We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine example of how excellent service and attention to detail make all the difference!”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Gonzales
Thibodaux
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fine example of how excellent service and attention to detail make all the difference!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Although this beautiful sprawling property is not the newest on the block, do not be fooled IT IS HAND DOWN ONE OF THE BEST!!! From the desk receptionist, my room, Mike Anderson's Restaurant, and breakfast in the morning it was all done with a flair of southern class.

I stayed there years ago and found myself greeted his morning by one of the same breakfast staffers (Peggy?) from way back then. It speaks well of the place to retain good people for that long a time.

This hotel is a monument to the fact that it doesn't have to be brand new to be able to brew!

Kudos to Mr. Robert on not being tempted to lower the bar on the standards that have made this such an awesome place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyDonham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    37
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
29
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bushnell, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Clarion back in June! It was nice! Room clean! Front Desk nice and helpful! A/C worked very well! And the Breakfast crew was wonderful! I took 2 of my Grandsons in to eat breakfast and they made sure everything was good for them! That is very important to me! The pool was clean and the children enjoyed it, so did I. I will stay here again on next visit. Surprised me how quiet it was to be an outdoors hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this Clarion on July 11, 2013. As others have stated, the service here is outstanding! I did get a gift bag upon checking in, but I was even more impressed by the professionalism and courtesy extended by the young lady at the front desk. Also, every staff member I passed during our stay was kind & attentive. A+ for service!

The hotel, unfortunately, is more like a motel, with doors to the outside - something we typically do not do while traveling, and a shocker considering the chain & the price we paid. However, we never felt unsafe here, and all the buildings are around a little courtyard with the pool. The grounds here are beautiful. Very well landscaped!

The breakfast here was good. It is served in the restaurant on-site, which assures there is plenty of room for seating, unlike most hotel breakfasts. There was plenty of hot food, and the young lady working was very helpful.

The only real criticism I have is that the rooms are quite small. I'm guessing this hotel was purchased and remodeled by Clarion. They did an outstanding job, but you can't make rooms bigger I guess. There was barely room for two queens. If you are traveling with children, they won't have much room to move. Also, the Internet was spotty. It worked for a while, then would disconnect. That was a little annoying.

Overall, though, a nice stay. I definitely recommend it. Best service ever!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soonergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

So tired of the 3 story plus cookie cutter hotel where they are built in 8 months with plywood and paper thin walls. This is a well built strong hotel.
The Clarion Inn has a great family appeal with an awesome restaurant, Capt. Anderson's. Never thought of it as a place of breakfast. The staff made fresh eggs with real eggs. Most hotels pour them out of a carton and shinny like rubber, then they turn gray in an hour.
All of the staff from front desk check in and out were nice.
The dinning staff helped one another, The house keepers as I left said "good morning" and also notice how well they prepared their carts. Had business in Baton Rouge and not real far away. If I took my family to Blue Bayou I would stay here overnight to make a short vacation with a dip in well maintained pool area.-

Room Tip: Pool side to be close if you have kids, park by exterior rooms for quick pack and unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Not a bad place to get some rest, but nothing memorable about the rooms either. Seemed clean enough, quiet enough and the air conditioning worked as it should.

Reasonably priced; just your basic chain hotel rooms. Nothing special.

One thing I will brag about though is the hotel restaurant. We had breakfast there, and it was way above average for a free hotel breakfast. Fresh and well prepared.

There is an outlet shopping center at this same Interstate exit, if you are interested, as well as a Cracker Barrel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveinGA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about this place! These folks go out of their way to treat you right. The rooms are very nice and breakfast is better than any you'll find around here. If is the best Clarion that I have ever stayed at.....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randyhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
189 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with The Clarion Inn & Conference Center. Our group is a group of Vietnam Veterans who had a reunion in Gonzales over the period April 25-28 and the Clarion was our host hotel. The staff there was very accomodating. Mike Anderson's restaurant may have been one of the best hotel restaurants that I have visited. The portions were huge. The facility met our needs. The rooms were clean and up to date. The grounds were well kept. I don't know what else we could have asked for. Nice job Gonzales and The Clarion Inn & Conference Center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulsajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gonzales hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gonzales
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel
Comfort Suites Hotel
#6 of 16 in Gonzales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gonzales
Hampton Inn Gonzales
#4 of 16 in Gonzales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Gonzales
Candlewood Suites Gonzales
#8 of 16 in Gonzales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Baton Rouge Gonzales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 1500 W Highway 30, Gonzales, LA 70737-5103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Gonzales)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Gonzales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Gonzales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suburban Southern hospitality at it s best! Just mile from the Tanger Factory Outlet Mall, Lamar Dixon Expo Center, Cabela s, Southern Plantations and local industries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Gonzales
Holiday Inn Gonzales
Gonzales Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing