We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closing for renovations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Plantation

San Francisco Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.99*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass and Trade
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Garyville
Attraction details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
573 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Closing for renovations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Beautiful house and gardens with interesting outbuildings closing for renovations in June. The interior has the most impressive hand stenciled and painted walls, doors and trim, really exceptional. It also had running water, an innovation for it's time thanks to two water towers on either side of the house.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PetePope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    66
    32
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Beautiful plantation and great tour guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The SF Plantation is really interesting, we were Lucky to have an almost private tour, less tourists and not as crowded as the most famous one.
I recommend it if you have time to make a stop and visit it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful plantation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our schedule that day allowed for two Plantation visits before our scheduled Swamp tour. I initially selected Laura and Houmas House. After visiting Laura, we headed for Houmas House, but found that they were doing construction on the bridge across the river and we didfn't know how long the wait would be. Oak Alley, which we passed en route to the brigde was hosting a festival and you couldn't park anywhere close to it just for a tour, so I opted to go to San Francisco instead. We were not disappointed. The house, furnishings, and grounds were very impressive. We were also fascinated by the story of the former occupants and how they lived as told by our tour guide. While the girl who lead our tour was sometimes difficult to understand and not as knowledgable or enthusiastic as the fabulous guide we had had at Laura, it was well worth our time to visit and take the tour and I would highly recommend it

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CAParrotmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Gracious, charming guide welcomed us to a beautiful, authentically restored historic treasure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I've heard that San Francisco may be closing for a while for some necessary structural repairs. They were working in the attic when we toured last Thursday. So I would highly recommend that if you're in the area you visit soon. The interior of this house is more beautiful than any on the River Road. On top of that it is the only truly authentic restoration based on historical estate records.

Our guide Janice deserves extra special mention for her charm, graciousness and sense of humor. Her presentation is based strictly on documented history with no hyperbole or pandering and yet it's delightful and personal, giving you a feel for the lives of the family that lived here without ignoring the enslaved people who labored here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank enavant12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worthwhile site, excellent guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

As mentioned by others, the plantation house and small surrounding grounds sit amidst working petroleum and chemical plants. But you take your history where you find it and the companies owning those plants paid for a major restoration of the plantation house in the mid-1970s and they keep it maintained to this day. My thanks to them.

The grounds are moderately interesting and include a relocated slave cabin and school house as well as a large bell and various other bits and pieces. The house is in fine shape and the combination of restored ceiling frescos and some still original work are highly interesting. All the furniture is period correct but not original to the house. Janice, our guide, was both informative and highly entertaining. I will not guess her age but I was concerned when we met her that she might not be up to the task; the more fool I! She knew everything the group could ask, details and context, lock, stock and barrel. I learned construction details of the home, how it was operated from day to day, the economics of its day, the operations of a sugar cane plantation, the impact of the Civil War and its aftermath on masters and slaves and the history of the families involved. In short, she knew everything and her presentation was lively and given with a wry sense of humor when appropriate. If you visit San Francisco, you really should connive to have Janice as your guide.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Plantation also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing