We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here end of May to beginning of June for our honeymoon. My first concern was the weather. It did rain but when it did was mainly late a night and for a short part of the day. We had a couple of days which were overcast but we came for 11 nights so didn't bother us.

On arrival we were greeted by all the staff, which is a lovely way to start your holiday. We were given a room at the end of the pier which was amazing. It looked out to the private small island opposite. Some people prefer to be on the sunset side but I preferred the sunrise as the water was shallow here. From our deck we saw so many fish and ray and even small sharks! The room itself was amazing, huge bed, high ceilings, BIG bathroom. There is even a glass floor by the toilet so you can watch the fish below. Also if you have the room at the end of the pier you can swim and sometimes even walk to the other island! Its a small little island with some sun beds, a hammock and a small bar so you can enjoy a cold beer!

We thought all the food was great here and loved the Thai restaurant. Make sure you get a table outside so you can watch the reef sharks below! We opted for the half board option, dine around breakfast & dinner but still found ourselves snacking a lunch. The maldives is very expensive so be prepared for this.

All the staff here were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The guys at the bar made the best cocktails and our cleaner who did our room every day was fab. When we arrived they had put petals on the bed and on our last day as well. Our mini bar was also well stocked with everything you need and they bring you fresh bottled water every day.

The hotel also gives you a bicycle for your stay here which is a great way to get around.

We had an amazing time here. The maldives is very expensive so if you are looking for a resort that has a bit of everything and is a little cheaper some other resorts then this is your place. What was also nice about this place as that it didn't seem busy even though most of the rooms were booked. Another thing I liked was that the resort consists of three islands and if you have half board dine around you can eat at the other restaurants on the other islands, so there is no chance of getting board.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the end of the pier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear TanyaMen,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay experience on Trip Advisor.

We are most delighted that you had an amazing honeymoon stay with us and enjoyed the excellent service from our team. Most of all, we appreciate your sharing your memorable dining experience and your time spend at the little island of Gulhi Fushi.

Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,997 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our second trip to the Maldives and our first time staying at this resort. The purpose of our vacation was to go surfing and relax. There were a few high points to this resort and a few areas that could use some improvement.

the high points:
1) I found that the resort itself is very nice. I like how large the island is. We stayed in a beach bungalow with an outside bathroom. I left like the room was very nice and large and what I would expect. The bed was huge and very comfortable.
2) The surf was amazing, great breaks, Kym and Amy from Tropicsurf are wonderful guides and hosts.
3) The spa was wonderful and the over water massage was great.
4) Baan Huraa- The Thai restaurant on the neighboring island is very authentic as other reviewers have noted. The view at the restaurant over looking the coral break is beautiful. In the evening you can see little baby sharks, scorpion fish and schools of blue green parrot fish swimming around.

Areas for improvement
1) The food at any other restaurant I found average or below average. The breakfast felt like a cattle call with a mad rush of people eating as much food as they possibly could, and as quickly as they could. There were lots of times that different items would run out. We had a pizza for lunch at Terrazo and we swore it was a frozen pizza, it was terrible. We went to the seafood buffet and the fish was unappealing.
2) The staff - though I found that staff to be friendly I wouldn't consider them to be world class. Not what you would expect to receive in the Maldives. They didn't get to know you by name and there just didn't feel like there were personal touches, it didnt feel like they cared at all. You were left with the cattle-call feeling again.
3) Internet- The wifi in our room was terrible. It went out for almost half of our trip. I mentioned this to the front desk and was provided a apologetic smile but really no initiative to fix this was demonstrated. I was directed to the lab behind the front desk- in which the internet was working.

Over-all in thinking back about my experience I did not feel like the money I spent at the resort was worth what I experienced. I think as a traveler when you travel this far and spend this much on a trip its the worse feeling when you don't feel like your money was well spent, I am sadly left with this feeling about this resort. The only reason why I would return is to come back surfing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsmmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear JSMana,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the beach bungalow, our signature over water spa massage as well as a great time surfing. Your special mention on our Baan Huraa Thai restaurant is highly appreciated.

We have reviewed your comments in detail on the areas of improvement part with our team and offer our sincerest apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. Whether it might be the opportunity with your dining experience at the restaurants or the wifi connectivity, we can assure you these opportunities are not indicative of our resort however this certainly does not diminish the fact you did not enjoy a memorable experience with our team.

We have discussed the points you have highlighted with our team and have taken steps and corrective measures. We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests, even if it is of a disappointing nature, as this is the way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the service level we aim to provide.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me when you wish to return. It will be my pleasure to assist you with your reservations arrangement. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed there over last 8 days...the location is really nice...REALLY nice...a small paradise...but one that definitely deserves better management and service :

Restaurant service is just poor...very poor...delays, wrong order taking, not trained staff....you have to clean your own table sometimes...

Where is the Management of the Hotel ? No presence and no personalized contact during the stay.. shocking... we dont know who is who and who does what....

Definitely this island resort needs better management and more investment to get staff trained properly for the 5 star service people pay...

6  Thank bm1976
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle K, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear bm1975,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

We have reviewed your comments in detail with our team and offer our sincerest apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. Whether it might be the opportunity with your dining experience at the restaurants or personalised contact, we can assure you these opportunities are not indicative of our resort however this certainly does not diminish the fact you did not enjoy a memorable experience with our team.

We have discussed the issues you have highlighted with our team and have taken steps and corrective measures. We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests, even if it is of a disappointing nature, as this is the way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the service level we aim to provide.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me when you wish to our resort or any other Anantara Hotel Resort & Spa. It will be my pleasure to assist you with your reservations arrangement. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are just back from 8 days at this resort. This was our second visit to the Maldives (previously stayed at Four Seasons Kuda Huraa). Anantara Dhigu is lovely - beautiful location with wonderful sandy beaches. The rooms are terrific (sunset beach villa). Our teenagers spent most of their time in, on or under the water. The staff at Aquafanatics were brilliant - very friendly, professional and helpful with diving, wakeboarding and funrides. Tropicsurf (Alex) was also excellent and both our children improved their surfing skills. The restaurants were pretty good, especially the Thai restaurant; the best thai food I have had outside Thailand. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we always felt that their greetings and service were genuine - not forced because they were told to be friendly. It is not quite as luxurious as Four Seasons Maldives but also was not as expensive. We would definitely go back to Anantara.

Room Tip: Sunset beach villas are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review.

It is a pleasure to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay experience with us. We are glad the family enjoyed our beautiful sunset beach villa as well as the activities and great services with Aquafanatics and Tropicsurf.

Your high commendation of our Baan Huraa Thai restaurant food and services is very much appreciated.

We anticipate your return to the Anantara Maldives again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed at the resort from 28th July for 7N/8D. The resort was extremely kid friendly and our two sons enjoyed them immensely. Food selection for the kids was great and the service was fantastic.

Food for adults was average, after the 3rd night gets a bit repetitive and consider the cost there should be a wider menu. Food & drink is not value for money but this is a once in a lifetime holiday and i would still recommend the resort

Room Tip: Stayed in Villa 67 (Sunrise), fantastic setup for our kids. We were right near the kids club, the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear bpadda,

Thank you for sharing your feedback via Trip Advisor.

We are most pleased the family had a memorable stay and the children had a great time at our Kidz Club and the pool. Yourcomment of receiving fantastic service from our team means a great deal to us all. We have taken note of your comments on food varieties in our outlets to our culinary team, whom will brainstorm immediate improvements, ensuring we meet our guest expectations.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a lovely time at Anantara Dhigu. Everything was lovely - especially the outdoor bath and shower. There was a lot to do for our son and the kids club was good. Food was a bit average at some of the outlets - but the Thai Restuaran on Veli was amazing. We were so relaxed at the end of the holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leyla76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Leyla76,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are glad you had a wonderful stay and your son enjoyed the activities with our Kidz Club. We have taken note of your comments on food in our outlets to our culinary team whom are constantly revitalizing in ensuring we meet our guest expectations.

Your special mention of our Baan Huraa Thai restaurant is highly appreciated and we are glad you had an amazing experience here particularly.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wonderful stay at this great resort with very friendly and caring staff.
Wish they had had 'happy hour' at AquaBar just like most other resorts.
Rooms were just lovely with comfortable bedding. Waking up to the view of the sea every morning was blissful
Kayaking is complimentary and the children enjoyed this activity - the hammock in the sea on the Aqua Bar side was a real treat as we swam out there to have a lie in it! the table tennis table needs to be attended to and perhaps a dart board should be considered ?
LIBRARY was great design, but more interesting browsing books needed.
All in all a truely enjoyable and relaxing stay and a resort we will return to and HIGHLY recommend.

Room Tip: Choose the villas over the water bungalows as they located in lush greenery and on the beach !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear M K,

Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.

I am glad your family had a truly enjoyable and wonderful stay.

We are indeed getting a new table tennis set for the resort which will be available to our guests around end of the month. Additionally, we are looking at enhancing the selection of books in our library.

We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and high recommendation. We are looking forward to welcoming your family back soon to our beautiful resort.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhigufinolhu Island
19.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
17.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,755 reviews
9 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,347 reviews
4.4 mi away
COMO Cocoa Island
COMO Cocoa Island
#1 of 1 in Cocoa Island
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort

Address: Dhigufinolhu, South Male Atoll, 2098
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Dhigufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhigufinolhu Island
Price Range: $558 - $2,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical island paradise set in the South Male Atoll, just half an hour from Male international Airport, Anantara offers the Maldives resort experience you've only dreamt about, with two lush islands, Dhigufinolhu and Veligandu Huraa. Unwind on endless white sand beaches, palm-fringed islands and pristine coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Dhigu Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Dhigu Resort And Spa
Anantara Resort Maldives
Anantara Maldives
Anantara Hotel Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing