We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better!”
Review of The Holly Bush Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenhaugh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenhaugh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We booked a night at the holly bush after reading the reviews on trip advisor, first impression were good, after a little confusion we were shown to our room which was cold and felt very unwelcoming as it was pouring down outside and we had just travelled for three hours in the car, the sash windows in the room we were staying in did not have any fasteners and therefor did not shut properly so we could hear cars etc passing and the draft was pretty bad, we ended up leaving the curtains closed most of our stay.
The food was good but we weren't made to feel welcome or wanted in the eating area and so we left quickly after eating our meal
Our room was nicely decorated but full of cobwebs! my daughter found popcorn on her bed sheets! and no TV remote!
I think the Holly bush in could be a fantastic place if it was finished off to a better standard!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T81083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHollyBushInn, Owner at The Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

I am disappointed that you did not feel very welcome when you came and the room was cold. We have a check in time of 4pm midweek and our lights and heating are all geared up to be warm and welcoming. The confusion arose because you arrived early and the chef tried to check you in rather than leave you outside in the car which can hardly be classed as 'unwelcoming'. I honestly think we are probably the friendliest little pub in Northumberland and to say you were made to feel unwelcome and unwanted when you were eating just confuses me. You said you left quickly after eating your meal which is such a shame as it can be a nice way to end your evening chatting in the bar.
The cobwebs, oh the cobwebs - as its such an old building we are all on 'cobweb alert' and yet they still manage to weave one over us...As regards to the popcorn on the bed, for this I truly apologise as this is not good enough for an establishment which has just been awarded a Certificate of Excellence for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 289 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

Early May saw 8 of us staying at the Holly Bush Inn for a weekend. We were having our first "Drive Out" this year with our cars. Not knowing the area, I did rely on Tripadvisor for choosing this Inn. We were not disappointed, what a find. The Inn is situated in the heart of Northumberland, great place for walkers, cyclist and lazy motorist like our group. Keider lake and forest were just a couple of miles away and easy access to Hadrian's Wall. However, the best part of the weekend was staying at the Holly Bush. It is an English pub with rooms. The place has so much character and atmosphere. Staff and owner were lovely people, and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were on the small side, but hey this place is hundreds of years old, and they did not make them large in those days. People were smaller anyway, but the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable. Food was more than the normal pub grub, well presented and well cooked.
If you like your beer, you'll love this place too. The Holly Bush will be visited again, hopefully, we can still get a reservation.
Graham S
Malvern UK

Room Tip: Go for the Grey room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stozzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We made an emergency, last minute reservation here one evening as I could not face another cold sleepness night in a tent and did not regret it. The room we had was excellent - very comfortable and nicely decorated. There was a double bed and also a single so would heve fitted a family of 3 nicely. The bathroom was a bit small (thin) but I guess in such an old building you have to make allowances. Nice touches are the bottles of soap and shamppo in the bathroom: so much nicer than little sachets etc. I was a bit surprised to see they had a couple of real glasses on the table in the bathroom. I knocked one off in the middle of the night and luckily it did not break but it would have a pain (maybe literally!) if it had. My wife claims to have seen a couple of cobwebs in the bathroom The sound insulation seems to be very good. It was a Friday night and the pub was quite busy but despite that the room was very quiet and I spelt like a log.
We had to leave at stupid o'clock in the morning so sadly did not get to sample the breakfast. We did however have a drink in the bar before bed and found it to be very convivial.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hepatacyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst going to a wedding . Room was lovely with all the comfort you needed. Brill shower ! Host was very welcoming and accommodating.

Only word of warning is it is a beautiful old building which does mean you can hear noise from other rooms. Lots of creaky floor boards - added to our experience but imagine others may be deterred by this.

Couldn't get TV to work in room but in all honesty why would you need a TV when in such amazing natural surroundings!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Laalaa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We ate at the Holly Bush back in 2009, so made a point of returning (twice) during our 2014 holiday (I have no experience of the rooms, just the food!)

The inn is in the small village of Greenhaugh, with parking on the road outside and also a few "off road" spaces across the road. As it's not a through road the pub is quiet, however if you visit on a Friday or Saturday I would still recommend reserving a table, as dining space is quite limited.

The bar is situated in the larger of the 2 rooms, and there are 3 or 4 tables in the 2nd room.

The staff were really friendly, the beer was served with a smile, and the food was hot, tasty and home cooked. 2 courses for 2 with drinks came to under £40 both times.

We have found that the choices for eating around the Keilder area are relatively limited, and having been disappointed elsewhere, we would certainly recommend the Holly Bush as the best that we've tried.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Old_Nottinghamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have visited this pub many times. It is quite unique. We see an earlier review describing it as a canteen. They must be joking. There are no canteens like this. This is a small, friendly, country pub in a beautiful village. The main bar has an historic range burning logs with casual tables and chairs. The staff are welcoming and it is a real gem. Something special for a pint or a home cooked meal. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Very small traditional Northumbrian village pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheelagh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have just returned from two nights at The Holly Bush and the tranquility of rural Northumberland. Great pub, good food, friendly staff and locals. Shame it is two and a half hours travel door to door, otherwise we would be back on a regular basis.
You are doing everything right so please don't change.

Room Tip: Only saw the one room but from what we saw on the website any would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenhaugh
7.5 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
7.6 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
19.4 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
580 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 11 in Rothbury
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Bush Inn

Address: Greenhaugh, Northumberland National Park NE48 1PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Greenhaugh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenhaugh
Price Range: $108 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holly Bush Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A proper little country pub with award winning accommodation. We are located in the beautiful Northumberland National Park and we have some of the DARKEST SKIES in England. We are very close to Kielder Water and Observatory, Hadrian's Wall, Alnwick Gardens and the Coast. There are some beautiful walks that start from the pub including an ancient BASTLE trail. We have 2 family rooms and also welcome well behaved dogs. Whether you are coming to the area to walk, cycle, star gaze or just relax we can assure you of a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hollybush Hotel Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing