We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind-blowingly awesome”
Review of Oxalis Adventures

Oxalis Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Oxalis Adventure Tours is organizing trekking tours below:- Trekking to Hang En (Swalow cave) the same system with Hang Son Doong (Son Doong cave) the world's biggest cave.- Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park Tour- Trekking to Tu Lan cave system, Hang Ken cave, Hung Ton cave system- Kayaking tour to 1500m inside Phong Nha Cave- And other special adventure tours. Oxalis is socialized in caving adventure, trekking, and jungle camping, Oxalis is working with Howard Limbert - the BCRA expedition team leader who found Son Doong cave to do caving education, training and cave exploration. Quang Binh is the best place for caving in Vietnam and in the region, best Vietnam Caves, and World largest cave Hang Son Doong
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed February 25, 2016

Definitely the highlight of my Vietnam trip. Initially expected that our 2-day tour to Hang Va probably wouldn't be worth the considerable amount we paid for it, but it ended up being so incredible that I would happily pay to do it again! I even hope to be able to afford the full 5-day Son Doong expedition on my next Vietnam trip!

The organisation and running of the tour was very professional - great staff, guides and porters/chef. They helped us organise a huge amount before we arrived and were always trying to provide the best service they could. As well as wanting us to have the best time we could, there was a huge focus on safety, and I always felt very secure with our guide, Seven. He was also very knowledgeable about geology, and (which was really great) cave photography - he helped us organise some amazing photos. Really really great guy, who definitely loved his job!

The organisation also has a huge interest in protecting the environment and keeping the caves in good condition. I think it's great that they're one of the first groups that have been given permission to access this caves as hopefully they will set a great example for future tour companies that operate in the area.

Thank Hugo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2016

Xin chào Hugo,

Thanks for your thorough and positive comment.

It’s wonderful to learn that you have finished Hang Va Expedition with beyond-expected feeling. Your great compliment on Seven’s knowledge and our team’s professionalism will be definitely returned to him and the team as a big motivation on our daily working.

Also, we are always putting environment protection at the first priority, the same as safety and conservation. So, hope to welcome you in Phong Nha again probably on Son Doong Expedition to see our continues support and efforts in protecting the environment and keeping the caves in excellent condition.

Adventurous Regards,

Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tu lan cave"
in 142 reviews
"hang en cave"
in 115 reviews
"son doong"
in 88 reviews
"bao"
in 28 reviews
"porter team"
in 21 reviews
"phong nha"
in 100 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 43 reviews
"base camp"
in 16 reviews
"professional company"
in 12 reviews
"day tour"
in 58 reviews
"local community"
in 13 reviews
"one night"
in 26 reviews
"food was amazing"
in 16 reviews
"every meal"
in 14 reviews
"packing list"
in 11 reviews
"river crossing"
in 11 reviews
"great company"
in 14 reviews
Filter

702 - 706 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2016 via mobile

If you're craving a unique adventure after visiting the crazy-crowded tourist destinations in Vietnam such as Halong Bay or Ninh Binh, this tour is perfect. My sister and I did the 2-Day, 1-night Hang En tour and had two wonderful guides along with a friendly team of porters. Of note - this trek is not easy..it requires multiple river crossings (often up to your waist), and climbing up and over boulders when you enter the cave. Most of our tour group was under 40. Prepare to get wet, and also have warm clothes for in the cave. Jungle trekking also presents slippery, narrow paths, however Oxalis provides water shoes which I recommend wearing. In all, Oxalis has done a wonderful job of promoting tourism in this national park in an eco-friendly and sustainable way, something that can not be said for many areas of Vietnam where the pollution detracts from the natural beauty.

The cave itself was stunning, however the atmosphere created by the staff made the experience that much more special. Thanks for everything, Oxalis!!!

Thank Gabby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2016

Xin chào Gabby,

We are thankful for your praise of our tours as a must-do in Vietnam.

Located in a remote and very beautiful area, we find ourselves take the responsibility to introduce and protect this area in an eco-friendly and sustainable way as you see. Nothing is more inspiring for us than receiving such recognition of our efforts from you. This motivates our team a lot to run the most amazing and the safest trekking and caving adventures in Phong Nha.

Hopefully we can welcome you, your family and friends again in Phong Nha within another Adventure or Expedition with Oxalis.

Adventurous Regards,

Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2016

Probably the highlight of my Vietnam trip. If you seek a non-touristy, challenging activity that is adventurous and fun, look no further.

1  Thank mehranemami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2016 via mobile

We have been on a few adventure tours and I was impressed by the Hang En cave organization and attention to detail. The meals were very good and prepared with hygienic care. The porters carried as much of your personal gear that you wanted to give them-a nice surprise. At camp the tents had 2 sleeping bags for each person and a small ground sheet was put out to reduce sand in the tent. The guides were attentive and knowledgeable. My one complaint... We are 69 and 70 and because of our date of birth we had to provide evidence of past activity to demonstrate our ability to make the trip. Maybe someone under 60, over weight and out of shape... No interview required. Not sure I know how to strike a balance here but really found the questioning a bit offensive.

Thank FriedaWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2016

Xin chào Bill,

Great thanks for your review with special compliments on our detail-oriented job. This is a great recognition to our effort to provide customers with high-quality adventure to Hang En.

For the same reason, we are sorry that our team might make you feel uncomfortable a bit with the medical questions. However, we believe that you have understood and forgiven us after such an amazing experience. We surely take your review as a good lesson for better communication in the future to ensure our customers’ full satisfaction.

Wish you all the best on your upcoming travel and hope to welcome you, your family and friends again in Phong Nha.


Kindest Regards,


Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2016 via mobile

We went swimming through a cave,was lots of fun and highly recommended. The guides are really helpful and look after every member of the group

Thank Ally_bongo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxalis Adventures also viewed

Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
 
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
 

Been to Oxalis Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;