We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Phong Nha Caves
from $39.00
More Info
Reviews (1,131)
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveler rating
549
203
34
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
549
203
34
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride phong nha cave paradise cave dong hoi tien son dark cave ticket office nice trip national park easy tiger underground river amazing cave day trip stalactites and stalagmites natural wonder cave system entrance fee
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 795 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The visit to the caves is by boat from the local village. 20 mins by boat then u arrive at the entrance. Seems to be approx 1km or so hand punted or rowed by the crew of the boat, no motors allowed in the cave. Enormous tall chambers, untouched virtually by man. Worth a visit, pleasant way to spend 2 hours.

2  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The caves are beautiful. But please do not touch the stalagmites, as the oil on your hands ruins them.

1  Thank AquaticHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great experience with the caves. We opted away from doing any of the tours, because they never really offer exactly what We’re looking for.
If you’re up for a little adventure I would suggest renting a motorbike and exploring on your own. It’s a beautiful way to take in the scenery. If not, a private car for the day will do just fine.

We were able to see paradise, dark cave, and Phong Nha all in one day for less $ than a tour of 2.

I would suggest in order..
Dark cave
Paradise
Phong Nha

This will maneuver you around the crowds and the tour times. They all seem to appear at the dark cave around lunch time.

Enjoy

3  Thank asamccune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I loved and preferred the phong nha cave instead of the paradise cave (still we have been there at both)
It was amazing inside, the water is so beautiful and you have a good mixture of going by boat and going by feet

Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is one's of the cave you should visit in Phong Nha area

Phong Nha cave was the first cave open for tourism in Phong Nha Ke Bang national park. It was opening in decade 1990s, and it was more popolar early in 2000s.

To visit Phong Nha cave, you need to buy a ticket 150.000 d. And you need to go by boat 400.000/10 people. So, if you go with the group, you can share with them or when you come to Phong Nha tourism center to buy ticket just look for someone around there to share a boat.

First 30 minutes, you will go by motor boat along beautiful river. Then, from the cave entrance is no more motor, will row the boat by hand and you will enjoy beautiful view inside. Remember to go to dry passage in the cave when the boat stop for you go go out. Then they pickup you outside the cave to come back to the harbour.
To visit this cave, you will take about 2.5 - 4 hour

1  Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are a travelling couple so try to do as many attractions as we can but on a budget. We decided to rent a moped from Dong Hoi and see Phong Nha cave as doing all the caves and a tour was too pricey. The bike cost 170vd for two days, entrance fee to cave was 150vd pp. boat is 360vd (which is expensive if alone) but if you wait for other travellers the cost is split between how many ppl (max 12ppl per boat). We waited 10mins and ended up a boat of 7. Petrol 70vd (got is there, back and around Dong Hoi.
So some advice on how we would do things differently... we had to stay in Dong Hoi and not Phong Nha as our flight got in at 5pm missing the last bus to Phong Nha and our budget couldn’t stretch to 500dong taxi.
I would there for recommend A) flying morning to catch the bus or B) get train to Dong Hoi instead of fly, hire bikes from Sophie Homy (located on same rd as train station), ride to Phong Nha and stay in one of the homestay hostels along the river (home sweet home looked nice?) for maybe 1-2nights go to caves etc to then drive back to Dong Hoi and drop bikes back to Sophie’s and get the train to your next destination (for us Hue). Now you probably thinking about rucksacks - I’m pretty sure lovely Sophie would store your bags and just take a day bag to Phong Nha(we didn’t do this remember so you would need to check this out).
Just like other reviews Phong Nha is defo the place to stay and once I saw how beautiful it was I regretted staying in Dong Hoi.
For anyone considering missing Dong Hoi off their itinerary- don’t!!!

4  Thank Jlm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One word - Stunning! This was my 1st time visit this location and forget whatever you see on magazine, TV or advertising - experience with your own eyes and you will see a whole new paradise place of cave. I will leave it for your experience.

2  Thank Rei91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We booked the two hour option (there is a three hour one) and for very little more the four of us travelled in our own boat. They motor the 6kms to and from the cave, but paddle within the cave, with the roof slid back while in the cave. The cave complex is about 40kms long, but we went 1.5 kms or so in and then out again. The limestone formations are impressive ,but the cave is a dead cave. Lighting is good. On the return you walk the last few hundred metres along a path and are met by your boat. Lots of interest along the way and outside the cave, with many small boats scooping up weed from the bottom to feed fish in a fish farm. And with the roof in place when not in the cave, you are protected from the sun, and rain too.

1  Thank 101MichaelGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Never get enough of caves in Vietnam. Just found out they have so many caves to explore in the national park. Me and my family had really nice experience in phongnha.

1  Thank LucasTG96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Very nice caves and trekking tours. Just imagine you sleep among the mountains. Very beautiful and relaxing place !

Thank _Jennifer0499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews