We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a local new orleanian, I tend to be a really tough food critic, but try loved this place!”
Review of Cafe' Burnside

Cafe' Burnside
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Darrow
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Café Burnside is Houmas House Plantation and Gardens' casual restaurant. We offer a buffet, or a la carte dining. Pasta, Seafood, BBQ Chicken, Gumbo, Salad, Poor Boy Sandwiches. Great food reasonably priced. We offer a Sunday Brunch and Buffet. A special menu on Sundays that changes frequently
Kenner, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“As a local new orleanian, I tend to be a really tough food critic, but try loved this place!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Our family dined on delicios Bourbon Shrimp, blackened topped with a crawfish ettouffe sauce, and two other yummy entrees, all very good for under $20 a person.
Our waitress lacked any personality, but otherwise did an adequate job.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JBernard20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    20
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average lunch, average service”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We toured the home and ate lunch at Cafe Burnside. I was not impressed nor disappointed. It is okay if you are hungry while at the plantation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank m_kercher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for lunch”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Absolutely the best food we've had in our stay in New Orleans! Great service, wonderful ambience made for a delightful lunch experience after our wonderful tour of the beautiful Houmas House. Our server, Josephine, was wonderful!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dgilbreth70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Dining at the plantation”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had lunch at Cafe Burnside, located at the Houmas House plantation. We chose a crawfish salad and bourbon shrimp. The crawfish tails were deep-fried and light and crispy, and the bourbon shrimp had a very nice glaze on them, accompanied by potatoes and peas. The restaurant is light and airy, and service was prompt and efficient. Don't miss the opportunity to try this place for lunch. It was just the right thing to do before touring the plantation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dwilhelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

While on business in the area, a friend took me to Houmas House for lunch. We didn't have time to tour the plantation, but had a nice walk through the gardens while walking from the parking lot to the restaurant. He recommended the Catfish Wade Hampton. It's a catfish filet breaded with cornmeal and fried. It's served over an andouille rice pilaf with a cup of crawfish etoufee served on the side (to be poured over the catfish). I thoroughly enjoyed lunch and would recommend the restaurant to anyone in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe' Burnside also viewed

 

Been to Cafe' Burnside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing