We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down - Most amazing trip in Vietnam ”
Review of Oxalis Adventures

Oxalis Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Oxalis Adventure Tours is organizing trekking tours below:- Trekking to Hang En (Swalow cave) the same system with Hang Son Doong (Son Doong cave) the world's biggest cave.- Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park Tour- Trekking to Tu Lan cave system, Hang Ken cave, Hung Ton cave system- Kayaking tour to 1500m inside Phong Nha Cave- And other special adventure tours. Oxalis is socialized in caving adventure, trekking, and jungle camping, Oxalis is working with Howard Limbert - the BCRA expedition team leader who found Son Doong cave to do caving education, training and cave exploration. Quang Binh is the best place for caving in Vietnam and in the region, best Vietnam Caves, and World largest cave Hang Son Doong
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

This company was absolutely incredible from start to end. We went with Oxalis for 2 different trips. The Tu Lan 1-day trip was a fun-filled day where we got to visit 3 caves. It was cold when we went so we couldn't swim through the wet cave, but our guide compensated for it by showing us an even cooler cave of the Tu Lan system. Our guide, Vu, was a key factor in the enjoyment of our trips. He also led our second trip with Oxalis to the 2-day Hang En trip. Him and Ta were extremely professional, knowledgeable, conscious of safety, and just a blast to be around. The porters and guides were very helpful and whipped up incredible meals for us. The meals were a pleasant surprise!! They employ local people and use only local ingredients. They highly model respect for the environment and ensured that all visitors followed suit.
For packing for Hang En, be sure to follow their guidelines specifically! Everything they included was needed. Waterproof pants or quick-dry bottoms saved our lives in the cold weather when we did river crossings (which were awesome). Be sure to pack a warm sweater for sleeping in the cave! Other than that, Oxalis provides literally everything else (gloves, helmet, head lamp, boots, water bottle + filtration system, tent, mat, sleeping bag, and endless amounts of snacks and food).
Visit Phony Nha before it gets too touristy and developed! You will not regret it.

Thank Kathie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Xin chào Kathie,

Thanks for sharing such an interesting experience.

This does put smiles on our faces when reading through each experience you have had. We are happy to know that Vu, Anetta, and porter team did a great job on both tours. Your compliments will be definitely passed onto them as a motivation on their daily hard working. Your detailed sharing is also a good source of reference for those who is planning to come Phong Nha for an adventure.

Hopefully we have another chance to welcome back to Phong Nha as old friends and enjoy another trip with us in this beautiful region.

All the best,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tu lan cave"
in 142 reviews
"hang en cave"
in 115 reviews
"son doong"
in 88 reviews
"bao"
in 28 reviews
"porter team"
in 21 reviews
"phong nha"
in 100 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 43 reviews
"base camp"
in 16 reviews
"professional company"
in 12 reviews
"day tour"
in 58 reviews
"local community"
in 13 reviews
"one night"
in 26 reviews
"food was amazing"
in 16 reviews
"every meal"
in 14 reviews
"packing list"
in 11 reviews
"river crossing"
in 11 reviews
"great company"
in 14 reviews
Filter

630 - 634 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

The trip was great fun. Professional friendly guide, lovely campsite near a waterfall, delicious food and the 3 other couples on the trek were awesome. Was great to see the jungle and get away from the crowds! Swimming in the caves was amazing!!! You'll not regret investing the money in this well organised tour.

Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2016

Dear Wendy,

Thanks for your brief review for our tour. It's wonderful to know that you have had a good time with the guide and fellow-adventurers and enjoyed our beautiful campsites and tour food. Your review is an encouragement to our daily working to provide real adventure in this area.

Oxalis Team hopes to welcome you again in Phong Nha within another trip in the near future.

Cheers,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

This is the most amazing thing you could ever do and Oxalis is just the company to do it with! Our jungle trek was amazing - full of laughs and fun and the tour guides were basically jungle gods sent down to help us weaklings hike through the terrain! It was fantastic. Lunch was amazing, on a gorgeous beach, and the hike included a jungle walk, cave swims, and even a bit of buffalo watching.

Big shout out to Bao, our main tour guide, who is seriously the coolest guy in the world. Tum (spelling?) was also amazing, helping out each person and carrying a huge bag of water and supplies. And of course, Thanh, who is just the absolute best.

Back at headquarters, literally every single girl who works in the office there is phenomenal. Sweet, fun, and helpful - there is a great energy in that place.

Thank you a million times over- we will be back next year for Son Doong! (Just kidding. We are fat and very unathletic so many we will just come visit at headquarters and have a beer!)

2  Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

Hey Shawn,

Thanks for such a fantastic sharing of your Tu Lan experience trip.

How wonderful to know that you have had an amazing trip with Bao, Thanh, and the team. This detailed and funny review is obviously a good reference for those who plan for a trip with Oxalis.

We are also thankful to get your generous compliments for back-office team. This encourage our team dramatically to keep doing our best and delivering world-rank adventures in this beautiful area.

Hopefully Oxalis Team has another chance to welcome you back with more adventures or just enjoy the nature here with our warm greetings.

Wish you all the best,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016

Cannot recommend Oxalis Adventures enough! Great excursion and a wonderful group - our tour guide (Anetta) and porters were amazing and made for a great and fun experience. Hang Va had hiking, swimming, trekking, with great food and a bunch of good memories. Only issue is that it's too short - try the 3 or 4 day Tu Lan expeditions if you have the time!

1  Thank rbed23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Good morning Ryan,

Thanks for sharing such a wonderful experience with other adventurers.

How excited we are to learn that you have had a great time with Anetta and the team. Hang Va Expedition is absolutely a must-do for those who love caving and jungle trekking. And we absolutely try to make it the best caving 2-Day excursions in Phong Nha.

Oxalis Team looks forward to welcoming you again within a longer expedition to fulfil your adventure spirit.

Take care and see you soon in the near future.
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Loved.It.
We had a group of 8people (including ourselves) which was considered medium sized and we thought that was perfect.
It's hot so when choosing which long sleeved top or pants to wear, make sure they're light and quick dry as it's not really the river crossings that get you soaked, it's your own sweat from the heat!
I would also recommend bringing another pair of light pants and top if you don't like re-wearing damp clothes as things don't dry very well within the cave. (Definitely bring another pair of socks for the next day!)
Apart from clothes, you don't really need much else as Oxalis provide everything else. They have porters that carry most things for you as well.
It's a fun, once in a lifetime experience I would highly recommend to anyone. The night we stayed there was a thunderstorm so through the cave opening the sky turned slightly purple and every now and then we'd see flashes of lightning. Truly spectacular.
Very professional company who know what they're doing.

Thank Good Ol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Dear friend,

It's great to know that you have had an once in a life time trip with Oxalis Team. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful experiences and detailed information for upcoming adventurers. Also, we are thankful to get your recognition of our team professionalism. This is a true motivation for the whole team to do our best and provide world-class adventures in the beautiful area.

We wish you enjoy the rest of your Vietnam trip the best and hope to welcome you again to sunny Phong Nha.

Best regards,
Oxalis Adventure Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxalis Adventures also viewed

Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
 
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
 

Been to Oxalis Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing