We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best things we have ever done!”
Review of Oxalis Adventures

Oxalis Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Oxalis Adventure Tours is organizing trekking tours below:- Trekking to Hang En (Swalow cave) the same system with Hang Son Doong (Son Doong cave) the world's biggest cave.- Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park Tour- Trekking to Tu Lan cave system, Hang Ken cave, Hung Ton cave system- Kayaking tour to 1500m inside Phong Nha Cave- And other special adventure tours. Oxalis is socialized in caving adventure, trekking, and jungle camping, Oxalis is working with Howard Limbert - the BCRA expedition team leader who found Son Doong cave to do caving education, training and cave exploration. Quang Binh is the best place for caving in Vietnam and in the region, best Vietnam Caves, and World largest cave Hang Son Doong
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed December 11, 2016

We took part in the 3 day Wild Tu Lan Cave Explorer tour and those 3 days and two nights were one hell of an adventure. We travel a lot but this tour was one of the best things we have ever done, if not the best.

The schedule you can read in detail on their website, so i am just gonna tell you about the trip itself.

- The guide (Tang) was funny and VERY well educated, providing information about anything.
- The landscape is just unbelievable. Lush jungle, beautiful rivers you have to swim through, and the six caves... oh my god. These are not tourist caves, with stairs and lights and music in the background. These are huge natural caves, some of them discovered only last year. You need to climb up hills to get in, you need headlamps to see anything, you need to swim through them to get out on the other side, you will have to remove your backpack to squeeze yourself into some of them, and you will find yourself not believing how stunning and amazing all this is again and again.
- You will sleep in the middle of the jungle, right on a lake or a river bed, next to a waterfall and a huge cave. In tents that some porters set up during the day, along with a grand meal prepared over the fire for lunch and dinner. Incredible.
- oh... and you will get wet :-)

The tour is pricey, yes. With getting there, getting away, one or two nights before and after, it is quite a lot of money. BUT it is worth every single penny. Trust us. This will definitely be the highlight of your trip. It was for us as well, and we did tons of great stuff.

Thank you Oxalis!

Thank SebastianHafner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2016

Xin chào Sebastian,

How wonderful to read such a detailed review with very nice words for our team and the tour.

This is definitely a must-do in Vietnam for those who love trekking, caving and outdoor activities. And your review is a huge motivation for us to operate more and more wonderful tours in the coming time.

Hope to see you again in Phong Nha and wish you all the best.

Happy Holidays,
Oxalis Adventure Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tu lan cave"
in 142 reviews
"hang en cave"
in 115 reviews
"son doong"
in 88 reviews
"bao"
in 28 reviews
"porter team"
in 21 reviews
"phong nha"
in 100 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 43 reviews
"base camp"
in 16 reviews
"professional company"
in 12 reviews
"day tour"
in 58 reviews
"local community"
in 13 reviews
"one night"
in 26 reviews
"food was amazing"
in 16 reviews
"every meal"
in 14 reviews
"packing list"
in 11 reviews
"river crossing"
in 11 reviews
"great company"
in 14 reviews
Filter

548 - 552 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2016

I did a Hang Tien 1 day discovery tour with this company. The company is a professional operation with a very good tour guides (Vuh/Vu (apologies for spelling!) was the guide - nice guy and very knowledgeable & helpful). The equipment was all new and the bbq lunch was tasty. I'd recommend.

Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2016

The trek and caving in a group of 8 with our tour guides Bao and Gecko was such a memorable experience. Climbing over boulders, trekking uphill and downhill through jungle, stepping and slipping through mud and swimming through underground rivers was more challenging than expected, but so much fun! We saw three awesome caves, and the challenging trek is more than worth it. Our porters and chefs were fantastic - we were so well fed and the food was absolutely delicious. Every part of the two days was amazing! Thanks Bao and Gecko!

Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2016

Chào Courtney,

Thanks for your sharing of Hang Tien Endeavor experience with Bao, Gecko (Canh) and the team. This review will definitely passed onto them as a motivation for their daily hard working.

Hope to welcome you back soon in Phong Nha within the next adventure with Oxalis.

Adventurous Regards,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile

We were a group of 9 people and we chose the 1-day Tu Lan experience that includes hiking through a 9km trail, with very slippery slopes, crossing rivers and exploring 2 amazing caves (one of which - the Rat Cave - was the set of the 2017 Kong: Skull Island movie), where the only light is the one on your helmet.
Our guide (Hero) was very helpful and knowledgeable about the Fauna and Flora, always providing interesting facts about our surroundings.
It was truly an amazing experience that I'd do again in a heartbeat!

Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Dear Luis,

Thanks for your feedback of Tu Lan Experience with Hero and the team. We are glad to know that you have had a blast inside Tu Lan Cave System in Rat Cave and Hung Ton Cave. Hopefully we have another chance to welcome all of you back to Phong Nha and Tan Hoa for an overnight experience with Oxalis.

All the best,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2016

We did one day Tu Lan cave trip. Our guide Pham was really good and professional guide. The caving in two different caves was fantastic and you will get to swim out of the latter one. The BBQ lunch is excellent! Can´t say anything else than do this trip (if you only have one day)!

Thank Itikka2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Hi our dear friend,

Thanks for leaving us a brief review for your Tu Lan Experience trip recently. This is one of motivation for our team to run world-leading adventures in this remote areas. We wish to see you again within a longer trip with Oxalis for more experiences in this beautiful area.

Cheers,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxalis Adventures also viewed

Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
 
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
 

Been to Oxalis Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;