We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dream”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just returned last night from a great 7 day stay on Anantara. We really could not have asked for more. Brilliant diving with Max and Victor, top rate childcare for our 10 month old from Aesha and Niddhu, excellent service from Xavier, Sadeem and all at the poolside, Great food at Fuddan and the Thai restaurant, and super yoga and massage at the spa.And last but not least thank you Faisal for entertaining the little ones on the boat . All the staff were so great with our daughter which meant that we really did get a good break. Thank you all so much!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfryar, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear JulietB,

Warm greetings from the Maldives.

It was wonderful to read our team has made you & your family's stay with us memorable. We all look forward in having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Matthew Fryar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    266
    64
    31
    20
See reviews for
685
838
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Enjoyed an idyllic experience in an over water sunset suite at this delightful resort just a 40-minute speed boat ride from Male airport. A substantial staff presence is there to welcome you onto the jetty and there again to say goodbye. The resort is one of three Anantara resorts situated a quick boat ride from each other, each offering restaurants of different cuisines that patrons can easily access. Large balconies overlook a great expanse of blue water. Guests can enjoy snorkeling, canoeing, yachting, jet-skiing and scuba diving. A traditional Thai massage in the spa centre is a treat. Impressed to see the Resident Manager a visible presence around the resort starting the day by chatting to guests during breakfast. A first class experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfryar, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear IanDubai,

Greetings from the Maldives.

Thank you for sharing your stay experience during your recent holiday with us. Great to see you were able to take advantage of what we have to offer and look forward in being able to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards
Matthew Fryar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Anantara Dhigu overwater suite for 6 days and everyday was just perfect!

All the staff from the point of arrival, speedboat transfer, reception, housekeeping to restaurants - everyone was nice and helpful especially our housekeeper Ahmed. Definitely no complaints at all.

By the way, all the restaurants (we dined at all of them even the Thai restaurant at Anantara Veli except for Fuddan cafe which we didn't try) offer great food, portion is generous and is reasonably priced as well.

Only one hiccup is that their wifi in room was down for the whole time of our stay. Luckily the wifi at all the restaurants worked very well which made up for it.

We highly recommend this resort and do plan to go back for another relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfryar, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Stella0707,

Thank you for sharing your 'perfect' stay experience with us all.

Its great to see that throughout your stay our team has been attentive and your special mention of Ahmed your housekeeper is truly appreciated! We do apologize for the lack of wifi connectivity in your villa during your stay our technicians did identify the source of the problem which has now been fixed. We are thankful however you were still able to stay in touch whilst throughout our restaurants.
We look forward in welcoming you back to Anantara in the near future and please feel free to contact me personally at anytime.

Warm regards
Matthew Fryar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is amazing - every bit of it - from the boat transfers to and from the island, to the food, drinks, accommodation, spa, facilities and servce - it is all amazing. The one thing we loved and that really made this place stand out were the staff - utterly helpful but without being over-bearing and annoying.

We stayed on a half board basis and had the option of dining on either island - both fo which had different themse each evening - you can also eat at any of the non-inclusive retsaurants and receive a discount per person off the bill which is a great deal and provdies more variety.

The spa is great, if not a little pricey - but lovely having a massage watching th sealife below you.

Easy to move about between the two main isalnds by boat and you can visit a third uninhabited island via kayak for relaxuing and snorkelling - kayaks were free to hire for 2 hrs every day.

A real paradise....cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Veli island allows families.....stay on dighu island if you want a child free time. if on Dighu, ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfryar, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear 978luv2travel,

It is wonderful to read that your stay in paradise with us has been an amazing experience! Nice to see that you have taken advantage of our lagoons natural environment and your trip out to our private island of Gulhi Fushi has led to some nice snorkeling. We look forward in welcoming you back to Anantara in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Warm regards
Matthew Fryar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed 7 nights in an overwater villa for our honeymoon. We were so grateful and surprised when presented with champagne, strawberries and chocolate and a voucher for a complimentary candlelit honeymoon dinner to help us celebrate our marriage.

The room was huge and opened onto the large balcony. The bathroom was lovely, modern and the bath looks out over the water. The only issue we had was the bed was lumpy so after the first night sleep I advised the staff and the service was fantastic. They went and got a new mattress overlay from another island for us which was very much appreciated.

I can't rate highly enough the food on the island. I have a fructose intolerance which is quite hard to deal with but the exec chef ensured that all restaurants were aware and could cater for me. For every single meal the chef came out to go through my options with me and the exec chef came a number of times also to check up on me. The food was exceptional!

The islands are so beautiful and you have everything you need there. I didn't visit the spa so can't comment on that.

Maldives seemed like a once in a lifetime for us but I'm happy to keep saving now and hope we can go back to Anantara one day in the future, best holiday I have had.

Big thank you to all the amazing staff who made our honeymoon so special!

Room Tip: We absolutely loved being in an overwater bungalow but the only comment I can make is that unfortuna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfryar, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear lozz13,

We are delighted to see that your 'once in a lifetime' trip has been a truly memorable one! Our team has been positive in providing you with your needs and we have shared your appreciation with them all. Thank you for sharing with us your recommendation on how we may improve our beach experience for guests staying in our overwater villas and we will review this with the team.
We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future so you can again experience the wonderful Maldives.

Warmest regards
Matthew Fryar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Me and my husband just came back from our 10th year wedding anniversary trip at Maldives and of course jetlag is upon us so writing a review is just perfect timing. Everyone should have this country in their bucket list.

First of all, Maldives is probably the best place for rest and relaxation. it is definitely the most romantic place to be (Travel channel is sooo right!). It's prestine beach is absolutely amazing. The sky was dark and it was a bit windy when we arrived the country but that didnt ruin our stay.
ARRIVAL:
Since our flight arrived at 10pm, we decided to get a local hotel in Male(which would be my other TA review) coz we didnt want to spend $$$ if we already lost half the day. Our local hotel and Anantara coordinate our transfer before our arrival to the country which I think was a plus. We left our local hotel at 11:45 am since the transfer to Anantara is scheduled at noon. We were greeted by an Anantara representative at the port closes to the hotel so it wasnt a long walk. We were the only guests picked up so it felt really private. We were given a cold towel with some aromatic oil in it (which i loved) and were handed a cold bottled water. it was abt a 30 min speedboat ride. The boat ride was nice since we got to see some of the atolls and how nice the water is. Upon arrival to the jetty, we were greeted with 3-4 resort representative and a local drummer! wow this arrival was sooo grand! They took an arrival pic and showed us to the reception area where we were given a ginger ice cold tea! although our room wasnt ready since we arrived the resort at 12:30. We waited at Aqua bar by the pool area for about 2 hrs but we cant complain. since we got busy taking pics and just enjoying the view. We are already mesmerized by that time.
OVERWATER SUNRISE VILLA
One word to describe our villa: AMAZING!!!!
The room layout was perfect, the bed was sooo comfortable, the view: SPECTACULAR, the bathroom: SPEECHLESS. The entry way was a lil dining area with coffee, fridge and mini bar. it opens up to the bedroom with a sitting area. the bed is facing the french door leading to the private deck overlooking the lagoon. the bathroom has a his and hers sink. a separate toilet area with the a glass bottom 12x12 that you can see the lagoon. an open shower area facing the ocean as well.... and the best part: bathtub - it overlooks the lagoon and it fits 2 people comfortably. I made sure that I used the tub almost everyday while looking out the window with a glass of wine.

RESORT and STAFF
The resort is clean and well maintaned. The staff are all so nice and very friendly. Yes sometimes due to the language barrier its a lil hard to communicate with SOME of them but they try their best to communicate with us. Our safe wasnt working when we got there and the quick response fr engineering/maintenance was INSTANT. Our housecleaning guy "Issu" was sooo friendly and nice. Me and my husband loved him! On our last night, the resort surprised us with rose petals on our bed, bathtub ready with bubbles and rose petals and decorated 2 swans out of bath towels. they also prepared our dining area with desert!!! choco mouse with 2 fresh coconuts! We were ecstatic!!! This was a great Anniversary surprise from the resort. It made us feel very special and they really made it extra memorable for us.
Another plus is our check out. Our flight was at 11pm so they were very accomodating of our late ck out request. we got to spend an extra half a day at the resort!

WATER ACTIVITIES
All the Aquafanatics staff are all so helpful and very knowledgable. unfortunately, it was a bit rainy and the winds were strong on some days so water sports were not popular. It was bit pricey as well if you ask me. There is a free 2-hr kayak rentals each day so we used it to go to the small private island where snorkeling was awesome!

RESTAURANTS
Since we didnt do the half or full board, our reservation only includes breakfast. There are 5 restaurants available in the resort since the other resort (Veli) was closed for renovations. Dining here is really expensive. you can easily spend more than $150 per meal. This is the only negative point I have. Although the food presentation really matches the 5-star rating. Baan Hura (Thai restaurant at Veli) is a MUST!!! Request outside seating so you can see the lagoon filled with tons of fishes, reef sharks and sting rays.

SPA
The spa was over the water as well. Me and hubby did the Maldivian Romance which is a 3-hr treatment. We were greeted with cold towels and a hot ginger tea as well. We were then sent to one of the spa villas where we stayed the whole time of the treatments. We had a foot scrub, body salt scrub, a honey/milk bath and an hr massage after. The therapists were awesome, the bath was sooo romantic that they even gave us green tea and dates. the tub has oils and some local flowers. the tub was also overlooking the lagoon. I even did a yoga on our last morning in Maldives. It was a beginners class but who am i to complain. yoga overlooking the gorgeous waters and spectacular view... unbelievable!

All in all the experience was soooo memorable that we definitely have to return and will recommend this resort to everyone. But make sure to prepare to spend money when going to Maldives (not just Anantara) Everything in here is imported so everything is expensive. I read a review before to make sure to buy bottled water fr the airport since water is exp in the resort. Yes it is expensive but only at the restaurants. They give you lots of bottled water in your room so you really dont need to buy some at the airport. One thing you have to buy is SNACKS, waterproof camera and sunscreen.

hope this helps! We really enjoyed our trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotswifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfryar, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear pilotswifey,

Warm greetings from the Maldives.

Thank you for sharing your detailed review with us. We are delighted to see that your 10th Wedding anniversary has been a truly memorable experience and your words of appreciation for our team are warmly welcomed.

We look forward in welcoming you back to Anantara for your next anniversary!

Warm regards

Matthew Fryar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Anantara Dhigu, Maldives is the best place we have EVER stayed! A word of caution: There are actually 4 Anantara resorts all on the same Maldivian atoll: Dhigu, Kihavah, Veli and Naladhu, each with their own price structure and reservations system and management. But, they all share common restaurants - so be careful which one you book.

The Dhigu has an option of over-water bungalows or beachfront. We selected beachfront and were not dissappointed! Walk a few meters out your private courtyard and you are in some of the most pristine ocean water in the world. the gentle slope of the sand permits one to walk or swim 50-100 meters (depending on tides) without getting in over your head.

Oh - and the room! A gorgeous private bedroom and in some (small upgrade in price, but go for it!) - a private outdoor bathroom with a private plunge pool where you can - well, let your imagination run....

There are several restaurants. he best one is Thai, with totally authentic Thai food - the best we've ever had outside Thailand (and better than many IN Thailand!). When booking your reservation or at hotel check-in, select the 'meals included' upgrade. It's worth it and you will spend less than dining ala cart.

This place is truly awesome, and the staff is superb! We had bungalow 89.

Room Tip: ask for a beachfront bungalow near an end of the path - they are more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhereUg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfryar, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear WhereUg0,

Warm greetings from the Maldives!

Thank you for sharing your review of Anantara Dhigu with us. We are delighted to see that you feel so positively about not only the Maldives but our resort as well and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Matthew Fryar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhigufinolhu Island
0.3 mi away
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
448 reviews
19.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,169 reviews
17.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,512 reviews
9.0 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort

Property: Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Address: Dhigufinolhu, South Male Atoll, 2098
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Dhigufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhigufinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical island paradise set in the South Male Atoll, just half an hour from Male international Airport, Anantara offers the Maldives resort experience you've only dreamt about, with two lush islands, Dhigufinolhu and Veligandu Huraa. Unwind on endless white sand beaches, palm-fringed islands and pristine coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Dhigu Resort And Spa
Anantara Dhigu Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Resort Maldives
Anantara Maldives
Anantara Hotel Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing