We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Interactive and Educational

Did you know that the alligator was such an important part of Louisiana's economy? Did you know... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
nola5561
,
Covington, Louisiana
Fascinating experience

People who work there made this a very informative experience. Learned a lot about alligators that... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Judith B
,
Sacramento, California
Read all 184 reviews
  
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
148
25
5
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
25
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby gators our tour guide new orleans gift shop great tour eggs kids and adults field trip educational experience additional charge life cycle my son didn t know short drive bigger ones highly recommend if you are great with kids
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 184 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2019 via mobile

Great hands on educational experience! Pay $5 to safely catch and hold a baby! The guide is very knowledgeable....and hysterical! Later alligator!!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank TheHarters h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

When I planned this visit I really didn’t know what to expect- gross out commercialism based on harvesting alligators? NO! This is how some of the southern states are bringing back alligator populations while providing income at the same time. NO you do not see abuse or harvesting areas!
What you do see and hear are people committed to saving these populations who share an amazing amount of information. Royce is a skilled and fun presenter! The tour includes information, video , q and a, touching, walking through alligator areas and feeding up close. Definitely opt for the $5 picture of you holding an alligator.
The three of us who went all hold different opinions and we all three enjoyed the visit.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank bvttravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019

Visited the Insta-Gator Ranch and Hatchery while on a sightseeing visit to the area. If you are wanting a hands on experience of seeing, holding and learning amazing things about these spectacular animals then this is definitely worth the visit. Our guide was fantastic at teaching us about the animals and also what they do in their work in both ranching and providing meat and leather as well as the work on preservation that they are doing to increase the numbers in the area. It was well worth the money to have the experience of seeing them first hand and being able to hold them and inspect them up closely. Highly recommend if you are in the area. Very safe for kids as well.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank BrotherBoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

We went here when we had family in town. The kids and adults all had a GREAT time! This place is such a hidden treasure. It’s been one of my favorite things we have done since we moved here. The staff are extremely knowledgeable and funny, it’s definitely a unique experience!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Ashtynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

Very good learning lesson. We were there to learn about what’s happening to the alligators, and we had had the answer.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Andre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews