We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Covington
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great place to stay. The staff here was extremley nice and very Accommodating. Room was very clean and bed was super Comfortable. I ate at the Wow resturant and bar at the hotel and the food was great and well priced. I will Definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came here on short notice, we originally were just going to stay 1 night and ended up staying 2 nights. The pool was awesome. The pictures show a hot tub but there isn't one. The breakfast was decent, it wasn't the worst and it wasn't the best. Does the trick for a free breakfast. Service for breakfast was a bit slow and the server didn't really seem to know what she was doing, forgot a lot of simple things but over all the experience was great. The beds were very comfy, the room looked good, the property looked good and the drinks were awesome from the bar (bloody mary with bacon!?) I would stay here again and plan on it when I'm down that way again. Two thumbs up! Doesn't hurt that there's a lot of things, gas station, some restaurants and daiquiri place within walking distance if you don't mind walking.

Room Tip: Any room close to the pool is great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hthompson8113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi there! We are delighted to see that you decided to stay an extra night with us since you were having so much fun! I apologize too about the hot tub not being here any more, we did have it removed last year and are in the process of updating those pictures that still show it on our website. Nonetheless, we are looking forward to your return! Thanks for rating our property at five stars as well as listing all of your favorite aspects and conveniences during your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is an old-school motel with more amenities and class than you might notice by looking at it from the street. It's an excellent property for the business or leisure traveler.

The courtyard of the main building is covered, providing comfortable seating areas. The interior courtyard also includes a nice workout facility (plus changing rooms) and the indoor half of a huge indoor/outdoor pool. My room opened onto this interior courtyard. Despite activities in the courtyard, my room was surprisingly quiet and private. (Management is super-strict about limiting activities in the courtyard after 10 p.m.)

My room seemed recently redone and was immaculate. (Housekeeping kept it that way, too, every day of my 12-day stay.) The bed was very comfortable (with a choice of down or feather pillows), lighting was good for all uses, and the room was plenty big. The television channel lineup was extensive.

Other rooms open to the exterior parking lot, but the building is surrounded by a substantial fence that requires a card key to access.

There's a large exterior patio (where the outdoor pool connects with the indoor pool.) Plenty of patio lounge chairs and tables allow for sunbathing or card games and visiting by the pool.

In lieu of a continental breakfast, the hotel provides daily vouchers for a hot full breakfast at the attached restaurant. (Use the voucher as a credit toward other menu items, such as granola, a fruit bowl or their breakfast burrito.) This works well in principle, but during several days of my stay the restaurant was understaffed or the kitchen was overwhelmed.

Guests staying in exterior rooms may have a different experience, but I found this Clarion to be much more comfortable and much more upscale than I might have guessed by looking at it from the outside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalTx214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Booked this hotel at last minute before driving into New Orleans the next day. For the price ($94) a decent value. You can tell this is an old property, but has been recently renovated. Room had outside access which concerned me until I found out there was a fence around the property and you had to use your room key to get in the parking lot. Room was typical of this older style hotel and only had a shower. Some rooms have tubs and they asked our preference at check in. Front desk staff was friendly and as good as any hotel I've stayed at. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank liketwogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita B, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the compliments concerning our property and our staff. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and can't wait to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was a great location to spend the night enroute back home. Certainly not the most fancy place, but good for the price. Room appeared newly rennovated. indoor pool looked great, although we didn't have our swimsuits.

We ate at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast the next morning. Service was good. Many of the dinner selections are spicy - so watch out if you are sensitive to spice.

Room Tip: There is a cafe du monde a few miles away if you want to get great coffee.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived I was underwhelmed- very odd layout in this renovated hotel. The entry and transition from the lobby to the old rooms was awkward.
When we checked in we were given a first floor in the very back of the hotel. Outside entrance in what looked like an alley. When we entered the room it was very small and had no tub only a shower. They had obviously renovated an old hotel and the overall appearance was nice but it was still a Reno of an old hotel.
We did. Of like the alley entrance and no tub and decided if we couldn't move to another room we would leave. We were given a room on the second floor overlooking the lobby/atrium. It had a tub and the same decor as the first room and we decided to stay.
Overall the stay was fine. We were there with a group and everything went well.
The rooms are on the small side including the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable but the air conditioner was very noisy and seemed to run almost constantly.
Breakfast coupons were provided for the Sage Cafe in the hotel. It was a set breakfast which was fine. However they had one poor waitress working two of the 4 days we were there and it took a very long time. She was working as hard as she could and I felt very sorry for her. The other two mornings two people were serving and it went much faster.
It was an okay stay but will consider other hotels if in the area again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzieshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. Housekeeping, front desk, and Resturant staff are all very nice and helpful. Nice free breakfast and all the coffee you can drink. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordontgauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Our employees work very hard to go above and beyond to please our guests. We are delighted that you enjoy all that we have to offer and appreciate your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Covington hotels
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA
2.7 mi away
Best Western Northpark Inn
Best Western Northpark Inn
#5 of 16 in Covington
368 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 16 in Covington
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Covington/Mandeville
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Covington Southeast
2.5 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Covington/Mandeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center

Address: 501 N Highway 190, Covington, LA 70433-5010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Covington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Covington
Price Range: $82 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Award-Winning (Top 10% in Service for Choice Hotels 2014) Gated Full Service Hotel with Restaurant on Site Two Free Hot Plated Breakfasts Each Day of Stay Per Room Large Indoor/Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool Over 8,500 square feet of Meeting Space for Conferences, Conventions, Banquets, Receptions, and much more Located Conveniently near I-12 (just off of Exit 63B) and less than 30 miles from New Orleans via the Causeway Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites Conference Center
Clarion Inn & Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing