We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly run motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gretna
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my mother and will not be staying here again. While the staff members were pleasant and friendly, we did not get the suite we had booked, so we ended up in a standard double which was lackluster in appearance and decorum. It was on the second floor far from the main lobby, as opposed to the suite that would have been right above the main lobby, easing the accessible distance for my mom with painful physical ailments. The only elevator smelled so badly of motor oil and BO that we opted to use the stairs in spite of the pains my mom suffered.
The complimentary breakfast provided daily was nice and simple, located in the main lobby which had more attractive decor than any other part of the motel. Even when looking for simplicity, I prefer my accommodations more on the "updated" side in style, decor and reliability of the space reserved.

Room Tip: The suites are the most convenient and best maintained rooms. I wouldn't stay in a standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 455 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The hotel was very busy but I had asked if we could upgrade on the first day as we needed a fridge. Sorry, no, maybe in a couple days. I was not thrilled where our room was located as it was at the far end of the hallway. After a couple days, I asked again to transfer to a room with a fridge, it seemed like they didn't want to do it but did it anyway. Also, when we asked if there was a transit system near by, no one knew. I would have thought that hotel employees would be able to answer these kind of questions. Breakfast left alot to be desired.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eliza s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The room was disgusting. We only stayed one night so that we could go to a Saint's game. Thank goodness because I wouldn't have lasted much longer than a night. The room was not clean. There was a loogie in the sink (or so I assume it was, it was yellowish and gooey). There was toothpaste left on the towel. The bathroom floor had pubic hair everywhere. The shower head was extremely low. The beds were hard. The cable continuously went in and out. The elevator smelled like death.... it was just a terrible stay, ESPECIALLY for the money spent. I would never recommend this stay to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

First room smelled strongly of urine. We switched to a second room and it smelled the same. It was also a bad area that made us worry that our cars would be broken into even with the roaming security guard. We emptied our cars into the room just to feel safer. Staff was frindly though. Something needs to be done to bring this lication up to normal La Quinta standards.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Ryanslloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Unfortunately after receiving great customer service at check in I was a bit dissapointed with the overall stay. Customer service was good through the three days I stayed and they did clean my room each day, but the hotel itself needed some cleaning up. My room had a very odd odor as soon as I walked in as if it had been cleaned with dirty water. I was hoping to utilize the pool and there was a decent pool but the pool area including the pool was dirty my entire stay. The iron in my room did not work well, but was changed out when I left a note with housekeepking. Breakfast was the usual LQ breakfast setup so no real complaints there. With their great customer service if they clean the place up it could be a really decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosHinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, Texas, USA
2
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I are several times a year visitors to the New Orleans Westbank area and we would not stay at any other hotel but LaQuina in Gretna. Staff is always friendly and helpful and cleanliness of rooms are tops! We always enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Breese, Illinois, USA
1
Reviewed August 26, 2012

everything was great,staff,room and location.when i go back that's my place.i do wish they would have a larger menu.need more food for breakfest like egg's bacon,bisket's gravy.a hot breakfest would make the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#104 of 166 in New Orleans
172 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
306 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#66 of 166 in New Orleans
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna

Address: 50 Terry Pkwy, Gretna, LA 70056-2564
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: $82 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for making La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank your New Orleans Lodging choice. We're sure you have made a great one! You will enjoy our complimentary breakfast, free internet, free parking and new 32 Inch flat Screen Samsung TV's with HD channels. Don't forget to bring your game systems to plug and play.Situated just on the West Bank of New Orleans we're just minutes away from all the downtown attractions without the hussle and bussle. Come wake up on the brightside, we're here for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank Hotel Gretna
La Quinta Gretna
Gretna La Quinta
La Quinta West Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing