If I can ever be of service to you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest regards,

Gretchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Mike was great when we checked in last night, offered coupons. Nice, clean modern. Only thing I noticel was quite a bit of trash on the grounds outside. Good prices on food and livations at the bar but a free breakfast would have been nice. I will recomend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limoflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for the very kind review! It is our goal to provide exceptional service as well as product and (with the exception of the exterior trash issue) we are glad we met our goal with you.

We share your concern on curb appeal....and are addressing that very issue with our new maintenance staff.

Warmest regards,

Gretchen Twickler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This a newer Holiday Inn, It isn't too much different than the other newer Holiday Inn Properties that have been built recently, which isn't a bad thing at all. The rooms are clean and spacious, comfortable beds. Right near interstate and restaurants.

Pros:
Clean and Maintained
Rooms are Spacious and Modern (new tvs, etc)
Big Bathroom
Nice Staff

Negative:
As stupid as this sounds, the beds need bigger pillows. The mini pillows were awkward.
You have to pay for breakfast, which is an average breakfast buffet.
Not a huge thing, but I was not recognized as a Priority Member and did not receive any perks that I have received at other hotels. Friends that were not Priority Members recieved free breakfast and free drinks.

It was a great stay and if I am in the area, will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I will definitely pass your comments onto Housekeeping regarding the pillows. We are going with larger pillows in the near future.

I am sorry that the clerks did not recognize your priority club status. That is a HUGE error that we will make sure to address.

If I can ever be of assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest regards,

Gretchen Twickler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hammond hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hammond
Courtyard Hammond
#5 of 17 in Hammond
86 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hammond
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hammond
Hampton Inn Hammond
#1 of 17 in Hammond
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Hammond
Comfort Inn Hammond
#3 of 17 in Hammond
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Hammond
Days Inn Hammond
#7 of 17 in Hammond
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hammond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hammond

Property: Holiday Inn Hammond
Address: 1819 SW Railroad Ave, Hammond, LA 70403-6117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hammond 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors can enjoy the unique charm of a historic Louisiana city when they stay at the Holiday Inn(R) Hammond, Hammond's only Full Service Hotel. Hammond is situated at the intersection of I-12 and I-55, placing both Baton Rouge and New Orleans within easy reach.Our location in Hammond ensures that guests have many ways to enjoy themselves. We are located right across Railroad Avenue from Hammond Square Mall and just a 2 minute from the Downtown Area. The hotel is a quick 5 minute drive down I-12 from Hammond's new Chappapeela Sports Park. Architecture enthusiasts can venture downtown to Hammond's historic district and stroll amongst the weathered brick buildings while shopping. History buffs can visit the Tangipahoa African American Heritage Museum, a stop on the Louisiana African American Heritage Trail. Golfers can enjoy the sculpted greens at the nearby Carter Plantation golf course. Hammond is also home to Southeastern Louisiana University and the Columbia Theatre.Business travelers should take advantage of the hotel's property as well. North Oaks Medical Center is just minutes away, as are many other Hammond businesses. The hotel's corporate travelers can easily take advantage of the 3,000 square feet of meeting space, with projectors and sound systems. We also have copy and fax services available in our 24 hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hammond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore Hotel Hammond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing