We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth, I don't want to leave this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
241 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth, I don't want to leave this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Heaven on earth, I don't want to leave this place, we stayed for 3 days and 2 nights and this resort is a paradise. This location is very good as this is only 30-mins via speedboat from Male airport compared to some beach resort that you need to have sea plane transfer. This resort also is 5-mins via speed boat from Anantara Veli.

One word "Paradise". And, I will surely come back to this Paradise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear vinatraveler,

We are more than happy, that you have enjoyed your stay at Anantara Dhigu and all our efforts have contributed to the success of your well-deserved holiday ‘at your heaven on earth’.

All of us are extremely grateful that you took time out from your schedule to share this wonderful feedback. The voice of our guests is extremely valuable to us and serves as tool to implement improvements and enhancements throughout the resort and our service culture.

We are truly appreciative of your comments and your positive recommendation of our resort.

All of us would be delighted to have the privilege of welcoming you back to our resort, and do hope you will visit us again soon.

Best regards from the Maldives,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    215
    52
    30
    17
See reviews for
483
687
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Wow what a beautiful place. Think of paradise and it will still not match the beauty of here. The service was great, the staff were really friendly and the spa was amazing. The Thai restaurant on Veli was one of our highlights with a setting that keeps you mesmerized! It's not a cheap option though so be prepared!! It was truly the most idiyllic place for a romantic, relaxing and perfect honeymoon.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Debbie G,

Great to see, you have reached home safely after your trip to Anantara Dhigu Maldives.

Thank you so very much for all those words of encouragement. We have already shared your lovely comments with the entire team. We take pride in creating amazing stories and warm hospitality.

Knowing that we have been able to provide you as our guest a fantastic stay and some memories to take home, is the best thing about our daily work here at Anantara Dhigu Maldives!

We are going through each and every social media review during our team meetings, to discuss our successes and additional opportunities.

I personally look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Anantara Dhigu Resort Maldives in the near future.

Warm regards,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

this is the best service you can find on the planet.
the crew is so helpfull , it is clear that they are very well trained for this purpose.
the land is amazing for sure. the ocean and the lagun is very clear and it has plenty nice beaches and pools to enjoy. the restaurants are good and the weather in june is also very well. for honey moon couples it is exactly the best place to be. the sand villas should be selected as the one on the ocean are without and garden, green plant and shadowed areas. the bathrooms are very cute and the beds are king size. in the sand villas the wind is so strong that you dont need any a/c and you can sleep the doors left open. you can use bikes which are at several points of the island for free. to swim with stingrays and sharks are amazing:)

Room Tip: sunset beach villas are good for more windy weather, getting less hot. and very special beach to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank istanbuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear istanbuller,

We are very proud to receive comments like yours, as part of our ongoing effort is to understand the guests needs, combined with our luxury environment. We will pass on your comments to our team across the board, as feedback like yours is telling us, we’re on the right way!

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at Anantara Dhigu!

All our luxury Beach Villas and the Over Water Villas are equipped with a lot of nice amenities, such as free Wifi-Internet, outdoor terrace, flat-screen TV with international channels, Minibar as well as coffee makers.

Indeed, the outdoor bath rooms in our Beach Villas are a real WOW factor and we receive a lot of positive comments from our guests.

We are looking forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future at our paradise island Anantara Dhigu Maldives.

Warm regard from the Maldives,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I really regret that i just stay for 5 days at this beautiful paradise. If i can plan my visit again, i will stay at least a week to enjoy more activities and try more restaurants in this beautiful hotel.

Unlike other hotel in Maldives, Anantara Dhigu are actually form by three islands. Thus the area are much bigger than the other hotel in Maldives.

The big area make the hotel have many different restaurants which make the hotel really special, you can choose from Thai food, Japanese food, western food or buffet...... And all are very delicious, especially the thai food at Baan Huraa and the seafood at Fuddan Fusion Grill, you must need to try it at lease once~~ Although the price may be a little bit expensive but still acceptable.

I have stay at the overwater suite, the room are very big and well equip. Also the view are spectacular. you can walk directly to the water from your room and there also a shower at the sun deck for the convenience.

The service, no doubt that is first class service. I have visit others Anantara hotels at Bangkok and Phuket, they both have good service but Dhigu have the highest service level! Every staff have s big smile on their face and are all really helpful.

A Big thanks to Anantara Dhigu~~

Room Tip: Spend at least a week at this hotel to enjoy all the facilities!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear NG C,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are more than happy, that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

Indeed, it’s a great benefit for our guests, that 3 individual resorts ( all with different concepts ) are connected to each other, separated through a beautiful, turquoise blue lagoon. Our sister resort ‘Anantara Veli’ is the ideal choice for couples, traveling without children, while ‘Anantara Dhigu’ offers various options for families, traveling with kids.

Naladhu Maldives, our private island resort, offers the ultimate privacy, serviced by 1 housemaster, taking care for all the guest needs.

As you know, our choice of different dining options and restaurants will leave you with many options every evening! The Japanese Restaurant “Origami”, the Italian Restaurant “Terrazzo”, our Thai Restaurant “Baan Huraa” or one of our 2 Theme Buffet Restaurants ( Fushi Café & 73 Degree ) are just some of the options, our guests can choose from.

Rest assured, we will continue with this kind of service, as complete satisfaction is our passion at Anantara Dhigu Maldives, your family resort.

The voice of our guests is extremely valuable to us and serves as tool to implement improvements and enhancements throughout the resort and our service culture. We have already shared your comment with our team.

When are you coming back? All of us are looking forward to welcome you soon again at Anantara Dhigu Maldives!

Sunny regards,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

we are family of 4 with 5 and 9 years old boys, we had wonderful time in this hotel, right from the pickup from the airport which was well organized till the welcome drumming that they received us with when we reached the hotel. the rooms are spacious with great attention to details, when arrived the room was already set with the 2 extra beds for the kids along with cartoon printed towels, kids tooth brushes and kids toothpaste.... kids were so excited to find these things arranged for them also we found 4 life jackets 2 are for the kids as well.I would have preferred more view of the sea, it was sunset villa and you can't see the sea from your front porch.
the staff was the best from Nihan in the reception who accompanied us to the room and explained all the facilities of the hotel to Duhha, Ali and Joe in the water sport center and Jully from the breakfast restaurant who were very helpful, kind and genuinely doing their best to make you happy and enjoying your stay. wouldn't recommend June; there was thunderstorms which is the last thing you want to have on an island vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raniahassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Raniahassan,

Thank you so very much for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with other travellers on trip advisor.

It is very rewarding for our team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience at Anantara. Indeed, it is the Anantara way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

Rest assured, we will continue with this kind of service, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Anantara Dhigu Maldives, your family resort. The voice of our guests is extremely valuable to us and serves as tool to implement improvements and enhancements throughout the resort and our service culture.

We have already shared your comment with our team, especially with Nihan, Duhaa, Ali, Jully and Joe.

It is a pleasure for us, to work in this industry, because of feedback like yours. When all our efforts are contributing to create a memorable guest experience, we know, we are on the right way, as full guest satisfaction is our target at Anantara.

I personally look forward to an opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Anantara Dhigu Resort Maldives in the near future.

Warm regards from the Indian Ocean,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stay at Anantara Dhigu from Jun 9-15. We do quite a bit of research to decide the best resort that can not only cater for family but also provide the 5* star service of a luxury resorts. We are very happy that we have make the right choice of staying at Anantara Dhigu. It has live up to our expectation.

We stay at Sunset beach villa which is perfect since beach is just right in front of our door step. It has lots of activities like table tennis, beach soccer, volley etc to cater for our the hotel guest.

It's very nice for the hotel to provide live coverage of the World Cup on each of the room.

June is suppose to be a rainy season but weather is very good & we only have rain only on 2 nite which did not cause much of a disruption.

Overall we are very happy with the service provided by Anantara & also the facilities.

One thing which I hope the manager can take note & make correction is the brochure which is given out to all the guest on arrival. It mentioned that there is a Japanese restaurant on Veli which is open for lunch & dinner. I even called reception to check before going. When we arrived at Deli, we were told that they are not open for lunch. We were quite disappointed as staffs should have informed us that it's not open for lunch. And get the info correct on the brochure.

This aside it's a great & wonderful stay for my family & we truely enjoy our stay & holidays. We will be back again.

We stay at villa 50 which is close to the spa. Perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garysoon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Garysoon68,

Thank you very much for your amazing review of Anantara Dhigu. We are more than happy to read your feedback. It makes us glad, that we could contribute to making your trip to the Maldives a great experience for you and your family.

You made the right choice with Anantara Dhigu for a relaxing vacation and to recharge. We remain focused to continue and enhance the experiences you have collected, here at Anantara Dhigu.

“Anantara” The word in Sanskrit means "without end" and evokes the freedom, movement and harmony that are the spirit of the Anantara Experience. Each Anantara Resort draws its strength from the rich cultural traditions, historic heritage and natural beauty of its destination. As such, every experience is a unique voyage of discovery and inspiration that is distinctly Anantara.

We have well noted your comment concerning the opening timings on the welome brochure and I will personally review the printings. Thank you very much for bringing this to my attention!

We can’t wait to welcome you back on one of our 3 islands! All of us are looking forward to your next visit!

Warm regards from the Maldives,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Anantara Dhigu is not a normal luxury hotel. It is a super excellent hotel, such a small island, are actually three small islands surrounded by an atoll, there is always calm sea, the waves do not come. You have everything to relax. Went with my children 21, 19 and 15 years, we had a great time. They have catamarans, sailboats, kayaks, jet skis, etc.. You can surf, take you by boat to find the waves. Diving, snorkeling there are plenty of colorful fish, very clean and clear waters. The staff is very professional activities, especially Rodolfo a good person who always try to help. There is a fee but it's when I say everything is everything. The service is incredible, always nice and sympathetic. Everything is very clean. The rooms are spectacular, they are very large, nicely decorated. We chose the over water, highly recommended. If I one day, I would like a lot, could choose the sunset beach, my kids were in one of them, they are also very nice with a large bath with shower, terrace, i inside is all, nothing is missing You have until mosquito repellent. The restaurant is very well served, every day you have a different buffet. You have an Italian restaurant, a Japanese restaurant by the pool with a large pool, where you can eat light meal and you can drink cocktails, beers, soft drinks and all kinds of alcoholic beverages. For children have a very large mini club, I recommend going with children. People looking for a kind of holiday with many people, with music, discotheques, casinos do not go to this hotel but if you want tranquility, nature, relaxation, this is your hotel. The welcome and farewell are forever remember. We took a pleasant memory of this hotel. We were in Eastern holidays.

Room Tip: The rooms are spectacular in the water, but if I possibly choose this wonderful hotel and room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xagiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Xagiri,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on trip advisor with other travellers.

You are absolutely right, we welcome all of our valued guests with a cultural Maldivian ‘Bodu-Beru’ performance and we receive a lot of great feedbacks from our guests.

It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the service offered at our water sport center ‘Aquafanatics’, as well as at our Kids Club. Personalized service is of great importance to Anantara, and we invest heavily into training to ensure every guest feels special.

Thank you for taking the time to appreciate this service. Your feedback has been shared across the whole team, who are equally delighted to have received such positive comments.

Each Anantara Hotel and Resort draws its strength from the rich cultural traditions, historic heritage and natural beauty of its destination. As such, every experience is a unique voyage of discovery and inspiration that is distinctly Anantara.

All of us are looking forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again in the near future at our paradise island Anantara Dhigu Maldives.

Warm regards,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhigufinolhu Island
19.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naladhu Resort Maldives
Naladhu Resort Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
5.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 stars 2,923 reviews
11.2 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
22.6 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort

Property: Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Address: 2014
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Dhigufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhigufinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical island paradise set in the South Male Atoll, just half an hour from Male international Airport, Anantara offers the Maldives resort experience you've only dreamt about, with two lush islands, Dhigufinolhu and Veligandu Huraa. Unwind on endless white sand beaches, palm-fringed islands and pristine coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Dhigu Resort And Spa
Anantara Dhigu Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Resort Maldives
Anantara Maldives
Anantara Hotel Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing