We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food slow service”
Review of Hickory Tavern

Hickory Tavern
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Hickory Tavern is the perfect place for a business lunch, after work happy hour, or to go watch any game! Bring the kids or just have a girl's night out. Whatever the occasion, the Hickory Tavern is always the perfect destination! The preferred game day location of the Carolina Panthers!
Indian Trail, NC
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food slow service”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I had not been here in sometime so instead of going to a large chain restaurant we thought we would hit up the Hickory Tavern at Wesley Chapel. The food was great we had the Tavern patato chips for an appetizer they where very good, then for a meal I had chicken fingers and fries and my wife had the Ruben which she really enoyed however the service was slow I waited about 8-10 minutes for a refill on my drink. Our waitress was stopped by two regular patrons I'm guessing since they seemed to know all the waitresses. They where asking her about her tattoos which she started to show them but even when she was not being distracted she was taking what I felt was her sweet time. Some of the other waitresses where also being distracted by these two patrons as well as the manager on duty. I know you need to have diverse group of customers to keep the profit steady but if two patrons are slowing the wait staff then all of the other customers get poor service. All in all i would give this place another chance but if the service is slow I probably won't be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    2
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very consistent good food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hickory Tavern is a great meet and greet place whether or not you like sports or just want to have a place to gather with great food. We were there during the Final Four weekend and while there was basketball on many screens, another big screen had a cheerleading competition and golf on another few screens. The food is full of variety from cedar plank salmon, make your own salad to wings and burgers and the bucket of boat trash. Service is typically quick and we always have our child with us. Kids meal menu is basic but kids can find plenty on it as well as some fresh fruit to add some nutrition to that mac n cheese. Lots of locations, but we really like Harris Blvd and Midtown.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A Nice, Warm, Comfortable Eatery”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We had the opportunity to dine on a Saturday evening at the Hickory Tavern on a recent trip to Charlotte NC. A 45 minute wait was no problem and proof that it was in fact a popular restaurant. Seven of us ended up all ordering separate entrees and none of us were disappointed. My 'Buffalo' wings were not up to par with the wings we get in Western New York but were fine none-the-less. They offered a huge variety of draft and bottled beers. Service was very good. Moderately priced drinks and food. Many large screen TV's for you sports fans. It can become a bit noisy but that's due to the atmosphere of the bar/restaurant. Not a place for a quite dining experience. Overall a very enjoyable dining experience and would probably return there next time we're down 'south'.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim_JanAshville_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“the originial in Hickory is still the best”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

While the restaurant has the dark lighting of a bar whether you go in for lunch or dinner, it's good to see that the menu has improved and the space is much nicer than it was in it's previous location. The food we had was good, and I was a huge fan of the BYOS (build your own salad) idea, and it's a very large salad for the price. The prices were quite reasonable and the portions were very generous. The beer selection isn't bad either. Anytime we visit NC, we tend to have lunch at one of the Hickory Tavern locations at some point in our trip. However, after having tried all the open ones, we would both agree that the Hickory location is still the best (staff, service, and food).

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellovers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“HICKORY TAVERN DOESN'T CARE IF YOUR MEAL IS AWFUL”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Visited the Asheville location in Jan. Three of the five meals weren't great, two were sent back. Unfortunately, the two different replacement meals were awful too. Sent letter expressing our 'less than hoped for' dining exp, sent online msg also...to no avail. I can only surmise, they don't care!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bronwyneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Tavern also viewed

 
Wesley Chapel, NC
Wesley Chapel, NC
 

Been to Hickory Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing