We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Comfort”
Review of Grapevine Cafe

Grapevine Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Orange, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

For the small historic town of Donaldsonville, LA, the Grapevine Cafe and Gallery was a special surprise. The town shows signs of wear, but this little gem draws a large local crowd from an hour away. We came in for lunch without reservations. I had the Crawfish Half and Half with 2 kinds of crawfish--half crispy fried and half (etouffee) in a sauce, served with rice and potato salad. My husband had the Crawfish Pie between layers of a puff pastry. Both entres were delicious and we warmed up the leftovers for breakfast the next morning. We had no room for the special White Chocolate Bread Pudding so we decided to come back in the evening for dessert and our waitress made us reservations because Friday evenings they have live musicians and it gets crowded. It was indeed busy but we were seated right away and really enjoyed the rich decadent dessert. Two guitar players/singers kept us entertained and the art work on the walls features one artist at a time. Really worth the stop. Great service and modest prices, too. The dinner came in with tax and tip under $40. Dessert was $5.95 each.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    39
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I kinda found this restaurant last minute and my husband and I stopped for lunch before heading to stay at Bocage Plantation B&B. This little GEM you DO NOT expect to find driving through Donaldsonville...I have to be honest. The place is Gorgeous, clean, food was EXCELLENT and service was great as well!! I wish we had this place by our house! I would definitely eat there again!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaXieM0M0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Does not attract other tourists, so go for it!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent all day seeing the Louisiana countryside. After a swamp tour and a visit to a plantation, we were looking for a great restaurant to cap off the way with. Donaldsonville might not be a place that you'd usually ever get to, as an outsider, but we found this restaurant through tripadvisor and it was supposed to be very good. It was!

The cornbread with crawfish was amazing, I wish I had some right now. Also the deserts were great and didn't fall for the "let's make up for quality by offering quantity instead!" trap. All the food was delicious, also according two my two friends. Staff was attentive, and the atmosphere was great. You got the hustle of a rather full restaurant, yet the tables were spaced far enough to allow for sufficient privacy.

I won't go as far as to say "you should plan a trip just so you can include this place," but if you're ever looking for a good place to eat in between New Orleans and Baton Rouge, this should definitely be on your list of options! If this restaurant was close to my home, I'd go here regularly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stygeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently INCREDIBLE Louisiana Cuisine!!!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located in the original capital city of Louisiana, Donaldsonville, Grapevine is one of the best restaurants in the southeast. My family and I have been going to this restaurant for over a decade and without fail we have ALWAYS enjoyed INCREDIBLE meals. The prices are reasonable, service hospitable, and and atmosphere artsy-eclectic. Whenever we have out-of-state family come for a visit, we always take them to Grapevine for great, authentic Louisiana French creole cuisine. This restaurant rivals any of the 5-star New Orleans restaurants and is definitely worth the drive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station,NJ
Level Contributor
227 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We drove 30 minutes and found it well worth the trip for dinner.
We were readily seated and served by a very friendly and helpful waitress.
We enjoyed seating inside (too cold outside) near the bar. There was no live music that night.
The stuffed chicken and crawfish/shrimp pie were delicious. Local brewery Abita ale and a tasty dessert added to our pleasant experience

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoeieWitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapevine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grapevine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing