We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Donaldsonville
Surprise, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very Dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is very dirty. I will never stay here again. The staff is very rude and don't know anything in the area. I caught the front desk girl on her cell phone talking away. This hotel also has a little of guys on business, and they are very loud.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternplantatio, Webmaster at Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville, responded to this review, June 10, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and in the overall experience we provide to guests. I sincerely apologize that we let you down and assure you that action has already been take to make things better for the future. Your experience is not an indication of how we now do business, and we’re always working to provide the most consistent experience possible.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    4
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
6
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Donaldsonville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

When we 1st walked in, the room looked like what I expected it to look like and smelled clean. We turned up the A/C and as time went on u could smell the underlying odor of the room which made my stomach roil. I called the front desk for a couple of blankets and was told they didn't have any, I asked for a couple of "standard" pillows (the ones in the room were so tiny, there was 3 in each bed, and they still didn't go from one side of the bed to the other) and was told they didn't have any of those either. Pool was not vacuumed; the breakfast looked cold and uninviting ( so we opted for McDonalds) and it was still nearly $100 a nite..ugh!

Room Tip: Don't stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantesh p, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and we are sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of guest service during your stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We have undergone a total clean up of all our guest rooms, and have made provisions for extra linen and pillows . breakfast has been upgraded with hot items which are rotated on a daily basis and we have added community coffee for coffee lovers.
We have addressed these issues with our staff and they have been rectified. We hope that next time you are in the area, you will visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Donaldsonville hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Bare in mind this is Donaldsonville - there aren't a whole lot of options. We were in town to film a wedding at the Oak Alley Plantation and wanted to stay close. The Comfort Inn was all out of non-smoking rooms, so we reluctantly resorted to the Best Western.

I kept my expectations low. The room is definitely nothing to look at and it was EXTREMELY humid and damp (although it really wasn't very humid outdoors). We were running the air conditioning but they definitely needed a dehumidifier. However, the bed was comfortable - old, but comfortable - more so than some of the newer hotels we've stayed at.

A word for these hotels - if you can't AFFORD to offer free breakfast, then just don't offer free breakfast. It was mostly long gone before we got there at 8a. The waffles were thawed out Eggo waffles. Anything hot was gone, except for frozen sausage patties that had already been soaking in water for two hours. The coffee tasted like a pack a Marlboros - I'm really not all that picky when it comes to coffee but we ended up having to go to McDonalds to get some.

My only serious complaint is that it seems the front desk workers think the lobby (which is basically a 10x10 space with two couches and a tv) is a substitute for daycare/babysitter. Both the second and third morning we were there, the front desk lady's (different both days) kids were plunked in front of the tv all morning. And I could be wrong, but I suspect they were a large reason here was zero hot breakfast left either . . .because the hotel was not crowded at all. I would think this would be highly against policy to have your kids there while you are on the clock - the doors are automatic: what if one of them ran out to the pool while you were away from the front desk and drowned?

In summary - if for some reason you need to stay in Donaldsonville (probably having to do with the plantation), stay at the Comfort Inn. . . or just stay a little further away.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamnofnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantesh p, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectationsand we are sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of guest service during your stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
We have upgraded our breakfast and coffee selction to Community Coffee for all the coffee lovers.
We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant and rewarding stay. We have addressed these issues with our staff and they have been rectified. We hope that next time you are in the area, you will visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here just after new years. The first room had stains on the pillows and it was obvious that the sheets were'nt changed and we asked for another room. The comment was that there was no houskeeping because of the hollidays. The two people we saw behind the desk were not that busy. So if it was my hotel and the did not have staff at the hollidays, I would have done t myself instead off texting and surfing the web from what I have seen. We got another room on the first floor which had been cleaned. It was a dark room with no real nice feeling to t. No better go somewhere else next time. But to be fare, in the end the did give us a discount because of the inconvenience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thgiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternplantatio, Webmaster at Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville, responded to this review, June 10, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I’m pleased we could offer a discount because of the service lapses, but these lapses are unacceptable and should not have happened. We take pride in this hotel and in the guest experience we provide, and we clearly let you down. Since that time, we have made changes to make sure problems like this one never happen again. I hope you will give us another chance to satisfy you soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We recently stayed here. It was horrible. The first day we found a broken desk chair which my husband discovered when he sat in it the wheels broke completely off. The bed poles were broken but just sitting in the holes which could have fallen on us. The next day our room was never cleaned even when we left the sign on the door. Housekeeping came to the door and told us to hand then our used towels. NEVER CAME IN! The desk clerks constantly sits in lobby along with housekeeping staff. This location needs new management!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsClasssyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantesh p, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and we are sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of guest service during your stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Each and every item in the room has been checked for stability and working order and we have reinforced our policy of DND ( Do Not Disturb) rooms, wherein the supervisor will make a final round of the hotel to verify if the DND sign is still on the door. We hope that next time you are in the area, you will visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We had just stayed at the Best Western Northpark in Covington, La and had a great experience, so we decided to stay at this one. Nobody was at the front desk, we waited several minutes. The lady who was washing and folding sheets would check for stains and the clean sheets were always on the floor. We had a nonsmoking room that smelled like smoke. The phone, remote control, and iron were not working properly. There were stains on the dresser. We had 2 more nights in Louisiana and decided not to stay at another Best Western, this trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantesh p, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and we are sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of guest service during your stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We have reinforced our non smoking policy and the rooms are being checked on a daily basis for any guests not following our policy, we now have new remotes, phones and irons in all our rooms. We have addressed these issues with our staff and they have been rectified. We hope that next time you are in the area, you will visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donaldsonville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
#2 of 6 in Donaldsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Suites Donaldsonville / Saint James Parish
0.2 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Donaldsonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Nottoway Plantation Resort
#1 of 1 in White Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
8.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#2 of 16 in Gonzales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville

Property: Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville
Address: 2179 Highway 70, Donaldsonville, LA 70346-8860
Location: United States > Louisiana > Donaldsonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Donaldsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville is family friendly and just 4 miles from Historical Downtown Donaldsonville which offers tons of history, shops and restaurants for everyone's enjoyment. Baton Rouge and New Orleans are within an hour drive and offer guest even more museums, historical sites, shops and other family fun entertainment. Other great attractions are Houmas House Plantation & Garden, Tanger Outlets, Blue Bayou Water Park and Mall of Louisiana all within a 40 minute drive from the hotel. When you check in, check out the fantastic hotel and room amenities we have to offer during your stay. Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville offers a continental breakfast from 5:00am to 9:00am Monday through Friday and 6:00am to 10:00am Saturday and Sunday. The hotel offers an outdoor seasonal pool (March-November), guest coin laundry, a business center and vending machines. The location also has BBQ Grills for guest use, an elevator and interior entrances. All rooms have a microwave and mini-refrigerator, free Wi-Fi, Flat screen TV, Cable, In-room coffee, Hair dryer, Iron/Ironing board and a Desk/workspace. This hotel offers suite rooms and select rooms with Jacuzzi tubs. Complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee are offered in the lobby and one well-behaved pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Donaldsonville
Donaldsonville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing