We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch and breakfast.”
Review of Mattina Bella

Mattina Bella
Ranked #4 of 177 Restaurants in Covington
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Covington, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch and breakfast.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We've been going here since we moved to Covington in 2005. Family owned and managed so it's always consistent and good!
They have daily specials too. I love the Greek omlet for breakfast and for lunch it's either one of the daily specials, a salad, or if I'm really off my diet.. spaghetti and meatballs can't be beat!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    35
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Breakfast”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The best local spot for breakfast - don't miss out on the Lump Crab Eggs Benedict! It is beyond compare. The servers are attentive and very friendly and the owners go out of their way to meet and greet every patron.

If you are not up for breakfast, try their lunch menu - great salads, sandwiches and entree's

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seafood for breakfast? Yes!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed at the Southern Hotel in Downtown Covington. Hotel staff recommended this restaurant for breakfast and the Jumbo Lump Crab Omelette. It was a tasty combination of lots of crab, sauteed mushrooms, and cream cheese lightly peppered with green onions. Served with hollandaise, but I asked for it on the side. Truthfully, the omelette is so rich the hollandaise isn't needed! The center of the omelette is filled with cream cheese - a delicious surprise. Waitress was wonderful and had some great tips on what to do around Covington and in NOLA. It offered a great atmosphere and vibe to start my day of touring St. Tammany Parish!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Plain and simple....EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We've had breakfast here many times with many different guests and everyone has always said that their meal was perfect. The omeletes, the side of bacon, the grits, the bisquits! Those bisquits are to die for! Everything is done so well, you can order something out of your normal comfort zone with confidence that it will be prepared right.
Staff is great and attentive and as pleasant and helpful as any fancy schmancy brunch place. Wish they had two things... #1) A bar. Because a nice mimosa or Bloody Mary with breakfast would be great. And #2) a better breakfast sausage. Louisiana has such good sausage in most restaurants but here it seems to be a frozen pattie of some sort.
Haven't been there for lunch, but I imagine it would be great as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJCGJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Always crowded, but worth the wait”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently had the pleasure of enjoying breakfast at this establishment during an unceasingly, drenching spring-typical rain storm. We had not patronized this restaurant for a couple of years, (parking is often limited and there always seems to be a line of patrons waiting for seating), but decided to see if we could get a table after buying our weekly vegetables at the local farmer's market, several blocks away. We made it under the awning just as the skies opened, and only had to wait a few minutes for a table. However, many brave souls ran thru the rain and waited quite a while for tables to free up. Seemed to be lots of "regulars" in attendance.

My partner ordered a power slam omelette (egg whites and veggies) and was quite satisfed. I wanted pancakes and ordered the cakes and eggs/meat combo. I asked for the smoked ham which was generously portioned and delicious with a distinctive flavor. The eggs were perfectly poached. The pancakes were light, fluffy and the background flavor of vanilla was lovely and not over-pronounced. I was pleased by a nice selection of tea offerings.

The service was friendly and accommodating. The owner was very pleasant and tried to welcome everyone inside out of the rain without rushing the customers already seated.
Nice, family-oriented small breakfast/lunch restaurant in an old downtown Olde Covington building. Nothing fancy, but friendly & welcoming, with good food (they are known for their fantastic waffles), reasonable prices.

Definitely worth patronizing again.....we won't wait 2 years again before visiting.
421 E Gibson St, Covington, LA 70433
(985) 892-0708

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SerenaWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattina Bella also viewed

 

Been to Mattina Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing