We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn New Orleans West Bank Tower
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Gretna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveler rating
117
121
57
22
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
121
57
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsround housenew orleansfrench quarterfront deskbar and grillhotel restaurantwest bankroad noiseattached restaurantlight sleepersink areatop floora great staywould stay here againacross the riveroutdoor poolbourbon street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 339 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked this hotel for a pre - cruise overnight stay for 6 in November.The hotel is about 30 miles from the airport, a $35-$40 taxi ride. We arrived two hours prior to the stated check in time, and were pleased to find that our rooms were ready. The front desk staff were very kind and helpful, and more than willing to aid us in any way needed. The rooms were very clean,and the beds were comfortable. There's a restaurantnd and bar on site ,which is good, because there are no places to eat within walking distance. We took the Algiers Point Ferry, which is free , across to the riverwalk area of New Orleans. You can't walk to the ferry port, and the taxi ride from the hotel to the ferry was $10.00. It's $21.00 to take a taxi directly to the riverwalk area from the hotel and $25.00 per couple from the hotel to the cruise terminal. I think that a rental car would be a good thing if you planned on staying at this hotel during a visit to New Orleans. Overall, we had a good pre-cruise stay. Check out was smooth and easy, and the front desk staff will get you a taxi whenever needed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are more quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaVonya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnWestbank, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans West Bank Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Ahoy Matey - we so love hearing from our valued cruise guests!! Thanks for your great feedback.

We thank you for choosing us and for sharing your review with the tripadvisor community.

We do hope your travels will bring you back to our area soon at that we can again provide the excellent service you experienced during your last trip.

Very Best,

Dustin Floyd
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you have a rental car this hotel give you close access to all of the action like the dome, french quarter, canal. It is not in walking distance and the immediate surrondings are not for your entertainment. You can however get a fair price on a clean room. check was a breeze, housekeeping response was good as well. Very small bathroom, but the overall size of the room is good. We enjoyed our stay, beds were small but comfortable, I think they were standard beds but easily fit 2 people. They were having a ball of some kind while we were there and music was loud. We heard nothing from the party downstairs while in our room. Have a car for sight seeing, definitely try the Gumbo Pot, stroll Decatur St and surronding areas. Mardi Gras was awesome.

Room Tip: You don't need a view the surronding area is nothing to look at.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnWestbank, . at Holiday Inn New Orleans West Bank Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during 2013 Super Bowl weekend. Overall, our experience at the Holiday Inn West Bank was very positive, yet there were a couple of things to be aware of when staying at this hotel. Although on the older side, we found the hotel to be very clean and the staff was outwardly courteous and helpful. The common areas and the rooms actually smelled good! Whatever air freshener they use, it actually works! There was a nice size refrigerator in the room; yet we were a little disappointed with no microwave. No safe deposit box in the room, but they do have them behind the front desk (individual key and 24/7 access) which worked just fine. The fitness room was small, but adequate. The restaurant was probably a 5 on a scale of 1 to 10. Plentiful food, but average quality. If you're just looking for something to eat after a night in the French Quarter, the restaurant is more than adequate; however, if you're looking for a good staeak or seafood dinner, this isn't the place. Room service was slow and the food was cold. Overall, given the friendly staff and the cleanliness of the place, our experience at the hotel was above average/very good.

That said, if you stay on the West Bank (without a car), plan on spending some money on transportation. It's a $45 cab ride each way to/from the airport. The Algiers Ferry is your best option to get into the City. The ferry is free and runs every 15 minutes, but it's a $10 cab ride to the terminal. The flat fare (Westside Cab) to anywhere Downtown/French Quarter was $21. Over 5 days, we spent over $200 in cab fares.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the River
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnWestbank, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans West Bank Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! Your feedback has been shared with our staff members in recent meetings and your comments will only help us to improve. I do hope that after we have corresponded via private message you feel that your message was received and that we went the extra mile to earn your business in the future. We take the comfort of our guests very seriously and hope you can see that in how we conduct business.

Again, thanks so much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best,

Dustin Floyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I must admitt we stayed here as part of a Super Bowl package, having mistakenly thought we would be at the Holiday Inn French Quarter. When we found out our mistake and read some of the reviews and noted the surrounding neighborhood and proximetry to the Fischer Development area, we tried unsuccessfully to change. However, we were pleasantly surprised at how well things went. First of all, the front desk folks were ever so nice to us. Our room was modern and clean. Spotless! Ceramic tile in the bathroom and granite countertops. Nice linens and pillows. The room was cleaned every day. Although the cost through the package was outrageous (hey, it was Super Bowl and everyone jacks up prices), the employees at the hotel really took care of us. The room was a bit noisy due to its proximetry to the freeway. The immediate surroundings of the hotel were completely safe and we went back and forth to NOLA by cab and bus charter. We never felt close to any danger. We did not try the on-site restaurant. If you choose to stay in Gretna, LA, I would recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Knotoncall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnWestbank, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans West Bank Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Superbowl was so much fun for all of our staff members due to the fantastic guest we had the privilege of serving from all over the US. We had 49ers fans, Ravens fan, and general football fans and our goal was for them to leave as Holiday Inn Westbank fans. I'm so proud that we can count you in that number.

Thanks so much for highlighting both the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our guestrooms. These are some of the most important guest impact areas and we work extra hard to ensure we offer our most friendly service and the cleanest rooms possible. Again, thanks for noticing.

I do hope you got to experience some of the special event happenings we had going on at our property during Superbowl weekend. The traditional New Orleans 2nd Line / Jazz Welcome was a huge success and I had a ball dancing with my umbrella around the lobby. That's not something I get to do every afternoon!

Sorry you didn't have a chance to dine with us in the Roundhouse. We just instituted a seasonal menu change and have added additional New Orleans fare. We also just expanded our Breakfast Buffet to include fresh baked Cinnamon Rolls which I have to admit I have already sampled too many of.

Thanks again for your review and your business. We know you had plenty of lodging options in our city and consider it an honor that you chose us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Dustin Floyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not wanting to be in the midst of the busy and expensive French Quarter, we selected the Holiday Inn across the river in Gretna. By taking the free ferry (for individuals) and parking next to the ferry in Algiers, you go across the river and land right by the French Quarter. You do not want to drive in the French Quarter! The ferry runs every 15 minutes. The plan was to get a room to see the New Year's Eve fireworks in New Orleans. Surprise! They were too far away, but there was a massive fireworks display right outside our window which was put on by the military folks in the area. Just fantastic.
The staff of the hotel are very helpful. The Round House restaurant next door can be a little sporadic when it comes to service, but it is convenient and breakfast is free to Priority Club members. Parking is free and plentiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river and New Orleans.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentucky1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnWestbank, General Manager at Holiday Inn New Orleans West Bank Tower, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Greetings to you sir and all of our guests checking out the French Quarter on their visit to our city. We appreciate you taking time out to let guests know about how convenient we are to the sites and sounds of one of America's treasures - The New Orleans French Quarter. The free passenger ferry is a terrific option that gets you right down in the heart of the action without having to worry about where to park downtown. Personally it is my preferred mode of transport when I venture into the Quarter.

Also thanks for you great comments on our facilities and our personnel. Although our facilities are great it is our people that truly make the difference. I am biased but I do believe I have the honor of working with the friendliest group of hospitality professionals in the city.

Thanks again for your business and your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon!

All the best,

Dustin Floyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews