We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Tour - Fantastic Guides”
Review of Oxalis Adventures

Oxalis Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Oxalis Adventure Tours is organizing trekking tours below:- Trekking to Hang En (Swalow cave) the same system with Hang Son Doong (Son Doong cave) the world's biggest cave.- Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park Tour- Trekking to Tu Lan cave system, Hang Ken cave, Hung Ton cave system- Kayaking tour to 1500m inside Phong Nha Cave- And other special adventure tours. Oxalis is socialized in caving adventure, trekking, and jungle camping, Oxalis is working with Howard Limbert - the BCRA expedition team leader who found Son Doong cave to do caving education, training and cave exploration. Quang Binh is the best place for caving in Vietnam and in the region, best Vietnam Caves, and World largest cave Hang Son Doong
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 26, 2016

My wife and I booked the Tu Lan 1 day tour and thought the overall experience was incredible. Not only are the caves stunning, but you really feel like you accomplished something when it's done. There is something special about trekking to see a cave that is so untouched. Swimming through the crystal clear cave river is something I will never forget. Unlike the Paradise Caves, you won't see another person outside of your group. On a side note, please don't come to this area for a single day, there really is so much to see and the Paradise caves are spectacular.

Back to the Tu Lan Experience - the guides were excellent and the equipment was top notch. Keep in mind that this is not a walk in the park, while not extreme, you will need to be in shape in order to complete this. Make sure to bring quick dry pants, quick dry long sleeved shirt and hiking socks. You are in the jungle and the long sleeve shirt will help make sure that you don't brush into some kind of poison ivy or get scratched by thorns. You can bring your good camera as well, they have water tight containers to put it in during the swims and you will want to take good photos. The boots they provided were great, though the largest size was a little tight for a US size 12.

Finally, I wanted to shoot a quick thank you to Thanh Pham. I left the bottom parts of my zip pants as well as my good hiking socks on the road near the base camp, which I really needed for a different hike I was doing later in my trip. I reached out to her and she promptly replied, found the pants and shipped them to my next hotel free of charge. I think most companies would not really care so much for something like this and it truly speaks to the level of service that Oxalis provides.

Thank patkent86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2016

Good morning Patrick,

How wonderful to know that you had an incredible trip with Oxalis. Also, thanks for your detailed information of your trip preparation and Phong Nha activities which is very useful for those who intend to go on a trip with us. You definitely need more than one day to explore this beautiful area and we do hope to welcome you back with more experiences with Oxalis.

Last but not least, thank you for naming our sales member, Ms Thanh with such nice words for herself and Oxalis Team. We are trying our best to deliver our belief of real adventure and customer service, and your recognition means a lot for us to follow our way to make it come true.

Wish you all the best on your on-ward travel.

Adventurous Regards,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tu lan cave"
in 142 reviews
"hang en cave"
in 115 reviews
"son doong"
in 88 reviews
"bao"
in 28 reviews
"porter team"
in 21 reviews
"phong nha"
in 100 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 43 reviews
"base camp"
in 16 reviews
"professional company"
in 12 reviews
"day tour"
in 58 reviews
"local community"
in 13 reviews
"one night"
in 26 reviews
"food was amazing"
in 16 reviews
"every meal"
in 14 reviews
"packing list"
in 11 reviews
"river crossing"
in 11 reviews
"great company"
in 14 reviews
Filter

647 - 651 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2016

We did the 2D1N trekking to the Hang En Cave. Everything, from the briefing to the transfer back to the hotel in Dong Hoi, was done professionaly and with sincere friendliness.
Our guides were genuinely nice guys, well informed and spoke English very well.
The trekking to the cave was a moderate 11km walk through beautiful terrain, surrounded bij high mountains full of lush jungle.
The cave itself was so impressively huge and beautiful, it made us stop in awe. So special to have spent a night there.
The next day we explored the cave to the main entrance and we were even more overwhelmed by beauty of it all. We'll remember this one for the rest of our lives.
Only one minor thing: the 'mattress' in the tent was as think as ricepaper, so sleeping was quite uncomfortable (but hey, you're sleeping in a freaking cave!).

Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2016

We did the 3/2 Tu Lan Cave Tour, and were extremely impressed by the nature around us and the staff running the show! Swimming in the caves is an experience we will never forget. Our guide Ken did an amazing job of showing us around and leading us through the jungle. The camping spots were outstanding, equipment high quality and food excellent. I would hope everyone does this tour when they visit Vietnam as it is absolutely not to be missed.

Thank Dsquared05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2016

Our dear friend,

How excited we are to know this tour is better than your dream. Your review will surely be passed on to Ken and the team as a pat on their back for their daily hard working.

Also, thank you for recommending us as a must-do tour in Vietnam. We will take this as a motivation to provide world-class adventure tours in the Kingdom of Cave in Quang Binh, Vietnam.

Hope to welcome you back another time within the next adventure or expedition with Oxalis.

With the best wishes,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely outstanding trip. We had a full group, so 16 of us made the 2 day trek, along with our guides Ken, Dai & Tao who were nothing short of fantastic. Kenn was the louder of the bunch rallying the troops with his jokes and humour but Dai and Tao were equally as great.

The trek there is fairly easy to complete if the conditions are good. It can get hot and humid but not so challenging. Nothing can beat that moment you get inside the cave and see camp for the first time.

The food throughout was the best we've had in Vietnam. The feast on the first night beyond impressive. There's plenty of rice wine to drink too.

The water is filtered and some of the group thought it tasted "like riverwater". We didn't have any issues with it. They do have tang to add to it at camp to take the edge off it.

The final part of the trek is hard going. A 90 minute trek up a very steep and tiresome hill but you are met at the top with cold beer (and water & coke).

Overall, as well as being a spectacular experience, everyone involved was brilliant. The guides, porters, cooks, assistants. Professional but fun. Would go back in a heartbeat (if they helicopter me up the last hill ;-) )

Thank kimmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2016

Xin chào Kim,

What a thoughtful and joyful review this is.

We are happy to learn that you had have a great time with the team of Ken, Dai and Thao, and enjoy trekking trails as well as the cave a lot. Thanks for your detailed description, which provides much information to future trekkers who love to go on this tour.

Oxalis Team look forward to welcome you again within another adventure with us whether we have helicopter for the last hill or not.

Have a fabulous day,

Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2016

I would define the Son Doong Cave tour as the “Adventure of a Life Time”; it is something you have to live/experience in order to appreciate the beauty and grand scale of the cave. In my opinion a tour of this type would not be possible if for Oxalis planning, organization, attention to detail and excellent service provided. This trip was focused on photography; the Oxalis team provided all key lighting equipment and team support to provide a unique photography experience and at the same time catering to the personal needs of each of the photographers in the group (I would definitely recommend this tour to fit fellow photographers). An A+ in terms of the camp sites, food (I am hooked now on Vietnamese food), the porter team (what an excellent group of people in terms of preparation, professionalism, dedication and joy they transmit), the photography sites chosen, and preservation effort. Oxalis recently inaugurated hotel provided excellent facilities, courteous staff and services for a relaxing experience after the trip.
I would like to especially thank Deb and Howard Limbert and the entire Oxalis porter team for this opportunity and unique experience. Besides all the good ratings mentioned above; and most important of all is the work being done to improve through the offering of these tours the quality of life for the local people.
I end my review commending Oxalis and the local teams and urge them to continue the conservation efforts so future generations can enjoy this amazing beauty.
Samuel Lainez

1  Thank samlainez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxalis Adventures also viewed

Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
 
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
 

Been to Oxalis Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing