We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, LA style”
Review of Cafe' Burnside

Cafe' Burnside
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Darrow
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Café Burnside is Houmas House Plantation and Gardens' casual restaurant. We offer a buffet, or a la carte dining. Pasta, Seafood, BBQ Chicken, Gumbo, Salad, Poor Boy Sandwiches. Great food reasonably priced. We offer a Sunday Brunch and Buffet. A special menu on Sundays that changes frequently
Estero, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, LA style”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Lovely dining experience to accompany your visit to the Plantation Houmas House. Try the recommendation of the day -- sometimes a gourmet "left-over" from a wedding or reception the night before.
De - Licious!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunshine_marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    20
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch spot!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The service was attentive and the food was delicious. My father declared it the best burger he'd ever eaten! I enjoyed the turkey & brie sandwich with sweet potato fries, which came out kind of soggy but the waitress had them replaced with some that were a little crispier. (Next time, I would substitute for their regular fries, though.) My son's red beans & rice with sausage was not as good as others we'd had in New Orleans. The bread with pecan butter served at the beginning of the meal was a nice surprise and very tasty. The dining room is a beautiful, but casual feeling, room.
All-in-all, a lovely place for lunch!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TGKimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was fine”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I wonder if our experience was affected by the fact that we came at about 1:45 or so, right before they closed. Maybe the chefs were tired. It started out with bread (okay) and pecan butter (very good). At least one other reviewer has mentioned getting three kinds of butter; we just got pecan butter. Our server was a little slow in getting to us and in checking in on us once food arrived. She didn't seem particularly friendly and welcoming, either, but I'm sure she was tired as well.

The catfish wade hampton was exactly what it says on the menu - rice, catfish (okay), etoufee (okay) on top, done. The eggplant napoleon was essentially fried eggplant slices in cream sauce, served with crabmeat also in cream sauce (although the crab itself was quite good).

Considering the quality of our experience, the price seemed higher than warranted. But again, we may have just come on a bad day. It seems like other reviewers have had much better experiences.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Tx
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food!!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had lunch twice at this restaurant while vacationing in La. The food was that good. Burnside Café is located on the grounds of the Houmas House Plantation. Check out the beautiful gardens before leaving. The pecan butter they served with bread is delicious. We enjoyed the Crab Cake Salad, Turkey Sandwich and for dessert Sweet Potato Bread Pudding. So good! The service was a little slow on the first visit due to bus tours. The second time it was better. A wonderful experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tex1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The food is easily 5 stars! The medallions of filet mignon, with a demi-glace sauce, steamed asparagus and tender little potatoes demanded savoring, not just eating. The biscuit/puff pastry type twists were served with a cinnamon sweet butter, a savory chive/onion butter and a pure butter. Ummmm....
BUT our waitress was uninterested in our experience. Ignored our obvious presence at her table for 15 minutes before asking for our drink order. Then, no drink refills, no dessert offer and a LENGTHY wait for our check, to the point we we ready to leave payment on the table and walk out. In fact, that statement needed to be made, and we would have made it, if we could have been sure of the total bill. Ninety minutes for a lunch meal, most of it spent waiting for attention was aggravating and unnecessary. It was a busy Sunday afternoon, the place was quite busy, and other waitstaff studiously avoided eye contact as they took care of their own stations. Attempts to get the attention of the hostess (Looks, raised brows, discreet waves) also were ignored. A good meal, ruined by indifference.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank suzyqsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe' Burnside also viewed

 

Been to Cafe' Burnside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing