We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly about shopping”

Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Gretna
Attraction details
syracuse ny
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mostly about shopping”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Now we can say we went to the Gretna Green and the blacksmith shop, but I wouldn't go back. There's nice little museum, open only when there's not an imminent wedding, so we had to rush through it, a restaurant, and lot of shops.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank scotlass66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    33
    32
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“over comercialised”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Recently stayed in gretna so was a must that we visit the famous gretna blacksmith shop.
Although it was an interesting visit it was more about the shopping than the wedding story and venue . Worth going to say you have been but not over exciting

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank janetew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Day out”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A little visit whilst staying in Cumbria. Nice shops. Maze was locked up. Nice to visit if your in the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gordene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Less romance more cash”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very disappointed with my visit to Gretna, the site appears to have become a shoppers centre taking away any romance that once existed when I visited years ago. Whilst here, 3 weddings were conducted like a conveyor belt - brides go in, few minutes pass they come out with a piper, whilst the next bride is seen going in etc etc.... Strange choice of shops that don't appear to reflect the rationale for Gretna (Where's the romance? Edinburgh woolen mill?!!) wouldn't recommend to any prospective bride as appeared very impersonal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaisySorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I don't usually cry at weddings .....”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just returned from Scotland visited Gretna on the way back.

I hadn't exspected to see a wedding ( I don't know why - it hadn't occured to me). I had just come out of the restaurant and there they were - a beautiful young couple ....... all alone ..... having pictures taken in the courtyard. ....... I felt quite emotional. I wish them all the best.

Then the next couple arrived - they were much older, with guests this time. It was lovely to see.

BTW The restaurant is very good I had a delicious meal including an amazing chocolate cake.
I thought the shops were also quite good and not overpriced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vivien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gretna Green Blacksmith Shop also viewed

 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Gretna Green Blacksmith Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing