We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre at best for solo travel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gretna
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best for solo travel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Booked 4 days here while on a business trip - will not stay again. Got a non-smoking King with mini-fridge and microwave. Trying to be a bit frugal - so much for that; next time I will spend more. I would absolutely NOT bring my wife and children here.

Pro:
Internet speed is decent
Good water pressure
Front office personnel are helpful
Next door to IHOP and a mall - close to downtown area (just over the bridge)

Con:
Stains on carpet and furniture - not necessarily dirty, just stained. Room is dicey enough that you will want to wear socks or shoes when walking around. No desire to sit in the cloth covered/stained chair.

TV is a very old 25" or 27" Zenith with very poor picture that must be at least 10 to 15 years old.

A bit different odor in the room - tolerable but noticeable

Cleaning staff was very poor. 2 days in a row they forgot to clean the coffee pot and leave new coffee pouches. 1 day they forgot to leave new soap and shampoo. Reported this to the front desk on each occasion, they took care of it - but the cleaning staff made no changes - had to get coffee from front desk on 2 different days and clean the pot myself - also had to get shampoo and soap the day they forgot that.

Old-style entrance into your room - parking lot to your room - not necessarily a con, but makes for a lot of noise when the construction guy fires up his F350 diesel 5 feet from your door and window at 6:00 a.m.

Extremely noisy starting at around 6:00 a.m. due to the large amount of "blue collar" workers who apparently use this facility in a big way. Doors start slamming early in the morning - and I do mean slamming - first floor, second floor, third floor...it doesn't matter. Wear ear plugs or just deal with the traffic.

The free breakfast is worthless. Hard boiled eggs, bread, bagel and a single waffle maker that usually has a line 4 to 6 deep with people waiting. Pretty pathetic.

This hotel is overpriced, old and the room service/cleaning is subpar.

This place would be acceptable for $50 a night...for the $85 or $89 that I paid - it was a very poor choice. Next time I will spend more and stay in a cleaner, nicer facility.

Room Tip: I would take a pass on this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samjax777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0579gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of the difficutlties you expereienced during your stay with us. Although I would have wished to hear your concerns expressed while you were here to ensure you left us 100% satisfied and or we were able to fix the problems.

I sincerely apologize that your experience as not what you expected. We continually strive to provide a service that is superior in every respect, and it is through the constructive comments of our guests that we are able to correct problems that might not otherwise come to our attention. Please be assured that the appropriate corrections are made to ensure this remains an isolated occurrence.

I know you have many choices for your hotel accomodations and hope you will continue to include us in yor future travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    86
    94
    75
    56
See reviews for
170
79
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gretna, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

We needed a hotel near our home for a few days during the elevation process and we found Lla Quinta Inn to be a great place for our family.The location was perfect for shopping, the children schools and the bridge to the CBD! The only problem was that I wanted a room with 2 queen sized beds and it wasn't available on same day registration.

Room Tip: Book early to get exactly what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSam924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

We went for a conference to New Orleans at convention center. The rooms were clean and tidy. The staff were courteous. The breakfast was good. The service was comfortable. The cab to city center takes <10 min. It was great experience for the price we paid. It had a food court & an IHOP nearby and many restaurants were offering delivery also.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramakgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed here while on spring break in new Orleans and had a great time. Great service and clean rooms, would definitely recommend it to a friend! Not much $$ either!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

I stay here once a month for business reasons. The employees are great, only once did I have an issue with one, but worked it out between ourselves after I reminded her I was the customer.
Location is perfect for my stay. Price is very good for the area. New Orleans is pretty expensive. I just need a room for a shower and to sleep. I am gone by the next morning around 4:30 am.
The breakfast us usually pretty basic, but good. There is a Denny's right in the parking lot and a Shell Station next to that.
The rooms are clean, the beds are the normal innerspring mattress type. My room normally has a small fridge, microwave and decent cable channels.
There are no good views, it is right off the expressway and close to everything you need.
There is on site security each time I stayed. Parking is good, close to the room. Many police use the Denny's in the parking lot. There are normally several police cars there when I leave in the morning.
There are no luxury amenities at this hotel. There are a lot of workers that stay here, I see a lot of company type trucks parked in the lot.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rduhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

We spent three nights at LaQuinta West Bank and were completely satisfied. Our room was spacious with all amenities, well-cleaned each day, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel is just across the bridge from New Orleans and all the attractions, but much more affordable than the hotels in the French Quarter. The breakfast area was a bit small and tended to be crowded at certain times, but the cleanliness made up for any wait. A hostess was busy with a spray disinfectant which she used liberally on tables, waffle maker handles, juice dispensers, and other areas that received a lot of handling. We inadvertantly left some clothing in a drawer and called the hotel a few days later. They checked , found our items and held them until we went through on our return trip. Front desk staff was personable and willing to chat about the area etc., and a night security person was seen making his rounds whenever we were coming or going. All in all, our stay was a positive experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

My husband and I and our yellow lab stayed for a couple of nights while visiting New Orleans. This La Quinta is located just outside of the city...a 10 minute drive to French Qtr. Property was well-maintained. Room was very clean. Other guests we interacted with were courteous. Service was very pleasant and effective. We had trouble pulling up the button to use shower, and maintenance person came to our room almost immediately after we phoned front desk. Breakfast plentiful. First evening, we heard doors slamming, but not to the degree that our stay was negatively impacted. So pleased they accept pets and still provide clean, pleasant facility. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Novelty1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0579gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Dear Novelty1234,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found my team to be hospitable and accommodating. It's through positive comments like yours that keep our team going with our goal to make every guests experience a positive one.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back in New Orleans with us soon.

Here for you,

Christopher Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna

Property: La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna
Address: 50 Terry Pkwy, Gretna, LA 70056-2564
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for making La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank your New Orleans Lodging choice. We're sure you have made a great one! You will enjoy our complimentary breakfast, free internet, free parking and new 32 Inch flat Screen Samsung TV's with HD channels. Don't forget to bring your game systems to plug and play.Situated just on the West Bank of New Orleans we're just minutes away from all the downtown attractions without the hussle and bussle. Come wake up on the brightside, we're here for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank Hotel Gretna
La Quinta Gretna
Gretna La Quinta
La Quinta West Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing