We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Covington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was super nice, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. Also, the continental breakfast was awesome! Hot breakfast including eggs, sausage and waffles and that's not including the assortment of cereals, etc. The lady maintaining the breakfast area even served us when she brought out fresh items. Again, super nice staff. This hotel is also close to a Waffle House and other eateries, which was great considering we arrived close to midnight. Straight 40 minute shot to New Orleans, be sure to bring $2 to pay for the cross the bridge. It does not cost to come back over. We wanted to stay in New Orleans but so glad we ended up here. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gg1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear gg1213,

How nice of you…we are so pleased you found us and had a great experience! Thanks for commenting on hotel and our staff. I will certainly pass along your nice comments. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Thank You,
Blair Goodrich
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 486 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Loved this very clean, very modern hotel. The room was lovely, the breakfast very delish and the service was great! They even have a library with books to read in the beautiful living room area as well as a fireplace. I would definitely stay here again! Great prices also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kakiLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear kakiLouisiana,

We are so glad you were pleased with your stay. The lending library is a treat for our readers. And, our board games and Wii System is great for the game players. Thank you so much for staying with us! It’s a treat to be of service to kind people like you.

Have a great day!
Blair Goodrich
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This property is a decent choice if you are staying in the area. It is convenient to downtown Covington and is about 30-40 minutes from New Orleans. Rooms were clean and spacious. Basic continental breakfast offered daily.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beerstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear beerstl,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. You are correct, our location is great, just off I-12, and we are close to numerous great restaurants and shopping opportunities, and walking distance to the New Movie Tavern! I hope you enjoyed your breakfast. Our hot breakfast buffet has a rotating menu for variety.

Sincerely,
Blair Goodrich
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My brother got married in NOLA and we wanted to stay in a quieter place. This was perfect! Kathy and Evelyn were sweet ladies and the staff kept the hotel perfect. We felt the area was safe for our family and enjoyed out stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ssedson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Shannon E,

We are so glad you were able to visit New Orleans and the Northshore area during your brother’s wedding. Thank you so much on your comments for Evelyn & Kathi, I will be sure to share with them. All of our staff are wonderful. They all love their jobs and it shows to each and every guest. I hope you can visit us in the future!

Take Care,
Blair Goodrich
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I booked a room here for my son's birthday this past Friday and it was absolutely awesome!!! We only stayed one night but it felt like we were there the whole weekend. Upon arriving, there were fresh baked cookies at the front desk (they were awesome). Then, Check-in was a breeze thanks to the night time front desk agent who was very nice and accommodating. When we got into the room, everything was very clean- it was stocked with nice little amenities, microwave and fridge and the beds were awesome as well. We awoke Saturday morning to a wonderful breakfast selection and the kids got in the pool afterwards. I would like to take this brief time to say EXTRA THANKS to the Saturday Morning Breakfast Attendant who enhanced our experience. While we were sitting in the Spa pool, she came over and turned on the BUBBLES!!! The kids went crazy!!!! My sister and I were so appreciative because its the little things sometimes that make all of the difference in the world.
I work at a hotel and have worked at many hotels over the years and I was VERY impressed with Country Inn and Suites, because it was like a mini vacation!! It was a home away from home. The property appears to be newly built or it has just been very well kept!! Either way, I love this hotel and EVERY TIME I want to just get away from the hustle and bustle of New Orleans- I will stay here. AWESOME JOB YOU GUYS!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denver_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Denver_girl77,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We appreciate your comments, and you, very much! We are so happy that you and your children enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit. Maybe we can get in some Wii tournaments on your next visit! :)

Thank You,
Blair Goodrich
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Everything everyone has said about the hotel is correct. It's clean, the beds are comfortable and the bathroom is spacious. The staff is helpful...the woman who checked us in pulled out a map and showed us how to get to Cafe DuMonde. That was helpful. However, I was almost about to give 3 stars instead of 4 because of few things. The images of the hotel shows a individual sitting area, we just got a room with two queen beds and with those two queen beds it made the room very tight.

We have traveled 6,000 miles in 2 weeks. My husband drove 12 hours and was very sore from sitting in one position for so long. A comfortable seating area or even a comfortable seat in the room would have been so cherished!! So he had to sit in a straight up office chair that didn't adjust. Not too comfortable. Two queen beds should be reserved for customers with families, not two people.

Also, we were put into an adjoining room. So, at 6:30am (after getting in very late at night) the couple next to us began their speaker phone call and they must have been hard of hearing because they were practically yelling. I could make out every word they were saying. We could have slept an extra hour (maybe 2?), but the people next door made that impossible.

They served a fine breakfast included in the price (that's why I picked 4 instead of 3 stars because of the great price). The morning breakfast was served in a nice room (the best of our entire trip) however, they served fried chicken patties for breakfast (strange breakfast for us Northerns) with hard boiled eggs and biscuits and gravy. They also had cubed fresh fruit...very nice.

All in all, this hotel (for us and our needs) is a solid 3.5 star. Clean and reasonable (therefore the 4 star rating) but not comfortable while resting and not quiet when trying to sleep in. With the price we got, we would stay again and would recommend, now that we know what to expect. Again, maybe because we booked via Priceline and got such a great price that we were put in an adjoining, tight room with limited comfort?

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChgotoCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your thorough review! I am so pleased that you will be back to see us again when in the area.
When you book a "name your price" room on Priceline....Priceline only guarantees a room, not a room type. We have 2 types of rooms available for Priceline; 1 king or 2 queens, and Priceline puts you in either of these rooms depending on what is available. Unfortunately, Priceline does not determine the bed type depending on how many people you have in your party, as they only guarantee a room. In the future, please call us at directly at the hotel and we can guarantee the room type for you. Lastly, all of our rooms are supposed to have 2 or more chairs, one is a straightback like you described and the other is an armed chair, which is very comfy. We will investigate the missing chair in your room. I do apologize for the inconvenience. I want you to know that we do not place guests in certain rooms depending on what site they book through. We want all of our guests to have a great experience. Please do not hesitate to give us a call after making a future reservation and we will make sure you get the room that works best for you!
Please feel free to give me a call at 985-809-0467 or email me at Blair.Goodrich@covcis.com. I can help you make your next reservation or just help with your prefences on a future reservation! Thanks again for your comments :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is so convenient, accommodating, welcoming, warm, friendly, and comfortable. I absolutely loved the stay here. This hotel far exceeds the expectations and is exactly what a stay away from home, should feel like, home. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello! We appreciate your time on this great review! Thank you so much for your attention to detail and even taking some pictures to let fellow travelers know exactly what we are like. We hope to see you again in the future, when in the Covington area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Covington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Covington/Mandeville
0.2 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Covington/Mandeville
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn New Orleans Covington/North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Northpark Inn
Best Western Northpark Inn
#5 of 16 in Covington
382 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Covington Madisonville
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Covington Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA

Address: 130 Holiday Blvd, Covington, LA 70433-5017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Covington
#1 Family Hotel in Covington
#1 Business Hotel in Covington
#1 Best Value Hotel in Covington
Price Range: $88 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites of Covington/Mandeville offers a convenient location off of I-12 (exit 63B), on the North Shore of New Orleans. Country Inn & Suites has been awarded the President’s award for excellence (top 10 Carlson hotel world wide). Hotel is near the heart of the Covington business district, and close to numerous attractions such as Global Wildlife, Pelican Park, Tammany Trace, Fountainebleau State Park, and the famous French Quarter; the perfect choice for the business and leisure traveler. We are in close proximity to Chevron, LLOG and Shell Training Center. Country Inn is surrounded by unlimited great food choices. Hotel offers 70 spacious non-smoking rooms and suites, with all the little extras to make your stay enjoyable. At check-in you’ll be greeted with fresh baked cookies & milk. During your stay you will enjoy a wonderful free breakfast buffet daily.The Country Inn & Suites offers a cozy stay at a comfortable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Covington
Country Inn & Suites Covington Hotel Covington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing