We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We visited Anantara Dhigu in July 2014 and it was a marvelous experience. We had a beach villa and it had a strong sense of privacy which we enjoyed. We had half board and the food was quite good and always different. The sea was spectacular, exactly as you see in the postcards. Highly recommended! Only drawback was that the internet connection was slow.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Athena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Athena T,

We are delighted to read such a wonderful comment. Thank you very much for taking time out of your schedule, to share your experience with other travellers.

Knowing that we have been able to provide you as our guest a fantastic stay and some memories to take home, is the best thing about our daily work here at Anantara Dhigu Maldives!

We are going through each and every social media review during our team meetings, to discuss our successes and additional opportunities.

We are looking forward seeing you again at Anantara Dhigu Maldives your “home away from home.”

Warm regards from the Maldives,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 1,997 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

I had the privilege of going to Anantara Dhigu in May 2014. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. There was a team of friendly people waiting for our arrival and felt looked after for our entire stay. Welcome drinks, a cold cloth a perfect room. We stayed in a Beach villa for 3 nights and in a Water villa for 3 nights. We enjoyed both options and each room has it's own advantages. The Beach Villa is nice and central, very spacious and a great bathroom. The Water Villa is further out, more secluded and private. Has the BEST bath ever and it is great to take a swim in the ocean right from your balcony. The room service is great, we had a personalized note every evening to wish us a good night. The food and cocktails were great. What we really enjoyed is the fact that we could go to Veli and spend some time there as well. The service overall was absolutely great. Ms. Ellis and her staff treated us like royalty and it was easily the best holiday we ever had. I would like to thank everyone at Dhigu for the wonderful time there and we would love to return in the near future.

Room Tip: I would rather go with the Beach Villa as the Water Villas are quite far from everything but perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank natasja_scheepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear natasja_scheepers,

Thank you very much for such a great review! We are delighted to hear, that you have enjoyed you holiday with us and are very grateful for your lovely words.

You made the right choice with Anantara Dhigu for a relaxing vacation and to recharge. We remain focused to continue and enhance the experiences you have collected, here at Anantara Dhigu.

You are absolutely right, our bath rooms are really nice and we receive a lot of great comments about them. Thank you so much, for highlighting this in your review.

It’s a great benefit for our guests, that 3 individual resorts ( all with different concepts ) are connected to each other, separated through a beautiful, turquoise blue lagoon.

Our sister resort ‘Anantara Veli’ is the ideal choice for couples, traveling without children, while ‘Anantara Dhigu’ offers various options for families, traveling with kids.
Naladhu Maldives, our private island resort, offers the ultimate privacy, serviced by 1 housemaster, taking care for all the guest needs.

As you have experienced, we have everything available, what makes a holiday with us memorable.

We are looking forward to have you back on our island soon and sending sunny greetings to South Africa!

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

It was a family trip for us to the maldives and we chose Anantara Dhigu. The rooms were excellent and staffs were incredibly outstanding and considerate. Especially the general manager Torsten. He cared about every customer that stayed there. The restaurants were great. We went to 4 restaurants that were offered as choices. 3 out of four was great however one is terrible. The excellent restaurants were: 1. Fudhan-grilled and seafood 2. Origami-Creative Japanese cuisine and finally 3. Fushi cafe-breakfast buffet. The terrible restaurant was the 73 degree restaurant. The food per person costed 60USD but the food is absolutely hideous. Cooked to order tuna was way overlooked and deserts tasted like <€*=^£*. Fruits did not taste fresh. The only good thing that I could say about it was the restaurant's design and setting. In addition, including in the 60 dollars, if we wanted anything like filet Mignon and lobster, it will be charged for an extra fee. I mean, seriously. So ofcourse we did not order. That dining experience was worse than eating rotten street food. It was Not worth the value at all.

Everything else in Anantara Dhigu, however, was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobunluepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Tobunluepop,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with other travelers on trip advisor.

The voice of our guest is extremely valuable to us and serves as tool to implement improvements and enhancements throughout the resort and our service culture.

We hope you had a relaxing stay and the points you have mentioned did not detract too much from your positive experience.

Our culinary team has already taken immediate action and reviewed the operations in our 73 Degree restaurant. Our Executive Chef has initiated a tasting of the complete a la carte menu as well as all buffet concepts and implemented already some changes to recipes and presentations. We appreciate your feedback, thank you.

As you have experienced, our 3 properties ( Anantara Dhigu, Anantara Veli and Naladhu ) are just a few steps away from each other, separated by a beautiful lagoon and connected with a pontoon ( taxi boat ), which provides our guest with range of dining options, leisure activities, white sandy beaches and many other areas to discover.

Thank you once again for your honest words and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again!

Warm regards,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have been to Maldives before, and I was hoping the same top class experience at Anantara Dhigu. Food quality needs a lot of improvement here, even compared to some of the 4* resorts. Although there are several options (Italian, Thai etc.) available, its the not the kind you would expect for a resort in Maldives particularly for the price you pay.
Service - a bit un-natural and not professional type.
Has an excellent SPA.
Location, lagoon, villas are all good.
I probably won't choose Anantara for another visit, as there are better options for same or less money.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Girish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Girish A,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

We would like to apologize, that your culinary experience was not up to your expectation. Rest assured, we will look into this and treat this serious. Full satisfaction of all our guests is our target and we continue to save and improve our service standards.

Our new Executive Chef, who recently joined our culinary team, is currently reviewing all our outlets and has already done some changes and put in new ideas. We are very confident, that this will enhance the culinary experience for our guests, while we continue on the other side our associates’ training, in order to provide excellent service.

Your comment seems to indicate, that you had otherwise enjoyed your holiday at Anantara Dhigu Maldives.

Thank you once again for your feedback, which we have already share with our team, in order to improve and enhance the guest experience.

We would be more than happy, if you allow us, to show you our improvements during your next stay on the Maldives.

I would personally like to take care for your booking and requirements and hope you contact me directly by email: peggebrecht@anantara.com

Warm regards,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I always thought heaven was a place most of us went to when we died. Somewhere up there, far beyond the blue sky, and fluffy clouds. A place where you felt euphoria every day and walked around pinching yourself to see if you really were dead or in fact just dreaming. This week I discovered that actually, in the words of Belinda Carlisle, Heaven is a Place on Earth, and it's only a short four hour plane trip from Bangkok. It's a place called the Maldives, and it really is Heaven on Earth.

From arriving at Male airport and being whipped through immigration and collecting bags within about fifteen minutes,we were sitting in the comfort of the Anantara Maldives Welcome Lounge waiting to be escorted to the boat that would take us to the resort. Looking over the edge of the pier I was astounded to see beautiful crystal blue water glistening up from a snow white bed of sand. If this is what the water at the jetty looked like, what on earth was the resort going to deliver?

Forty minutes later, after bounding over gentle waves in a speedboat, marvelling at the patches of intermittent crystal aqua waters interspersed between dark blue areas of ocean outside the reef, we disembarked to a welcome parade of Resort staff beating drums, and clapping hands, just as I imagine God greets a newcomer.

Heaven. A bungalow planted in the lagoon, with steps directly entering the lapping waves. The seabed visible for as far as the eye can see, turning various shades of darker blue as it leads to the reef. Opening the windows to allow a sea breeze to engulf the room brought sounds of waves that could lull you to sleep. Whilst there were other bungalows next door, the design allowed for privacy and it felt like we were in our own little world.

Looking over the railing I saw a pod of manta rays float by, followed by a turtle bobbing around in the waves enjoying his afternoon play. Fish of all shapes and sizes chose to join us for a swim, and I truly felt at one with nature.

In the words of Mark Twain- “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did so. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” So that's what I decided to do.

Surfing the waves with the professional surf instructor saw me do something I believed I was well past. How exhilarating to be riding the waves on top of a reef with the tropical fish swimming below. Night fishing saw us catch ( and throw back ) a beautiful rainbow coloured fish. Looking for dolphins delivered just that, what remarkable creatures and such an experience watching them ride the drag of the boat, whilst putting on a show of tricks and spins to delight those on board.

The island felt like home, just as Heaven must. The staff so friendly and eager to please. Riding around the island on bikes with not a care in the world allowed me to totally relax and enjoy. We had the most amazing holiday and cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AussiExpatinHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear AussiExpatinHongKong,

Thank you so much for your great review! Amazing!

It is very rewarding for our team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience at Anantara. Indeed, it is the Anantara way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

Maldives as a destination itself is brilliant! The warm hospitality of the Maldivian culture, the magnificent views of the Indian Ocean and a luxury environment are a superb combination to relax and enjoy this place of the world. Great to see that you have experienced also some watersport activities!

Each Anantara Hotel and Resort draws its strength from the rich cultural traditions, historic heritage and natural beauty of its destination. As such, every experience is a unique voyage of discovery and inspiration that is distinctly Anantara.

We have already shared your lovely review with our team members and all of us are looking forward to welcome you soon back again!

Warm regards from the Maldives,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Although the weather was not promising when we arrived at the resort, the front staff & Ms Joanna greet us with a warm greeting & smiling faces

Beside the good foods, cozy rooms to beautiful corals, this is the place you can called it a "Paradise"

Only a minor hiccup on the last day we check out.

We was completely wet due to heavy rain as the buggy that we call was unshielded. When we ask why, the staff said it was dangerous to put up cover as we are staying at the water villa.
We got a shock when another buggy passing by was fully covered. It puzzle me & sound weird why this staff said so. Maybe we didn't give him tips...hahaahaa :)

Thank you so much for hosting us with your warm & wonderful hospitality, especially Ms Joanna Lardizabal for being helpful to show us around the 3 property (Anantara Dhigu, Anantara Veli & Naladhu Resort)

Of coz we will highly recommend to our corporate clientele, friends & family

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Christy Y,

We are delighted to see, that we played a key role for the success of your holiday.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your schedule to share your experience with other travellers on trip advisor.

We are more than happy to read your feedback. It makes us glad, that we could contribute to making your trip to the Maldives a great experience for you and for your family.

Your feedback has been shared already across the whole team, who are equally delighted to have received such positive comments. We have well noted your comment concerning the buggy transportation and I will personally look into this one. Thank you very much, for bringing this to my notice.

Thank you once again for your lovely words, we are looking forward to see you soon again on your paradise island!

Warmest regards from the entire team,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Heaven on earth, I don't want to leave this place, we stayed for 3 days and 2 nights and this resort is a paradise. This location is very good as this is only 30-mins via speedboat from Male airport compared to some beach resort that you need to have sea plane transfer. This resort also is 5-mins via speed boat from Anantara Veli.

One word "Paradise". And, I will surely come back to this Paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear vinatraveler,

We are more than happy, that you have enjoyed your stay at Anantara Dhigu and all our efforts have contributed to the success of your well-deserved holiday ‘at your heaven on earth’.

All of us are extremely grateful that you took time out from your schedule to share this wonderful feedback. The voice of our guests is extremely valuable to us and serves as tool to implement improvements and enhancements throughout the resort and our service culture.

We are truly appreciative of your comments and your positive recommendation of our resort.

All of us would be delighted to have the privilege of welcoming you back to our resort, and do hope you will visit us again soon.

Best regards from the Maldives,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhigufinolhu Island
19.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
17.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,755 reviews
9 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,347 reviews
4.4 mi away
COMO Cocoa Island
COMO Cocoa Island
#1 of 1 in Cocoa Island
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort

Address: Dhigufinolhu, South Male Atoll, 2098
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Dhigufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhigufinolhu Island
Price Range: $558 - $2,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical island paradise set in the South Male Atoll, just half an hour from Male international Airport, Anantara offers the Maldives resort experience you've only dreamt about, with two lush islands, Dhigufinolhu and Veligandu Huraa. Unwind on endless white sand beaches, palm-fringed islands and pristine coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Dhigu Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Dhigu Resort And Spa
Anantara Resort Maldives
Anantara Maldives
Anantara Hotel Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing