We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gonzales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff was wonderful and the rooms are remodeled obviously since the other reviews on this site. The restaurant is fabulous.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

Clarion Inns recently acquired this property. It is not apparent they have made it better. It is not one big thing, but many little things that make this place mediocre. It is not bad, it is not great. Examples: 1. Hot water in the shower is barely hot enough to feel comfortable - needed another 5 - 10 degrees (problem probably in the scald proof faucet) - reported it and nothing changed in three days of stay. 2. They put out cookies at night - nice touch, but only if you get there at exactly the right moment. I checked at 6:45 and none were out. At 7:45 all were gone. Come on. Internet access in the room was very slow to start. You actually need to sort of sign off before it advances to the next screen. Very quirky. 3. The hotel is all open entries to the outdoors - no interior halls. If you go to the exercise room, bundle up in the winter. There is no place to change. At the gym, the remote is chained to the wall so you cannot use the treadmill and change the channel at the same time. 4. I waited an inordinate amount of time for my waiter to even show up at my table to take my dinner order. He was apologetic. Enough? The staff is friendly and the one thing the place has plenty of is apologies for its shortcomings. On the plus side, the restaurant is apparently a local favorite and the food itself is good even if the service is just adequate. The room was clean and well kept and the bed firm and good to sleep on. It is no wonder the Hampton stays booked. It is much better, although no equivalent restaurant. The best reason to stay at this hotel? -- the others are apparently much worse.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenLeesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

For what you pay, this place is a dump. The Hampton up the street is much better. The restaurant at the hotel is alright if you like fried food, but the place is a MOTEL. The doors don't reach the floor, you can hear the highway buzzing all night long. The rooms tend to smell like smoke from people standing outside their rooms to smoke.

The staff at the front desk is polite, but nobody else in the building WORKS. Laziest staff you will ever see. If you ask for anything, such as normal expected room service and making beds, expect to be treated like you're a burden. How dare you should ask for something you pay for!? Don't go, don't stay, don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roundtheworld101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We were visiting our son and his family who live in Prairieville, LA. We normally stay at The Residence Inn by Marriott in Baton Rouge but thought we'd try to stay here to see if it was a little closer to his residence. We checked in on Friday, March 26th, and checked out on Sunday, March 28th. We had planned to stay until Monday, March 29th, but were dissatisfied with the service so we left a day early. When we checked in Friday night, the room was okay - nothing special though and not as clean as some we have stayed in. We left for our son's house the next morning (Saturday) at 7:40 A.M. and were gone all day. We did not leave any type of "Do Not Disturb" on the door so the room was empty all day. We returned to the hotel that night after 9 P.M. and our room had not been serviced. The bed was unmade, coffee had not been replaced, no extra towels had been brought to room, etc. The room was the exact way we had left it that morning. We called the front desk and they could not find out why room had not been serviced. We had to ask for a couple of towels which they brought but they did not bring any coffee or clean cups. We will not stay here again. We are not usually demanding guests but the hotel was not crowded and there should have been plenty of time to get things done properly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caspersmomArley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Loved it. Tiffany the hostess was awesome. She was gracious and sweet. Rooms were clean ans everyone there was nice. The restuarant is to die for. Great food and atmosphere. Cant wait to come back. We still stay in touch with some of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aubgirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed at this hotel before a wedding the next day. The hotel was cute, the pool was pretty, the interior decor of the rooms were not bad at all.

The hotel had a great restaurant with lots of people.

My negatives on this location was the staff wasn't friendly and our bathtub was nasty. I have worked in the hotel industry and I am always looking for mistakes. Our bathtub had 5 dark hairs around the drain (before we used it) and the water spout had been moved and there was a hole in the tub where the old spout was. (wouldn't have been a problem except there was tissue stuffed into the hole.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtrippinmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

we were allocated the wrong room on arrival, the room was in the process of being cleaned, so we returned later to discover that although I had requested and paid for an up-grade we had been given a standard room. We then had to move out suitcases down the steep flight of stairs we had just carried them up.
The room we were finally allocated was supposed to be a room with a whirlpool bath, the bath was really disgusting and had a dirty mat glued inside the bath, the taps and jets were rusty and dirty.
The outside pool area was not very clean, the pool was dirty. Also trays of discarded food were left outside rooms until a request was made to the reception to move them
. I would not recommend this hotel. Maybe when the renovations are completed it may improve .
The hotel had a restaurant attached which served good food.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jeannie459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gonzales hotels
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Gonzales
Candlewood Suites Gonzales
#9 of 16 in Gonzales
14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel
Comfort Suites Hotel
#6 of 16 in Gonzales
76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gonzales
Hampton Inn Gonzales
#3 of 16 in Gonzales
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gonzales
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gonzales
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 1500 W Highway 30, Gonzales, LA 70737-5103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Gonzales)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Gonzales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gonzales
Price Range: $98 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suburban Southern hospitality at it s best! Just mile from the Tanger Factory Outlet Mall, Lamar Dixon Expo Center, Cabela s, Southern Plantations and local industries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Gonzales
Holiday Inn Gonzales
Gonzales Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing