We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Dim Sum!! 🎎”
Review of Panda King

Panda King
Ranked #43 of 122 Restaurants in Gretna
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dim Sum!! 🎎”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is the real deal. It can get crowded sometimes, but overall a fantastic experience.

The dim sum is excellent. They also have a Chinese-American buffet that looked very good. The service is very friendly & they are willing to explain the ingredients in the different dishes.

Great place. I can't wait to get back.

Helpful?
2 Thank localyokel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“buffet plus”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Panda King is your typical Chinese buffet restaurant. But there are 3 features that make it more appealing than most: (1) the restaurant is very large with tables far enough apart that the typical New Orleans noise is minimized; (2) there is a hibachi feature in which you select your meat (chicken, beef, or pork) with extras like mushrooms and take it to the grill; and (3) it is a few doors down from the incredible Hong Kong market (Vietnamese) with all sorts of exotic fruits and vegetables.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LaPaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ain't Coming Back”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The restaurant claimed to be a fine dining establishment (and seafood, too), and I was intrigued. It turned out that the restaurant was divided into two -- the buffet section, and the dimsum section. I happened to be in the dimsum section. The rolling carts were annoying, as there were not that many people. The vendors kept going back to you with the same stuff, hoping you would eat the same thing again and again. The food was terrible. The waiter was nice... but I am never going back to that place again. Have I mentioned that the food was terrible? Plus, it was expensive... yikes! The duck wings needed more flavor, the snails tasted bad, the noodles... I should have gone somewhere else.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyIligan0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good dim sum”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This is the best dim sum place in greater New Orleans area. The food is not always consistent but it hit the spot for those who crave for the dim sum. It can be very busy on Sunday. So get there early (before 11am)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok to try”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I been here a few time, the buffet are not great, very little choice to choose from. I ate 3 different seafood and I was done. The dimsum on sat and Sunday morning are quite good, just the price is higher then some other place I been to. And they take awhile for all the cart to come around. The sitting area r really tight because They try to fit more table in a small space. It was harder to get around especially wit a baby troller. I would avoid the hassle but I do order to go because they have good and fresh dimsum

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K_tran187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Panda King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing