We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have time for only one plantation tour, take this one!”

Houmas House Plantation and Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.28*
and up
Houmas House Plantation Tour with Optional Transportation
More Info
$109.99*
and up
Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Darrow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Houmas House Plantation and Gardens is an Historic Plantation that tells the story of the very wealthy Sugar Barons of the 19th Century. Also known as the Sugar Palace, because of the wealth created at this largest Sugar Plantation in America. A collection of museum quality Art, furniture, and decorative arts on display in its natural setting. Our Gardens are known as the best in the South. 36 Acres of Beautiful Gardens with statuary, ponds, fountains, bronzes and other things to please the eye. Plan on spending 3 hours to fully visit this site. We also have restaurants that offer breakfast, lunch, Dinner and Fine Dining. Our Inn has 21 rooms for overnight stays. Live the Life of the Great Sugar Barons, if only for a day. Experience all that Houmas House has to offer.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kenner, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“If you have time for only one plantation tour, take this one!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

As a local from New Orleans, I have toured most plantation homes in the south, but this one is unique. Not only is the house kept in top shape, it is actually used not just looked at. All the beautiful silver is used at the many weddings held there. In the past, there was only one room for the wedding couple and the families had to go a distance to stay. By the spring of 2013, the new cottages will be complete and offer rooms for weddings and great getaway weekends. I hope to be one of the first to stay in the new cottages.
Our tour (my third one by Judy Davis) was fun and informative. Each time I go, I learn something new. Of course the tour changes and is updated each time I go, keeping it from being boring.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JBernard20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    176
    47
    14
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Not your typical tour- very interesting!"”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have toured other plantation homes in the past. Most of the interesting items are either "roped" off or blocked so you cannot touch them. Houmas House is different. They encourage you to sit, touch, and experience. Our guide, Sara, was excellent and very funny. She involved the group in discussions and told funny stories about the "old days." The grounds are beautiful and the oak trees are incredible, some over 600 years old. It is certainly worth the time and money to tour this home if you are in New Orleans or another area fairly close to the property.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank m_kercher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice plantation & tour”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The first thing that made this plantation tour so great were the gardens which were very well maintained and contained dozens of different flowers and plants. The oak trees were also unbelievably big, full of moss. Houmas house was stunning from outside and in, with a very unusual, handmade staircase. Our tour guide was funny and told some very interesting stories. The tour was not very long (about 1-1.5 hr) but enough to see all the rooms in detail. Pity though the slaves were hardly mentioned, and I still wonder where they lived... Would still recommend it to anyone though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Iseult_Beets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spectacular Plantation”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

You will not be disappointed if you take a drive to Houmas House Plantation - about an hour outside of NOLA. Both the inside and the grounds are really beautiful and interesting. Live Oaks and hundreds of species of trees and flowering bushes dot the grounds. The inside is filled with storied antiques that will bring the history of the area alive. The woman who led our tour was the most interesting and talented tour guide I've ever experienced (apologies for not recalling her name). Nevertheless, if she is any indication of the other guides at Houmas House, you will find this tour extremely worthwhile. The tour and viewing the grounds takes about 2 hrs. and don't miss the gift shop.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best House Tour Ever!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This tour was fabulous. Our tour guide, Judy D. was amazing. She was funny, knowledgeable and wow! She could even sing! The tour of this beautiful historical house and grounds was relaxed, informative and fun. No stuffy tour guide telling you don't touch, don't go there. The owner lives in the house and the rooms are all used. Judy surprised us by sitting down at the antique piano and played and sung a beautiful Christmas carol with such passion!! Judy answered all of our questions and welcomed us to take our time touring the house and the grounds. They are opening a bed & breakfast soon - I'm sure they'll do it well. The grounds includes the gardener/artist's studio. Very interesting. We had a great lunch in the house with some very unique and delicious southern dishes. Don't miss this tour if you're in the New Orleans/Baton Rouge area. Reasonable price too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bladegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houmas House Plantation and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Houmas House Plantation and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing