We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to stay in town anymore...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arnos Vale
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No need to stay in town anymore...”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Because the distance from this hotel to to town isn't too far, its quite easy to catch a minibus or a taxi to get into town for business... The hotel has all the amenities you need for comfort plus its right on the beach! There could have been a wider variety on the menu for food but the bar makes up for the short comings of the Kitchen. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable but you don't get a view to the ocean from a standard room (partially because the hotel is turned sideways). Staff is nice and friendly and WiFi is reliable... Remember to walk with your travel adopter as 220V is the supply here and if you get here after the reception area closes you may be without power until morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ndunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim s, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value the input you have provided. In the coming months, we plan to refresh and expand our menu choices. We do recognize that many of our guests travel to St. Vincent from North America or other countries who do not use 220v at home, each room will be upgraded to include either a dedicated power converter, or a 110v electrical outlet will be available. We are certainly happy you enjoyed our location (directly on Villa Beach), and that our bar staff were able to impress. We hope you will come back to visit us again when you return to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
19
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a nice place to stay in St. Vincent if you want to be close to the airport. The price is not too outrageous, it does not include breakfast or anything like that. The showers were clean, but the water pressure was very poor. The hotel is very close to a neat bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 924146635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim s, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We know that quite a lot of time has passed since your wrote your review but your feedback is important. In 2015, the new Argyle International Airport will open making it easier to visit St. Vincent. If you return to our beautiful island, we hope you will choose Sunset Shores Beach Hotel as your home-away-from-home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar, null, Gibraltar
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 7 years. It is basic as are most hotels in this area but it has Wifi in the rooms and the rooms are very clean. The beach is pleasant and not crowded with tourists but frequented by local families which is nice. My only picky bit is that there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. If the hotel is not busy the restaurant and bar close quite early and the restaurant does not open for breakfast until 7am, so if sleep is not prolonged or jet lag sets in then it can be a long night without a cup of tea. I did wish that they would invest in some new sunbeds as most seemed to be broken but these are minor issues. I travel alone and stay here over and over as the staff are very friendly and there is a security guard on duty during the night.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. As far as I am aware they all have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elle-Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim s, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us on TripAdvisor. Though some time has passed, we wanted to let you know that we take our guests' feedback seriously. Over the past year, we have been made some improvements to Sunset Shores Beach Hotel including new sun cots, and in-room coffee/tea making facilities. Other upgrades are in the works too, and we hope you will visit again soon so that you can enjoy the enhancements. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went to the hotel because I heard wonderful thing it is a nice hotel but when I was waiting for a drink in my shorts and tank top a older woman from the hotel came up to me and said I needed to cover up now mind you there where other women with less on bikini top and bottoms. I was considering this place for my wedding just wanted to see how the staff treated the guest but after that no way. I have to say the food and drinks where wonderful bartenders was very entertaining. Location on the beach was perfect just wish I had a better experience.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laydvee2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our family arrived very late to the hotel after an extremely long journey but then it just got better after that. Thanks to Malcolm whose identity will remain a secret and very friendly staff like Melischa and Angelique, the waiters and waitresses who knew that we'd order the best roti ever everyday,several times a day, and the patience of the housekeeping staff as they waited for our teenagers to leave their rooms before nightfall! The best room is on the second floor that faces the beach and the pool. We loved sitting on the balcony late at night and watching the waves roll in. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, this is the place to be. Family friendly and offers the best food. We would definetly plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Celia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Travelled from London to St Vincent with wife + 2 kids and stumbled across this hotel which in our opinion was an oasis in a desert. Where do I begin, the bedrooms equisite,( most rooms sea view and beachfront) all rooms have wifi and cable TV which the kids thoroughly enjoyed most evenings. All staff exrtemely polite and helpful. Food very good. especuially breaksfasts and bar-be-que on a saturday night. The prices may appear to be a bit high, however, you get real value for money staying at this beautiful hotel. This hotel does not offer much in the way of nightly entertainment, however, neighbouring hotels do. Our stay was very restful kids enjoyed the pool and beach. A true holiday in every sense of the word. A special thanks to all the staff at Sunset Shores who ensured that our time there was truly pleasureable. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank t h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great atmosphere, Great Staff, Great food .. I stop by here every year during my visit to St Vincent !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Clinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnos Vale
0.0 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand View Beach Hotel
Grand View Beach Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Shores Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Shores Beach Hotel

Property: Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Address: Villa Beach, Arnos Vale, St. Vincent
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent > Arnos Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arnos Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Shores Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Shores Hotel was established on December 21st 1973. This family owned, boutique hotel is nestled on three acres of lush, tropical, gardens. The exquisitely decorated rooms are arranged in a "U" around a courtyard pool and bar. Each room has air-conditioning, 40" flat-screen TV with cable, direct-dial telephone, free wireless high speed Internet access, in-room safe, coffee-tea making facilities, mini-fridge, iron/board, private bath/shower and private patio or balcony. Adjoining rooms are available. Known for our "Island Hospitality", Sunset Shores is your home away from home with the dining room/bar and front desk serving you from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm. We ensure your total comfort, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in our restaurant, or, on the pool terrace overlooking the glistening turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea. Late check-ins are accommodated by night security. Sunset Shores caters to romantic weddings & receptions, cocktail parties & special events, business meetings & conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Shores Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing