We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Gretna
Reviewed July 29, 2012

As Ann W. stated in another post the rooms have a serious humidity problem. Everything just felt wet. We had been on the road for almost a month so we had a routine down. One of them being to pull the sheets down and do a check before it was too late at night and it could take forever to get new ones. We weren't surprised to find a huge, God knows what, stain. We called housekeeping and they arrived rather quickly. While we were stripping the sheets we noticed something on the pillow cases and just thought the cases themselves were dirty but noooooo. It ended up being the headboard that was COVERED with MOLD. We cleaned it the best we could with the clean top sheet. The hotel was packed so we knew there was no changing rooms. The shuttle service was a joke but the driver was awesome. Just be ready to wait for a long time to get a ride to the ferry because they cater to cruise people first. The elevator stopped working on our second day so we had to haul everything to the car via stairs. Thank God we weren't handicapped! The manager quit the first night because she was stressed out but came back the next day. The place is very unorganized. Katrina was how long ago? At least lower the room rates until they get their act together.

Room Tip: If you have mold allergies please reconsider staying there.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 231 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

The positives...clean updated room. The shuttle driver was very nice and accomodating. Enjoyed the restaurant and bar. Hot breakfast served in the mornings. The Negatives...the shuttle is a joke. We paid for a cab most of the time. They allow people to park here while on their cruise and catching the shuttle is impossible when there are at least 50 people with tons of luggage waiting. I never understood why they didn't take a cab because it was only $10 to the ferry and $16 to the port. Forget about sleeping late in the morning because the hotel staff starts rolling carts by your door and speaking very loudly very early in the morning. I was on the bottom floor but knew the elevator wasn't working because of the people that kept screaming outside of my door that the elevator wasn't working. The lobby was full of ceiling leaks with buckets everywhere. If you are staying because of the shuttle service, you would be better off paying a few more dollars and just staying in the French Quarters. Thank God that I didn't reserve my last night there. I left and went to another hotel in the French Quarters. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the first floor, or near the elevators. It is very noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The first night the whole room was damp like the floor and sheets etc,
It was late by the time we got in to change so the next mornng they gave us a suite and when we got back from being in downtown new orleans all day we turned on the lights and lo and behold !! guess what I saw!! Cockroaches on the wall!!
Too late to change rooms we slept there and got out as soon as possible the next morning so they would not go home in our suitcases,,, Oh also both nights there were loud people outside our room until 2 in the morning,,,, not a great area to stay in either..
The hotel did refund me for both nights but I wanted to let the readers know not to go there.,,
Good Luck!!!

Room Tip: Your room door leads right outside so not that safe
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about our stay at the Quality Inn in Gretna which allowed us to leave our car while we cruised for 7 days. Upon arrival, we checked in and got to our room which was perfect for what we needed. It was clean and big enough for four of us to not drive each other crazy. We immediately took the shuttle to the ferry to the French Quarter and the shuttle was great. We were taken very quickly and at night we called, and they were there in less than 15 minutes. The next day was the shuttle to the cruise port and it left right on time and upon our return, we called and it was there again in less than 15 minutes. We used the pool and it was surprisingly large and clean. If we ever cruise out of New Orleans, we will be back for sure. For one night's stay, we enjoyed free shuttles, free parking for the week and oh yeah, the breakfast which was complimentary and good! It far exceeded our expectations. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bobobdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Upon arrival the lobby area appears nice. However everything else wasn't. Room smelled like mildew so staff came up and sprayed Febreeze. Rotten wood on the microwave/refrigerator stand, and huge roach. Elevator was nasty! Pool was out of service. Shuttle service to cruise port was disorganized. we had assigned times to go but when we got to lobby they said just first come first served. coming back we called for the shuttle and waited over 30 minutes, when the shuttle arrived other people jumped infront of us and we had to wait an additional 30 minutes for the next one. We paid $140 for one night and to park our car while on the cruise. Not worth it

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mschmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff made an extreme difference for this trip. They were very accommodating and able to handle a very rambunctious weekend in a professional manner. Sales, Catering, Maintenance, Security, and last but not least Front Desk THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Pros: Great shuttle service to the dock to catch the ferry to the French Quarter. The shuttle is free and the ferry is free, which definitely beats getting a cab.

The room was new and nice. It was actually very clean when we came in. The front desk staff was very nice and gave us great advice about how to stay safe in the French Quarter. It allowed us to experience New Orleans as we wanted to

Cons: There was always a super long line at the front desk. I don't know why, but things were moving sloooowww. The bathrooms next to the lobby and restaurant were absolutely nasty and consistently out of toilet paper for multiple days. The service at the diner and bar and the breakfast in the morning was terrible and super slow. I could see staff members standing around doing nothing.

The most annoying thing was that we stayed two nights but they did not clean our room. It is my understanding that even if you are staying more than one night you get your room cleaned. Maybe not a thorough scouring but at least a fresh set of towels and the bed made. For what we paid for this place that is what I expect, or at least tell me you are not going to clean it so I know to save a couple of towels for the next morning.

So we get home from a long hot day on Burbon street wanting to shower and no towels. Called down to get more and it took forever. Then they brought us fresh sheets but didn't offer to put them on the bed.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Gretna New Orleans
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn New Orleans West Bank Tower
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Westbank/Gretna
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Harvey
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harvey/New Orleans West Bank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank

Address: 100 Westbank Expy Bldg A, Gretna, LA 70053-5613 (Formerly New Orleans Expressway Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: $57 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank 1.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing